We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you are attending the theater!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #37 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Chatwal is two blocks from Times Square, and that is a negative to me. TS is a mecca for the absurd, the flamboyant and the 'in your face' crowd.
The hotel is an island of calm amidst this chaos. Very friendly staff.
The rooms are great if you are a bat. Extremely dark, small and overdone with technology. The high tech, computerized toilet/bidet did not flush well, the curtains opened on their own at 6:45am and the lighting was very poor.
The two times we needed a cab, the doormen suggested we go to the corner and hail one ourselves...the last time with three pieces of luggage! We found help from the Miilenium Hotel across the street.

Stayed: September 2013
3  Thank Susansandiego72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 660 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Great service, location, comfort and style. Try the junior suite, it is wonderful! The decor is clean and modern while being warm and comfortable. The staff will remember your name and see that all that you need is there. The spa is fabulous as well. It is small, but the treatments are perfect! Although the hotel is close to Time Square, it is quiet. The food is great. I really can not say enough good about The Chatwal. We did not find fault with any part of our stay. We look forward to returning.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank amyh619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I've stayed all over the city and The Chatwal is my new favorite. The service levels are unmatched. The quality of the rooms is incredible. Plus the on site spa and restaurant are equal fantastic.

Old school service meets modern day refinement and facilities at this hotel. Our anniversary trip was perfect thanks to the staff. The concierge booked us at two restaurants that were amazing. The staff ran a last minute errand for us to help is make our flight in time. Room service on the terrace in our room was wonderful.

Stay here if you get a chance. You'll love it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buffalotravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel is just off Times Square in a quiet street but moments from all the action. I can't praise this place highly enough - it is classy, quiet, luxurious with great staff.

We were here for a special occasion and had a suite with a huge outside patio area that
made our stay - every night we sat out there having a nightcap watching the world go by. The concierges were fab getting us reservations at Nomad, Balthazar and lots of great restaurants. Sarah Beth's at Cenral Park is highly recommended to lunch. Overall, not the cheapest hotel but worth it for the awesome location, stunning rooms and great service.

Room Tip: The suites with the outdoor patios are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottishName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My wife and I visited New York on the last leg of our 2013 vacation and stayed at this beautiful hotel. The hotel has a very 20's inspired feel and exudes character and atmosphere. If luxury and comfort are your thing then you won't be disappointed! The location is excellent and is literally just meters off Times Square.

The staff were all amazing, words cannot praise them enough. For example, our flight into New York from Vancouver arrived just after midnight, by the time we got to the hotel it was almost 2am. As a bit of background: during our previous visit to New York we stayed at a different hotel and also arrived late (again, due to the flights), we were placed in literally the last available room, which was substandard and dirty! and this was despite having made the reservation a year in advance in a pricey hotel, from a well known major chain! Wary of our past experience due to arriving late I contacted the hotel. Mr Miller replied to my email and assured us we would be allocated a good room. Sure enough when we arrived we were upgraded. The room was fantastic, very clean, modern, very comfortable, very spacious and beautifully appointed. The Bellman, doormen and Ms Monroy (the Front Desk Supervisor) were all excellent, very attentive, accommodating and very eager to assist in anything they could. As I said before, words cannot praise them enough.

Next time we are in New York we will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl_and_Sylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We travel to different cities in N. America & Europe almost every month and really enjoyed staying at this hotel. We were there for a week. I highly recommend this hotel. The staff was always very professional & it felt like they all wanted to make our stay the very best possible. Our room was large by NY standards and had so many closet areas, which was a nice change from having things lying around, cluttering up the room.The butler, Brandon Short, freshened up all my husbands clothes as soon as we arrived & we felt like we were living at the hotel, not out of suitcases. Breakfast in the restaurant was excellent. We try to eat healthy when we travel & the steel cut oatmeal was cooked perfectly, with an order of the seasonal berries being enough for the two of us to share. The gym had everything I needed and the pool, though only a small one person unit, beside a plunge pool, was invigorating & refreshing. When I travel, I often feel like I'm not embracing a healthy lifestyle, but between the food and fitness options, I felt like I was not losing out on quality of lifestyle. The only downside to this location is that it's very difficult for cars ( we used Uber ) to maneuver around the area to this location, so we had to wait each time. But when I was not wearing high heels, it was easy enough to walk over a block to get a cab. And there are lots of options for a decent meal in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

September 15, 2013
We had been looking forward to our visit to the Chatwal for a three day stay prior to an Atlantic Cruise. On arrival to this boutique hotel we found the desk staff aloof and unfriendly. They informed us of their rules about check in being not before 3.00 pm (it was 1.00 pm). They left us sitting on a sofa in the lobby - ignoring us. By 3.00 pm, with no check in, and no understanding from staff that we had arrived after a long flight - we walked up to the reception and cancelled the remaining two nights of our three day stay! The staff seem to have a superior 'air' which puts themselves 'above the customer'. Once in the magnificent (But compact) suite, we found the electronic lighting controls did not work as shown to us. The bed was firm and uncomfortable (but looked great), First room booked with balcony at a high price per night - but had no bath!!. Spoke to manager, and we were moved to a room with a bath at extra cost. Told rooms scarce due to hotel being full with a Sheik and his 'security detail'. (Thus suggesting to us, we should consider ourselves lucky to be there - even though we had booked months in advance). Other luxury features such as electric curtains in fact did not work with bedside 'phone' touchscreen control. (as pointed to by the porter) Lamps etc not controlled by electronic switches, defeating the purpose of a 'Smart home' electronics system. For a premium price we expect things to work. (We have such systems in our two residences - and they work there). Room divider walls must be thin, because we were woken by phone ringing and loud voice at 4.00 am from adjoining room. Glass screen over bath makes it difficult to reach the bath plug. (Impossible for my wife). When using the bedside phone, the second phone near window (on desk) constantly rings. (Butler said this unfortunately happens!) Japanese manufactured 'bidet' addition to toilet was an ugly 'add on' when dedicated 'dual purpose toilets' - WC/Bidet - are available on the market'. View from window over a rubbish strewn verandah on a renovation building site over narrow road. (no NY Skyline!) Definitely not up to standards we have come to accept from five star hotels over many years of very frequent 'First Class' Travel

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a window!, because our window looked out over a 'rubbish dump' over a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank howardR109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to detail your recent stay at The Chatwal New York, A Luxury Collection Hotel.

We continually strive to offer exceptional levels of service and it appears in this case did not meet your expectations. We will take necessary measures to do an internal follow up with our staff to ensure the issues you shared result in a positive outcome in the future

We would appreciate if you allow us the opportunity to discuss your comments further. Our management team can be contacted at ExecutiveOffice@thechatwalny.com.

Sincerely,
The Chatwal Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#52 of 471 in New York City
1,151 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#55 of 471 in New York City
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#15 of 471 in New York City
397 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker Hotel
The Knickerbocker Hotel
#75 of 471 in New York City
2,718 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#33 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £375 - £656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing