We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely in Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #44 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Lovely in Every Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

My husband booked this hotel for my birthday. The room was beautiful, the staff was amazingly attentive, and the location couldn't be beat. I also enjoyed the spa during my stay, and the treatments were of the highest quality. Couldn't have enjoyed my birthday more.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYTheaterLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear NYTheaterLover,

Thank you for your review of The Chatwal Hotel.

We are honored your husband chose to have you celebrate your birthday with us. I am delighted to know it was a memorable birthday.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Chatwal Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    166
    62
    27
    23
See reviews for
182
519
60
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burr Ridge, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

If your travels call for Theatre, there is no better place to stay than the Chatwal. Amazing friendly and spot on service, the rooms are extremely modern. Truly a home away from home.

Room Tip: Splurge for one of the terrace suites, breakfast al fresco is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We recently had the opportunity to stay at the Chatwal NY for the first time, and my wife and I were extremely impressed with both the hotel itself, and the staff.

As we were only at the hotel for a brief two nights (with a very late arrival the first night), followed by a very busy schedule the next two days, we didn't have an opportunity to see or take advantage of any hotel features beyond our hotel room and the lobby/reception area.
However, what we did see and experience, we loved. We found the hotel room to be impeccible, and the design details in the room and bathroom were outstanding. Every detail spoke to quality, and attention to detail, right down to the leather handle on the bathroom and cupboard doors. When we left the room, it was cleaned to perfection, and we didn't even see a misplaced fingerprint on the shiny stainless steel bathroom fixtures.

But beyond the beautifully appointed hotel room, and extremely comfortable bed, what made our stay special was the people who worked at the hotel. From the doormen, to the concierge, to the front desk staff, everyone was polite, friendly, and noticeably helpful. However, the icing on the cake was when we arrived at the airport after checking out of the hotel, when my wife noticed that her backup 'diabetes pump' had been left in our room, in the fridge area. We called the hotel from the airport 6 hours after checkout, and spoke with the conscierge on duty(Philip). Philip very calmly handled this stressful situation, managed to locate the diabetes pump, and then arranged to have it couriered to our home.It arrived safely and intact two days ago.
We have nothing but great things to say about the Chatwal NY, and have already started singing your praises to our friends and relatives. We hope to stay at the Chatwal NY again in the future. Until that time, thank you and your wonderful staff for a great experience at your hotel.

HHK & MTK

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear H2k2,

Thank you for your review of The Chatwal Hotel. We sincerely value your kind words.

I am pleased to see that you appreciated the details appointed in the guest room and had pleasant interactions with our staff. Furthermore we are all very happy that the concierge was able to arrange to have your diabetes pump safely returned to you.

We very much appreciate your support and kind words you have spoken to your friends and family. We do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Chatwal Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

The Chatwal is a quiet and luxurious oasis located only one half block from the madness of Times Square. The lobby and rooms are decorated in an art deco style with comfortable beds and large bathrooms (TV in the mirror, two sinks, and heated toilet seats). I would recommend the King Deluxe rooms or suites since the Superior Queen rooms are smaller and have a Murphy Queen size bed whch is easy to run into and bruise your shin. The staff was friendly and helpful especially the front desk (esp. Elizabeth) and the bellman/car valet/doorman. One caveat is that this is a small hotel so when a wedding party rented the second floor lounge on a Saturday night they closed the lobby bar. Fortunately room service came to the rescue with great cocktails which were delivered in only 10 minutes.
There is also an Irish bar next door with 19 beers on tap which was convenient when rain storms were inudating the city. I will definitely stay here next time we go to New York City since it is close the theaters but is tranquil compared to other hotels on Times Square.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGovern72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear McGovern72,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences of The Chatwal Hotel. I am delighted to know you had an enjoyable stay.

We will look forward to your next visit at The Chatwal Hotel.

Cordially,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

... you won't want to go out.

In the thirties and forties, gentlemen from film and theatre claimed this private space, enjoying the perfect location, club amenities and ahem.. discretion. Today- with 2012 sparkle, we can all enjoy it. The property is a jewel box. The staff understands how to deliver the magic travelers appreciate. Perfect enclave. Steps from theatres.

The earlier reviews are spot on. The upgrades will delight you; cuisine will make you smile. It's just far enough away from Times Square (one long block) to have a residential feel, yet you can zip to restaurant row in heels, in minutes. I don't thing a bad view is possible here. The historical buildings facing The Chatwal add so much. Terraces are fenced, landscaping is added... so nice.

The photos will help you take in the art deco decor. But there is more to it... the sense of belonging once you get to know the people at reception is one of family. You'll think you've come into a manor house as a guest. The property has no pretense... just that sense of belonging. I appreciated that full coffee service is set out very early in the morning, in the alcove near the elevators. No need to walk through a lobby, ask for it or wait for the restaurant to open.

I've enjoyed many a rainshowers in my life....these baths take it to a new level.

Thanks to Martin for arranging porting of our luggage across town, in the rain, like it was nothing at all. Elizabeth, you were delightful to get to know. Sorry we didn't have more time. Gemma - thanks for the tour and update on the property. Best wishes on your August arrival.

I will definitely be back and will refer.

Room Tip: This is a quiet place - no concern for noise levels. Request a terrace room - they are lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbadiantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear barbadiantraveler,

Thank you for your lovely review.

I am delighted you had pleasant interactions with the staff and appreciated the location and the décor of our hotel. It is nice to read that you enjoyed your guest room, especially the raindrop shower in the bathroom.

We would take great pleasure in welcoming you back to The Chatwal Hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may be of any assistance at lmiller@thechatwalny.com

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cali
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

service was excellent, something you'd get at a St.Regis, Four Seasons or Mandarin.
Hotel is small which depending on your view could be charming or not. I enjoyed it,
Beds & linens are amazing which for me is my #1 priority at all hotels. Second, is Service and it lived up to that as well. My only suggestion is to get a room on a higher floor, I stayed on the 3rd floor which has high ceilings but is also close to the street
and I could hear some trucks picking up trash early in the morning. Mind you I'd normally be sleeping but I took a 4 hour nap so I couldn't sleep in the middle of the night. Nothing to be too concerned about and definitely not a reason to miss this place.

Lastly they have the best toilet seats, only in Asia do you see the washlet bidets so
this was a nice surprise. You will enjoy this place,

Room Tip: choose a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stregis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear stregis_11,

Thank you for sharing the details of your recent stay at The Chatwal.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel, our handmade mattresses with Frette linens, and the TOTO toilets.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to The Chatwal for a return visit in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Recently spent a long weekend in the City and fortunate enough to stay at this hotel on our Starwood Points.

Incredible hotel tucked away in Manhattan's theater district. Elegant, clean, comfortable and luxurious. A real treat ... in fact, my husband took pix of the bathroom <as you might never see a TV in the wall mirror like that again! hahaha!>

Staff both gracious and welcoming ... from the doorman, to the butler, to the front desk, to the custodial staff.

The wait staff for breakfast seating in the adjoining restaurant, The Lambs Club, was a bit slow for our tastes, but, overall this did not tarnish our impression of a quality and luxury NYC accomodation.

Would definitely stay there on our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kymmi-On_The_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear KCRR,

Thank you for your recent review of The Chatwal Hotel.

I am delighted to read you had a pleasant experience, enjoying some of the hi-tech features of the room such as the TV integrated in the bathroom mirror.

We do hope to have the pleasure of having you as our guest again in the future.

Sincerely,

Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#88 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,903 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Property: The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#83 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing