We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding anniversary break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #38 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for four nights at the beginning of May and it was a great location right beside Times Square and at the same time on a very peaceful quiet street for a restful sleep. I had emailed the hotel beforehand to tell them it was our 10th wedding anniversary and to ask for a good room. They offered us an upgrade on arrival and went out of their way to make us feel special for our anniversary. All the staff in this hotel were extremely friendly and helpful with anything we needed. The room itself was very pleasant and had plenty of space. The bathrooms were especially nice with a his and her sink, heated toilet seat and fabulous shower. Our room faced onto 44th street and it was very quiet. Breakfast was available but very pricey just to get the basics such as cereal and juice. I guess back home in Ireland we are so spoiled with the huge display of cereals, beverages, hot and cold food that are so frequently available at an inclusive price where everyone can help themselves to as much as they can eat that this idea of paying individual prices for every breakfast item came as somewhat of a shock. But otherwise this hotel was perfectly lovely in every way from comfort, luxury to wonderful staff. It's location was also ideal for our needs. I would recommend it to family and friends for sure.

Room Tip: I spend a lot of time researching rooms for this hotel and to be honest there was no need really as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coshelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

574 - 580 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

I've travelled extensively across the world and have good experiences and bad experiences; but the Chatwal is the only one that I have taken time out to review for others. In a word, WOW!! We stayed at the Chatwal for four days and we were absolutely blown away.

As soon as we entered the beautiful art deco building we were greeted warmly by the front desk and were checked in and in our room within a couple of minutes. Literally two minutes was all it took.

The room, my word, I've been in some fantastic hotel suites but nothing that had the character of the Chatwal. The suede(i think?) walls with the fantastic light fixtures made it feel very 1920's luxe but it had just about every single modern creature comfort one could ask for as well. The amenities were thoughtfully set up. I especially loved the touch of adding a backgammon set in the room.

Once we were in the room; we freshened up, and were greeted by Manpreet, who got us started with a fantastic breakfast and made plans with us for the rest of our stay. We had been traveling for a while and were craving Indian food for lunch. He went above and beyond by not only making reservations at the restaurant but also accompanied us there to make sure we were comfortable. He even arranged a special evening "chai" with "chaat" in the room of his own accord (because we told him how much we missed Indian food). We even entertained some friends one evening and all of the arrangements for dinner to be served in the room were taken care of by Manpreet with absolutely no effort on our end.

I think the thing that struck me the most, was the staff. As an example of the exemplary service, we were on our way out one time an Juan Franco, the doorman, actually looked up the weather forecast and suggested we carry an umbrella with us. Not only that, he actually went in and got us a couple of umbrellas for us. Sure enough it did rain a little later.

I can be quite a demanding guest and the Chatwal and Manpreet shone through every time. One example was when I went clubbing with friends. We got to the club and found a massive queue of people waiting to get in. I called him up and he had us walk in right to the front of the line. Which is near about impossible to do in a city you're visiting for four days and dont have your connections in place yet.

The lambs club. I really should do a proper review of the place by itself but that is probably for another time. Suffice it to say, MIND = BLOWN. It really was pretty special.

Overall, On my first visit to New York, I fell in love with the city. I felt I was a part of the city mainly because the people at the Chatwal made me feel at home.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NarayanRamaswamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for sharing such a thoughtful review of your visit to The Chatwal. Your response was a delight to read, and we're pleased your first visit to New York was so memorable. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to Manpreet, Juan Franco, and the rest of our staff; they will be delighted to know they could help make your stay so special.

Now that you've fallen in love with New York, you'll be looking for any reason to make your way back to the city. We certainly hope you'll keep us in mind when planning a return visit.

Sincerely,

Axel Fischer, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed for one night, the hotel is really beautiful and luxurious. Many thoughtful touches throughout the room including many free amenities. The room was spacious. Bath and shower were top notch and bed was quite comfortable.The staff was helpful and aimed to please. The only complaint was that I heard everything from the room next door including the toilet flushing, in full stereo. Fortunately our neighbors were not in the room too long but woke me when they came back after midnight. Other than that complaint it was a great stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room with thick walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbgild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear sbgild,

Thank you for your review. It sounds as though you had a wonderful stay at The Chatwal, complete with luxurious accommodations and exceptional service. As you noted, we "aim to please," and no request is too large or small for our staff. In that regard, we are always willing to take any necessary steps to ensure a guest's comfort, particularly when noise is an issue. We appreciate your positivity, and hope to have another opportunity to show you just how peaceful our rooms and suites can be.

Sincerely,

Axel Fischer, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were traveling to NYC to see some plays and meet up,with family and friends
Very hard to find a good hotel at rates approaching value. Multiple other reviews have praised this hotel, only four years old but polished and beautiful.

You have to be ok with elegant lo key, not hustle or bustle , room was so QUIET. Service was Efficient. Right in the middle of theaters

Two issues, one is thet there are several stairs to get in which was a mild problem for our knees.
Waldo occ difficult to get w wc because of local traffic patterns, need to go up to 6 th on occaision.
They met some great rates I found on the net with no problem, which made things much better.
Hotel picking is not easy...this was w winner

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slrla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear slrla,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Chatwal. We are pleased to know you found convenience and comfort in our hotel--as well as a great value. Please accept our apologies, however, for any difficulty caused by our entryway stairs. The majority of our facilities are designed to accommodate guests with reduced or limited mobility, and we would be happy to guide you to a more accessible route next time you're here. We look forward to seeing you again soon here in Manhattan's Theatre District.

Sincerely,

Axel Fischer, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We spent six nights in NYC going to the theatre and The Chatwal is my first choice for luxury in the theatre district. You cannot have better rooms, service and attention and walk to the theatre. We were always greeted with smiles and "welcome home" from the eager to please staff. We can't wait to return. (By the way, the breakfasts in the Lambs Club are terrific.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet so you cannot choose a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Refined midtown masc meets the upper east sides’ undoubted glamour in this Luxury Collection property. After an exhausting day of traveling out and back from the Hamptons twice, I could not wait to arrive at the Chatwal for the evening. You feel as though you are being ushered into a speakeasy, or a private label 20′s nightclub, as you enter the art deco and glossy dim-lit lobby. The rooms feature soaring ceiling heights, rich suede walls, and an ambiance of calm respite from the bustling city.
The Chatwal is hidden just steps from Times Square, and a quick jump to Madison and Park shopping.

Room Tip: I stayed in a one bedroom suite, featuring a lovely foyer and two bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel_Fischer, Hotel Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear John T, what a wonderful way to describe our very special place in the heart of Manhattan! Thank you so much - speakeasy is what we do and what our guests deserve after a busy day in town. We look forward to welcoming you back. With best regards - AXEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The rooms are modern, spacious comfortable and clean, and very quiet. Beautiful bathroom, great shower. Lots of closet space.

So easy to move around in the area with everything nearby, Theaters, restaurants, Fifth Avenue, perfect for business meetings.

At Breakfast they serve the most luscious croissants, right out of the oven, fluffy, an amazing breakfast on the house included in the room rate.

This Hotel with the impeccable service is a gem, I truly enjoyed the stay. Whenever in doubt pick the Chatwal, good to reward oneself.

Room Tip: I took what was proposed and was very satisfied
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaBetterhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel_Fischer, Hotel Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear FloridaBetterHalf - we really appreciate your feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back - and please bring your other half. With best regards - AXEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#55 of 473 in New York City
1,164 reviews
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#64 of 473 in New York City
820 reviews
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#16 of 473 in New York City
409 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#32 of 473 in New York City
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#39 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £316 - £646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York is a luxury boutique hotel once home of The Lambs Club built in 1905 by prominent architect Stanford White, the designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 29 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy the hotel's restaurant Lambs Club featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing