We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #40 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We travel to different cities in N. America & Europe almost every month and really enjoyed staying at this hotel. We were there for a week. I highly recommend this hotel. The staff was always very professional & it felt like they all wanted to make our stay the very best possible. Our room was large by NY standards and had so many closet areas, which was a nice change from having things lying around, cluttering up the room.The butler, Brandon Short, freshened up all my husbands clothes as soon as we arrived & we felt like we were living at the hotel, not out of suitcases. Breakfast in the restaurant was excellent. We try to eat healthy when we travel & the steel cut oatmeal was cooked perfectly, with an order of the seasonal berries being enough for the two of us to share. The gym had everything I needed and the pool, though only a small one person unit, beside a plunge pool, was invigorating & refreshing. When I travel, I often feel like I'm not embracing a healthy lifestyle, but between the food and fitness options, I felt like I was not losing out on quality of lifestyle. The only downside to this location is that it's very difficult for cars ( we used Uber ) to maneuver around the area to this location, so we had to wait each time. But when I was not wearing high heels, it was easy enough to walk over a block to get a cab. And there are lots of options for a decent meal in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

September 15, 2013
We had been looking forward to our visit to the Chatwal for a three day stay prior to an Atlantic Cruise. On arrival to this boutique hotel we found the desk staff aloof and unfriendly. They informed us of their rules about check in being not before 3.00 pm (it was 1.00 pm). They left us sitting on a sofa in the lobby - ignoring us. By 3.00 pm, with no check in, and no understanding from staff that we had arrived after a long flight - we walked up to the reception and cancelled the remaining two nights of our three day stay! The staff seem to have a superior 'air' which puts themselves 'above the customer'. Once in the magnificent (But compact) suite, we found the electronic lighting controls did not work as shown to us. The bed was firm and uncomfortable (but looked great), First room booked with balcony at a high price per night - but had no bath!!. Spoke to manager, and we were moved to a room with a bath at extra cost. Told rooms scarce due to hotel being full with a Sheik and his 'security detail'. (Thus suggesting to us, we should consider ourselves lucky to be there - even though we had booked months in advance). Other luxury features such as electric curtains in fact did not work with bedside 'phone' touchscreen control. (as pointed to by the porter) Lamps etc not controlled by electronic switches, defeating the purpose of a 'Smart home' electronics system. For a premium price we expect things to work. (We have such systems in our two residences - and they work there). Room divider walls must be thin, because we were woken by phone ringing and loud voice at 4.00 am from adjoining room. Glass screen over bath makes it difficult to reach the bath plug. (Impossible for my wife). When using the bedside phone, the second phone near window (on desk) constantly rings. (Butler said this unfortunately happens!) Japanese manufactured 'bidet' addition to toilet was an ugly 'add on' when dedicated 'dual purpose toilets' - WC/Bidet - are available on the market'. View from window over a rubbish strewn verandah on a renovation building site over narrow road. (no NY Skyline!) Definitely not up to standards we have come to accept from five star hotels over many years of very frequent 'First Class' Travel

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a window!, because our window looked out over a 'rubbish dump' over a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank howardR109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to detail your recent stay at The Chatwal New York, A Luxury Collection Hotel.

We continually strive to offer exceptional levels of service and it appears in this case did not meet your expectations. We will take necessary measures to do an internal follow up with our staff to ensure the issues you shared result in a positive outcome in the future

We would appreciate if you allow us the opportunity to discuss your comments further. Our management team can be contacted at ExecutiveOffice@thechatwalny.com.

Sincerely,
The Chatwal Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! It was our first time in New York and EVERYONE from the doormen to concierge to their amazing butler was so welcoming, helpful and courteous. They all went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. Cannot thank them enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jijoolal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

For the incredibly high room rate ($700+ on the nights I stayed), there are many better options throughout Manhattan.

However, there are a lot of high points here. The rooms are very large by NY standards, and location is close to a lot of stuff that you want to do.

But the service had a very Starwood corporate feel to it; friendly and acceptable, but out of a training manual.

The electronics in the room need serious updating: the iPod doc was non-functional (the "butler" said he'd send engineering up but never did), the sheers and drapes opened on their own several times (with a wireless controller, probably receiving signals from another room), the lights are impossible to figure out - various switches control different lights but they're not labeled clearly.

Was disappointed our room looked squarely into the room of another building next door, so certainly no city ambience.

The gym is laughable; basically a small closet with Technogym Equipment (the worst brand possible - why Starwood doesn't take a cue from Hilton and upgrade to much higher quality Precor equipment is beyond me).

Would not stay here again. As a Starwood Platinum, my points are better spent at Parker Le Meridien (50% cheaper and with an amazing gym), or even one of the Sheratons throughout town which are a relative bargain. But in New York, if you want a truly elegant experience, you need to skip the corporate chains entirely, and look for the one off boutiques, which can be amongst the most elegant hotesl in the world.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertGrunnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

If you're looking for a boutique hotel in the NYC Theater District, consider the Chatwal. Not only does it have a wonderful history -- Barrymore, Chaplin, John Wayne, Irving Berlin, Fred Astaire stayed there -- but it's so centrally located, it's only minutes from most Broadway Theaters. Up-to-date, with the latest technology (we had two TVs in the bedroom, plus another that came through the mirror in the bathroom), the furniture is all leather and the walls are soft suede. Great service. We had two rooms for a theater weekend and enjoyed every minute.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlacara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I had the chance to spend five nights at the Chatwel, and while I can be a harsh critic on hotels this hotel was PERFECT. Words you have NEVER seem me print, but not a thing was wrong with this hotel. From the perfect staff, to the perfect hotel, to the perfect rooms, the best food at the Lambs's Club (great to see if back after all these years.) If I could change one thing it would be the physical location, but even it being on the edge of Times Square is fine.

Room Tip: I think you would be hard pressed to find a bad room. I was on the 8th floor, and the rooms below o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Thank you to the fantastic, attentive staff at The Chatwal for making our stay both comfortable and memorable. From the attentive doormen to the ever-smiling bar staff we felt welcome and coddled every day! Every meal in the Lambs Club was delicious and the service impeccable. Our Junior Suite was absolutely a highlight, with the most impeccably stocked mini-bar we have ever seen. I am inspired to have a duplicate built in my husband's closet someday, so entranced was he!
Within steps of Times Square and only minutes to everything else, The Chatwal was a perfect choice for us.
Special thanks to Alex, Pierre, Brad, Gary and the many, many others who made our stay so special. Not only do we look forward to returning, we will recommend The Chatwal to our friends when they are planning a trip to New York City. Thank you!

Room Tip: Junior Suite was perfect size!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herringboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#55 of 470 in New York City
778 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#51 of 470 in New York City
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Knickerbocker Hotel
The Knickerbocker Hotel
#73 of 470 in New York City
2,515 reviews
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#15 of 470 in New York City
371 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £387 - £853 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing