We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #35 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I arrived from Australia , chose this as my reciprocal club was full,. I always spend my first three nights in this city recovering from the flight before onto family.
Ithe staff was faultless.. Perfect . every attention to detail was given. I felt I had a perfect security blanket beneath me. Loved the decor, the matress, sheets,,I only experienced the lobby and upstairs for drinks but it was perfect.
the bathroom wash quite special.. Just wondered I if tub area should have a handrail. I found it slippery..
I have no hesitation recommending the hotel. enjoy!

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room. As I wanted to rest. I had a back room... Very quiet , excellent climate c...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,173)
There are newer reviews for The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

DO NOT BOOK the PRICELINE "deal" of $370 a night if traveling with more than 2 people. The $370 is only for one queen bed (although not known to the consumer at the time). The hotel will charge $300 per night mark up for another bed. It's not intuitive or reasonable for a double bed option to cost 81% more. They do not allow cots as it's against fire codes. Bottom-line - if you have more than 2 adults, you can not stay in the room you reserve. Pardon the pun, but I don't know how Mgmt can sleep at night with such a scam.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Candice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This hotel, a block from Times Square, is a treasure. The rooms are beautiful, nice-sized, and quiet. Located on 44th Street, the hotel is in the middle of everything and within easy walking distance of all theaters. The Chatwal has a beautiful, inviting restaurant, as well as a comfortable bar and lobby area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back, facing a back alley, are somewhat dark. Those overlooking 44th Street would...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigband5309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights at The Chatwal.My husband and my son. It really enjoyed it! The rooms were huge, the food really delicious (could also look locally, is prepared as usa food) and the staff always friendly and helpful. staffs has always many musician friends to guest. The Highlight this Hotel are the nightly jams. cant wait to be beack again and sorry for the roview if its not in time becuase I have not use the Tripadvisor tell this few months a go. But im happy to write about your lovely hospitality even been there for a year ago.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jems B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A minute away from times square and the action. The toilet , or The Bog, as we Brits call it was amazing, complete with central heating and built in bidet. The downside to this place is the constant 'tipping opportunities' that soon empties your wallet.The USA is sometimes described by Brits. as "the land of swaying palms"; it didn't take us long to suss out how to play 'dodge the doorman' and 'avoid the bellhop'.Our room also had the biggest 'mini-bar' I've ever seen....but we all know the rules on mini-bars, don't we?

Room Tip: Tip the receptionist.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed at this great hotel for four nights. Location is brilliant as you're just off Times Square but the road is quiet. Staff were really friendly and room superb. Would definitely return!! We had a deluxe double double room. My only one little complaint was they didn't serve free nibbles with the very expensive cocktails!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you want quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tj4789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel was conveniently located and the staff was ok. We stayed 2 nights, we had our room (no 809) next to the stairs exit…when housekeeping & room service entered the floor, they slammed the door loudly…. . It is not nice to be woken up in the middle of the night with the slamming of a door.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Yoviajocontacos J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#64 of 468 in New York City
2,198 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 468 in New York City
3,222 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#26 of 468 in New York City
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York
Langham Place, New York
#21 of 468 in New York City
2,221 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#48 of 468 in New York City
1,094 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#33 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#82 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £432 - £799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing