We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique hotel near Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #37 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This hotel, a block from Times Square, is a treasure. The rooms are beautiful, nice-sized, and quiet. Located on 44th Street, the hotel is in the middle of everything and within easy walking distance of all theaters. The Chatwal has a beautiful, inviting restaurant, as well as a comfortable bar and lobby area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back, facing a back alley, are somewhat dark. Those overlooking 44th Street would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigband5309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

638 - 644 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights at The Chatwal.My husband and my son. It really enjoyed it! The rooms were huge, the food really delicious (could also look locally, is prepared as usa food) and the staff always friendly and helpful. staffs has always many musician friends to guest. The Highlight this Hotel are the nightly jams. cant wait to be beack again and sorry for the roview if its not in time becuase I have not use the Tripadvisor tell this few months a go. But im happy to write about your lovely hospitality even been there for a year ago.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jems B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A minute away from times square and the action. The toilet , or The Bog, as we Brits call it was amazing, complete with central heating and built in bidet. The downside to this place is the constant 'tipping opportunities' that soon empties your wallet.The USA is sometimes described by Brits. as "the land of swaying palms"; it didn't take us long to suss out how to play 'dodge the doorman' and 'avoid the bellhop'.Our room also had the biggest 'mini-bar' I've ever seen....but we all know the rules on mini-bars, don't we?

Room Tip: Tip the receptionist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed at this great hotel for four nights. Location is brilliant as you're just off Times Square but the road is quiet. Staff were really friendly and room superb. Would definitely return!! We had a deluxe double double room. My only one little complaint was they didn't serve free nibbles with the very expensive cocktails!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tj4789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel was conveniently located and the staff was ok. We stayed 2 nights, we had our room (no 809) next to the stairs exit…when housekeeping & room service entered the floor, they slammed the door loudly…. . It is not nice to be woken up in the middle of the night with the slamming of a door.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Yoviajocontacos J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We could not choose better hotel. Excellent place in the middle of Manhattan, few steps from TimeSquare an few minutes to 5th. Luxury and chick. What a beauty, one of the best we had. We spent a beautiful time here, shopping, walking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VlastikAndLenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I sent 4 days at the Chatwal and it was fantastic. The staff was amazing. Nothing could have been better. Our room (1004) was comfortable, roomy and no noise at all. We slept so good each night. The decor is attractive, modern and understated. The Chatwal is one of the best hotels I have stayed in and the best in NYC. You will love the staff. Friendly, helpful, attractive and attentive. What a great stay. Counting the days till we return. Many Many thanks to all at The Chatwal

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#52 of 471 in New York City
1,152 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#63 of 471 in New York City
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#15 of 471 in New York City
398 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker Hotel
The Knickerbocker Hotel
#74 of 471 in New York City
2,736 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#33 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £376 - £651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing