We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,282)
Filter reviews
1,282 results
Traveller rating
959
194
69
32
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
959
194
69
32
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butler service heated toilet seat red door spa times square art deco decor new york bathroom mirror starwood points rain shower the theater district junior suite an upgrade turn down service lobby bar small hotel bell staff wonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
740 - 745 of 1,282 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

A glamorous stay in an art-deco, Stanford White-designed building beautifully restored by Thierry Despont. Sexy, black granite bathrooms appear to sparkle with tiny diamonds, and the rain shower is big enough for a party. TV embedded in the mirror great for catching the morning news. Nice touch: the Asprey bath products. Guest room furniture is un-hotel like and inspired by chic, vintage travel trunks.
In-room bar stocked with shakers, cocktail glasses (order hand-cut ice from room service), beautifully wrapped chocolate bars plus books on the era that make you want to nestle in the stylish Corona chair all evening, but do make an appearance in the Lambs Club Bar downstairs and pick up a few good lines on the elevator ride down as the movie, "Girl in the Red Velvet Swing" (about Stanford White and 'It Girl" Evelyn Nesbit is perpetually playing in the elevator car). I didn't see a red velvet swing, but slip into a red leather booth for a vintage cocktail. Don't miss dining in the Lambs Club restaurant as you can't go wrong with the Geoffrey Zakarian menu, plus great people watching. But best of all was my butler, Brandon Short. Nothing he can't do, and so gracious while making you feel like a Broadway star!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CocktailMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel in a wonderful location!
We stayed while on holiday from Ireland and were very impressed with The Chatwal. Friendly staff, 2 minute walk to time square, and incredible decor. Everything was do tasteful and finished to the very highest standard. I especially loved the luxurious bathroom.
The room was equipped with state of the art technology and everything you could wish for including an impressive vanity case. I will always remember it as we got engaged on this particular stay but The Chatwal is special enough to make any stay there memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorriMcO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This hotel may be fine if you are visiting New York as a tourist and do not rely on SPG status for upgrades etc...

The point - Sometimes these are true business needs for an upgrade and that s why you choose to be loyal to one hotel group. In this case, I needed more space for a meeting and used a suite night award and a platinum request for an upgrade, Bothe were rejected. But when I went on the web site several suite categories were available. Called the Platinum assistance line and they also them no I could not be upgraded.

The thing is I use Starwood not just for rooms but also for many meetings throughout the year and frankly if i am going to be treated like a client that will only stay in this hotel, or any other Starwood hotel, occasional or once, there is no need to stay here.

Leave this hotel to the the tourists. I would also suggest that Starwood remove them from the network.

I am sure their response will be that there were no suites available etc when i arrived ....but both I and the platinum help line pulled up several rooms that were available, so no question - if you are SPG Gold/Platinum go stay somewhere else. Maybe when their revenues are down they will learn how to treat frequent repeat clients.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank doggo148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We had six nights in NYC at the Chatwal. Location is excellent, less than a block from Times Square and very close to Theatres. Accommodation was outstanding, comfortable beds with the best pillows (so good I purchased 2). Bathrooms are beautiful, huge shower with rain shower plus handheld as well. After staying at the Chatwal we would not consider staying anywhere else - OUTSTANDING!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supercat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at the Chatwal. It was the perfect location for getting around Manhattan, and being right in the heart of Theatre district made it perfect for evening entertainment.

Rooms were clean and the bathrooms luxurious. There was always great attention to detail with the turndown service.

We only used the restaurant for breakfast - while the food was ok, there are prob better places around to get a quick bite to eat.

Service at Concierge, front desk and Door men were impeccable.

Room Tip: Nice and high away from the noise. We were on the 8th floor which was perfect
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlayfulPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Manager at The Chatwal, a Luxury Collection Hotel, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear PlayfulPup,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your experience with us and that you found the location of the hotel to be convenient for your needs.

We are very grateful for your kind words about our team
.
Should we ever have the pleasure to welcome you back to The Chatwal Hotel in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews