We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #44 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just got back from a long weekend in NYC. As they say....location, location, location, The Chatwal was recommended to us by a friend and we were certainly not disappointed. Right smack in the middle of the theatre district, we were so close to everything. We were upgraded to a suite with a terrace by the helpful and engaging front desk staff, only to then be met by the GM to let us know that "whatever we can do to make you want to come back and stay with us again, don't hesitate to ask". The room was beautiful! Every convenience imaginable to make the stay extra special.A little pricey so if you are looking for a bargain hotel this would not be for you. If you want to experience NYC and be treated like this was not our first visit, we highly recommend The Chatwal. We will certainly stay here again on our next trip to NYC.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 44th street side. If available, ask for a upper floor room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tammyfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    169
    64
    28
    24
See reviews for
185
527
61
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

As I'm a Starwood member, we tried the Chatwal as it's a Luxury Collection hotel. The stay was to celebrate my birthday and we wanted an intimate hotel that was a bit of a splurge. The Chatwal delivered and was a real treat!

This smaller hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the theatre district and steps from Bryant Park. The rooms are excellently appointed and designed with much thought to its guests. The closets are the largest I've ever had in a hotel! The bathroom included double sinks, a Japanese heated toilet (I'm now a big fan!), and bath products from Asprey of London. At first my husband was disappointed I hadn't requested a room with a bathtub. But he was quickly a convert to the huge shower with a rain shower head bigger than a dinner plate. We both wished we could take the shower home.

We enjoyed the bar/lounge on the second floor. We went for a drink after seeing some theatre. We were especially pleased to see a well known actor, who we had just seen perform on Broadway, dining in a booth in the lounge. There was a jazz trio playing and a great whiskey list. The bar frequently has music guests so check with the front desk if it interests you.

We didn't have the chance to eat at The Lamb's Club. But perhaps next time as I hope to return to The Chatwal.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank temple15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear temple15,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are honored that you chose to spend such a special occasion here at The Chatwal. It sounds as though you found a lot to love during your birthday celebration, including spacious accommodations and a spa-quality bathroom. As you noted, our Theatre District location offers convenient access to some of the city's finest entertainment. New shows are always opening, and we would love to welcome you back for another stay soon---with dinner at The Lambs Club to complete the experience.

Sincerely,

Axel Fischer, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good hotel in a great location. The hotel was clean and the service was very good. There was a butler service available to us but he did not follow through and follow up as we are accustom. Still overall a good stay and would return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for four nights. It is expensive, but worth it. The rooms were larger than I expected for NYC, bathroom was large - two sinks, great shower. The bar was very cool - lights hanging over the bar were in the shape of the Empire State Bldg. Concierges were terrific - made great recommendations. Although just off Time Square, we were not at all bothered by noise or crowds, so the location was just great.
We would definitely stay here again.
My only "complaint" was that the coffee was awful - at least for our taste. Too strong and bitter. Picky, huh.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 199DeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I recently returned to stay at the Chatwal after a two year absence. I had high expectations as I had stayed there twice before. To my absolute delight everything was again wonderful. I was given superlative service from the moment I arrived. The hotel has an unbeatable location for the theatre, shopping and sight seeing. My room was beautiful and quiet. I am already looking forward to my next stay.Thank you particularly to Elizabeth, and the great concierge team.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicia35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Felicia35,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Chatwal. It was our pleasure to welcome you back after two years and provide another "wonderful" experience. We always love to see a familiar face, and we hope to continue to be your hotel of choice in New York. Until we meet again, please let us know if there is anything we can do to be of service.

Sincerely,

Axel Fischer, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New york
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

As a displaced New Yorker, the last place I wanted to stay on my recent visit to NYC was Times Square. Well, The Chatwal changed that, almost instantly. I wouldn't hesitate to book this amazing Boutique Hotel again.
When I lived in NYC, I probably walked by this hotel a dozen or so times, never knowing what an amazing experience was behind the heavy iron doors.
We had a Junior Suite on the 9th floor, facing 44th St. The room was large, well appointed and the bathroom was stunning. Yes, the bathroom is stunning. All the glitz and glam from a long ago era neatly tucked away in a quiet part of Times Square.
The staff was extremely polite, courteous, helpful and are at your beck and call.
I highly recommend this hotel, it's staff and the location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed with my daughter for 5 nights. We were there to visit all the sights which we did. The hotel is very boutique. Fantastic bathroom. We only discovered when leaving that the desk in the room is actually a dressing table with a mirror. Wish we had found this before! The super king bed we had was very comfortable with lovely bedding. My only niggles are the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything! Also the drinks for us were very expensive but this is a New York. We would return

Room Tip: We were at the back. No view but no street noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GL24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear GL24,

Thank you for reviewing your five-night stay at The Chatwal. We are pleased to know you and your daughter enjoyed your time in New York. Our guests' comfort is our highest priority, so please do not hesitate to contact the front desk if noise become an issue in the future.

There is always more sightseeing to be done in New York, and we hope you'll think of The Chatwal next time you're in town.

Sincerely,

Axel Fisher, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#51 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,932 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Property: The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#39 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#83 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing