We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,273)
Filter reviews
1,273 results
Traveller rating
955
191
69
32
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
955
191
69
32
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutler serviceheated toilet seatred door spatimes squareart deco decornew yorkbathroom mirrorstarwood pointsrain showerthe theater districtjunior suitean upgradeturn down servicelobby barsmall hotelbell staffwonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
725 - 730 of 1,273 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Thank you to the fantastic, attentive staff at The Chatwal for making our stay both comfortable and memorable. From the attentive doormen to the ever-smiling bar staff we felt welcome and coddled every day! Every meal in the Lambs Club was delicious and the service impeccable. Our Junior Suite was absolutely a highlight, with the most impeccably stocked mini-bar we have ever seen. I am inspired to have a duplicate built in my husband's closet someday, so entranced was he!
Within steps of Times Square and only minutes to everything else, The Chatwal was a perfect choice for us.
Special thanks to Alex, Pierre, Brad, Gary and the many, many others who made our stay so special. Not only do we look forward to returning, we will recommend The Chatwal to our friends when they are planning a trip to New York City. Thank you!

Room Tip: Junior Suite was perfect size!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herringboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Terrific service, beautifully appointed rooms, convenient midtown location just off Times Square - easy walk to theaters, Radio City, Rockefeller Center, and multiple subway lines. The ambience is comfortable and classic, with just enough style and design details to be unique, without being overly trendy. Our welcome at the front desk is always friendly, accommodating and professional, with no detail ignored. The same can be said for the bar and restaurant staff. No doubt there are other hotel options, in this category, in the neighborhood, all offering great service and amenities. However, we prefer the Chatwal because it is a one-of-a-kind hotel where you truly feel you’re in the city, part of the city, and not just at another outpost of a could-be-in-any-city chain boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Highly recommend a city view room. The rooms with a private terrace are a real treat.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TominPlano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

the staff of the hotel was very helpful and the hotel was a good value and located in the center of the theatre district. Also had the ability to eat at the Lambs Club which is located in the hotel. Would recommend this hotel both for the quality of the service and the hospitality of the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pharmdoc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Impeccable service, super clean rooms, wonderful restaurant with a great fun bar in a fantastic location.... But the very very best was the service!! I stay there at the beginning of August and then at the end of the month. Both stays were great, both rooms fantastic and the service both times was consistently wonderful. Felt home soooo far away from my home. Gracias to all!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 10th floor are a dream. It is worth the extra expense!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virginiairurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

A glamorous, luxurious stay in an art-deco, Stanford White-designed building. Granite floors in bathrooms! Extremely professional and accomodating staff. Well located near Times Square and local attractions and eateries, ie: New York diners!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulinaTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews