We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST NYC Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #45 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, RI
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“THE BEST NYC Hotel!!”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Chatwal over the Easter weekend. I happened upon the Chatwal and am so glad I did. This hotel is nothing short of wonderful...the staff, the ambience, the location......everything perfect! Having stayed in many of Manhattan's finest, from chain hotels to boutiques, I can say with confidence that the Chatwal beats them all, hands down. It is truly lovely. And, when we checked in they gave us an upgrade to a deluxe king room. We will always check the Chatwal's availability first when visiting the city!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyWakefield_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear SallyWakefield_RI,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

We sincerely appreciate your support and will look forward to your return visit.

Cordially,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    173
    65
    28
    25
See reviews for
193
545
62
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We were on a round the world trip from Australia and as an SPG member I usually stay at member hotels. The chatwal is a beautiful newly restored art deco hotel just off times square. It's location is fantastic ands is on a quite side street so is perfectly quiet.

The staff were faultless and their customer service spot on. We had a suite and it was lovely. The barthroom was the highlight, beautiful black marble and large rain shower. The bed was fantastically comfortable and we loved the ability to control the lights, temperature and curtains from the touchpad buy the bed.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to people wanting to have a quiet retreat in the heart of it all.

Dr Helen willcock

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Dr. Willcock,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details from your stay at The Chatwal Hotel.

It is wonderful to read that you had a very pleasant experience. We take great pride in the level of service we provide our guests and I am delighted to know you were able to enjoy this first hand.

We appreciate your support and welcome the opportunity to host you for a return visit.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

There is little, if anything, not to like about this hotel. Cordial and hepful staff, outstanding room decor and comfort, quiet location just steps from Times Square. High-tech touches abound in this art deco masterpiece. Lobby bar plus a 2nd Floor lounge that overlooks 44th Street. Bathrooms are to be experienced, not visited. The Lamb's Club restaurant is excellent, and a small, well equipped fitness room, spa, indoor pool and hot tub round out your on-site options. Wi-Fi is on the house as it should be.

I prefer The Chatwal to the Four Seasons and the New York Palace, both top properties but each lacking the "boutique" charm and warmth that you find here. If you like high-class, high-tech, high-touch without the attitude, The Chatwal is a smart choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NashvilleWslaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear NashvilleWslaugher,

Thank you for your very kind review.

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the boutique level of service we provide our guests.

We would be honored to host you again for another visit. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com if I may be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Had a comfortable and relaxing stay at the Chatwal. This NYC luxury hotel truly exudes class and sophistication from its interior appointments to the quality of customer service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edcap99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2012

After a Really Bad experience at a another Hotel luxury hotel this Juwel saved our Trip to New York!
The Chatwal New York is definitely the best Hotel in town. Not only the beautiful and very luxurios Rooms and suites fit the highest standards of the Hotel Business but also the perfectly trained staff guarantees a unforgetable stay. From the front desk, the bellboys, the Concierge, the Butler to the Hotel Management, everybody Serves the Guest in a for New York very seldom Perfect manner. We will come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Tom D,

Thank you for sharing your experiences from your time at The Chatwal Hotel.

Above all at The Chatwal, we pride ourselves for the intimate level of service we provide our guests. Your generous words about your interactions with our staff are sincerely appreciated.

We would be delighted to host you for a return visit. Please contact me directly if there is anything I may be able to assist you with at lmiller@thechatwalny.com.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The hotel was out of this world. The people were super helpful, they bent over backwards to help me out with any issue that arose, including trying to find an extra night to stay even though the hotel was booked solid.

The luxury collection really stepped it up with this one. The people made the difference. I can't tell you how great this hotel was. The location is OK. its right next to time square but if you go out the hotel and take a right, you are in another area.

Loved it. Absolutley loved it

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmansouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

My room was small and dark, charmed up no doubt, but a Hampton Inn provides more sizable rooms and comfort.

Things in my room were broken, and after 3 promises over a 3 day period, I gave up.

At these prices they need to get with it.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Arlo3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Dear Arlo3k,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Chatwal.

It is most disappointing to hear we did not exceed your expectations as we take great pride in the level of service we provide our guests. We are known for providing the type of service that prompted your review on TripAdvisor in December 2011.

I would like to apologize for the inconveniences the occured with the televisions in your room. The moment you had brought the issues to our attention, our engineer was promptly dispatched to attend to the matter.

We sincerely regret that your stay was less than perfect, especially since you have left a lovely review here on TripAdvisor about your first experience at The Chatwal Hotel.

I would welcome the opportunity to further discuss these issues in greater detail. I can be reached via email at lmiller@thechatwalny.com. You may also contact the hotel directly at 212.764.6200 and ask to speak with Lance.

I do hope we have the great pleasure in welcoming you back for another return visit. I will look forward to hearing from you.

Cordially,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#67 of 467 in New York City
2,060 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 467 in New York City
3,193 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#27 of 467 in New York City
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#35 of 467 in New York City
1,074 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Property: The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#40 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#82 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing