We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good luxury boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #44 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
VA
Level Contributor
356 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Very good luxury boutique hotel”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed two nights recently on a business trip. The room is very comfortable. One of the few hotel rooms in NYC where I enjoyed sitting in the room and reading a book. Most NYC hotels you just want to sleep in -- this one wins on comfort. The staff are very friendly and attentive. The decor is modern and clean and high end. Definitely will stay again. Staff is outstanding. Always friendly and the phone is answered always by the second or third ring -- that is a huge difference with so many hotels stripping down the staffing. Hotel is immaculately clean and new.

A few noteworthy items -- I thought the room had a few amenities that while almost useless -- were whimsical and fun. Your room comes with an in-room bar, which apart from some good booze -- it has five or six magazines and four or five novels. I really like that high-end and somewhat homey touch. Again, you can stand to be in the room at the Chatwal. I also liked the backgammon set -- had not seen one in a very long time (college!).

Bath was very high end. But no bath-tub for tub goers. The shower was a rainfall gizmo which was nice and a toto heated zooped up toilet seat. There you go.

Room service was great for breakfast on day two -- great eggs and the smootie was superb. One in-room dining note on the burger -- I have ordered room service burgers around the world. This was the rarest "medium rare" burger I have ever received --- really a steak tartare. Too much for me -- go Medium or Medium Well even if you are always a Medium Rare person. If not, you've been warned.

44th Street is a nice street with several good italian restaurants. And for tourists, Times Square is down the street.

The only negative really for me was noise. Being on the 4th floor, for a while there were a few too many sirens. Things calmed down and the sleep quality was excellent.

Recommend for business or for couples.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    169
    64
    28
    24
See reviews for
185
527
61
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roslyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

One of the best hotel that I have ever stayed at. Staffs were attentive, responsive and careful in every aspect. Art Deco design and details in both rooms and public area are spectacular. General manager, butlers & receptions are all well trained. It was a great experience. Will go back in NO time.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Chatwal convinces with super attentive and friendly staff, well-appointed rooms, and a quiet, relaxing atmosphere right next to Times Square. By far the best choice of any hotel nearby, the Chatwal won me over with their total consistency in delivering a great experience. Every time, at any of my frequent stays there, everything was perfect. Notable bar scene and music, and arguably one of the best restaurants in all of NY, The Lambs Club, which serves wonderful breakfast and also works well for business brunch, lunch or dinner, only add further to the convincing package. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeeklyTravelerATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan W, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear WeeklyTravelerATL,
Thank you for takign the time to share your feedback about your recent stay on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that we were able to exceed your expectaions. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Chatwal in the future.
Sincerely,
The Chatwal Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerhonkson, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I just got home from our honeymoon to NYC. We stayed at The Chatwal and couldn't be any happier. As a young couple (both 20) and parents, it was very nice to be able to get away. The Chatwal was relaxing and peaceful. We were very happy to know it was a block away from the Toys R Us in Times Square.

The staff was very polite and helpful. When we had a question about a door in our room, they sent the Head Butler in to thoroughly explain to us what it was and he was very nice and professional. He had us laughing and even handed us his business card if we needed anything.Even better, he was clocking out for the weekend and was still interested in helping us with anything we needed. (And again, we hope you
have a great vacation!)

The room.... wow! We stayed in an Executive Studio Suite on the 4th floor and our jaws dropped at first sight! It was very clean and absolutely gorgeous. The shower was amazing... no bathtub, but the Waterfall shower head definitely made up for it!

Checking out was very upsetting to us because we were enjoying our stay so much and weren't ready to.go back to our own bed. Doesn't even compare to our bed in the room!

We had an amazing honeymoon and The Chatwal exceeded all of our expectations. We can't wait to come back to NYC and stay at our favorite hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmb102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan W, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear rmb102010,
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that we were able to make your honeymoon special and memorable. Our staff takes great pride in the service they provide and are very grateful for the recognition.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Chatwal in the future.
Sincerely,
The Chatwal Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I travel to NYC regularly and am a SPG Platinum member. My latest visit to the Chatwal was wonderful. Suite upgrade, terrific service, great location, cool bar.

So, I was surprised when I checked the latest reviews as I was making a reservation for an upcoming NYC visit and found such unfortunate experiences. So consistently poor are the reviews that I elected to stay at an alternate SPG property.

Sad. This was one of my favorite hotels. I hope that things turn around. I'll miss the Chatwal until then.

Room Tip: The two room suites are magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentlyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan W, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear FrequentlyMe,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to know that you have had wonderful stays with us in the past. Please rest assured that you will not be dissapointed when you return. When we do make an error we collectively learn and correct the infraction. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and delivering the kind of experience expected from The Chatwal.
Sincerely,
The Chatwal Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed at The Chatwal for 4 nights on a business trip. Great location for the office located by Bryant Park (and 1 minute from Times Square) but I found this hotel massively disappointing.

This hotel is fine, nothing much to complain about in general, the real issue is the price. $700 a night for a standard room that has every gadget imaginable (tablet to control the curtains, lights, TV) and a high tech bathroom but no natural light, at any time of the day. Half a dozen staff on reception but it takes 45 minutes to checkout. An over complicated breakfast menu but they serve burnt toast and awful eggs (according to the colleague I was travelling with).

This hotel is a great example of style of substance. It looks good, but the level of service falls short of what you would expect for the price. I was so unimpressed that even though I wasn't footing the bill I alerted my firms travel company and apparently so had other colleagues at my firm and other clients of theirs; it's now off their books.

New York is a very expensive city but if you have a budget of $500+ a night, there are so many better options than The Chatwal. I wouldn't stay here even if it was heavily discounted, it's just not worth it even with the great location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank London20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan W, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear London2014,
We appreciate your feedback. While we are glad that you found our accommodations impressive we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations when it comes to service.
Our guests appreciate our ability to care for them individually and in the most efficient and personable fashion which sets us apart from larger hotels. With only 76 rooms we excel at avoiding delays and a line in the lobby is unknown to occur. I sincerely hope we will have an opportunity to discuss the details of your stay. I have reached out to you directly and look forward to hearing back.
Again, I apologize sincerely and hope we have an opportunity to discuss your departure experience.
With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

As a first time guest I was truly looking forward to experiencing the Chatwal as a whole and what it had to offer. In my travels to some of the best luxury hotels in the world I've heard great things about the Chatwal hotel, which Unfortunately I can't say the same after my stay. I arrived Superbowl weekend with intent to explore and get my stay off to a great start at the hotel but they had a private event booked on both levels for the whole weekend which meant all the chatwal guest who were not apart of the NFL Superbowl Clients didn't have access to the restaurant & the bar etc. Whom ever book this event from the Chatwal hotel didn't take in consideration the rest of the hotel guests especially SPG members. Because of this issue there wasn't any where for any of us to go inside the hotel except to our rooms or to leave the hotel, in which I didn't reserve a 2 night stay at a Category 7 starwood property to do either. My goal was to explore the hotel lobby sitting area, the famous bars area, the exquisite restaurant for dinner in which I had invited out my family who was celebrating a family anniversary but had to cancel because I had no access to restaurant area. Next issue housekeeping had to come back into my room after it had been cleaned already to replace my pillows because someone got the rooms mixed up and removed the pillows out of the room originally. Next the radio speakers were blown and the TV kept shutting off which meant the engineer had to come to my room to reset the TV. It truly didn't meet my expectations at all. I felt like I wasted my money by booking this hotel. I would like to thank Mr. Fischer (hotel manager) for his extremely hospitality as well as Julio & Jesus from engineering.
After this experience I can truly say I wouldn't refer someone to this hotel who is looking for that luxury/ Category 7 starwood experience.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aempire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan W, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Aempire,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

Let me profusely apologize for the poor experience you had here at The Chatwal. While we were proud to be chosen to accommodate the Super Bowl’s Executive Hosting Committee, we clearly underestimated the impact of the event on our hotel guests.

Providing a personalized and memorable experience by caring for each of our customer, one by one, is what we strive for and excel at. We missed our mark on this weekend and I can assure you that a similar scenario will not occur again.

We also wish to apologize for the TV troubles which resulted from a malfunctioning piece hardware that needed to be replaced by our TV service provider. It was most unfortunate that this coincided with the so anticipated Superbowl game.

Again I am very sorry that we failed to impress you, especially on your first stay with us. We have reached out to you and will welcome an opportunity to redeem ourselves and to provide you with a welcoming atmosphere that allows you to fully enjoy ALL of our hotel’s fantastic amenities.

We look forward to hearing back from you!

With best regards

AXEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#51 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,932 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Property: The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#39 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#83 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing