We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel; Too Close to Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #38 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The Chatwal is a very nice, boutique hotel very (too!) near Times Square. The immediate area lack common NYC services such as a decent corner deli for coffee and a bagel.

The staff is very courteous and efficient.

My room came with "Continental" breakfast. A side of scrambled eggs was more than $15 extra. Not a value.

Room cleanliness and service was quite nice. Again, a bag of potato chips from the minibar was $7.

The pool is small but provides exercise by swimming again a "current".

The only true negative was the persistent smell of sewer in the bathroom.

Room Tip: There is a lot of construction going on on 44th Street. Try for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mel_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

We appreciate you sharing your thoughtful review of your recent stay at The Chatwal. While it sounds like you found much to enjoy throughout your stay with luxurious room amenities and top-notch service from our staff, I'm sorry to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. Our central location keeps you within walking or cabbing distance of all the best spots around the city, and our staff is always happy to help our guests navigate their way to any destination. In addition, I'd like to apologize for any unpleasant odors in your guest room bathroom. We always encourage guests to contact the front desk with any issues, as we can generally make things right in an expeditious manner. We certainly hope you'll keep us in mind for your next trip to New York City. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Axel Fischer, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 1,212 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We wanted to stay at Chatwal for a while and finally had the opportunity and an occasion to do so.
Well it was everything and more we hoped for.. The hotel is beautifully decorated with old world charm , but the rooms are very modern with high tech bathrooms & very comfortable beds..
The staff couldn't have been nicer , from the moment we stepped in to the hotel till we left they were absolutely wonderful.. The restaurant in the hotel - famous Lamb club was wonderful , we had Sunday brunch there and it was delicious with a live band to entertain us - real class!!
Highly recommend it.. Can't wait to return...

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the floor with the terrace..rally cool..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Robokrugie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My wife and me we stayed at the Chatwal for 9 nights (28jul-6Aug). We arrived at the hotel at around 11am but since the check in time was 4pm and no room was available at the time we left our luggage at the hotel and the concierge offered to message us upon readying our room which was around 3pm.

Pros: The Room is really modern in design and the details are very well thought of. The entire room's controls i.e. lights, blinds, drapes, temperature etc. all can be accessed via the room telephone system. The Room has a nice mini bar and for backgammon fans they have the board game in the room. The in room safe is equipped with a nice jewellery box to use and they also provide a universal plug converter at $35 cost in the drawer.The bathroom is also really amazing with electronic WC in place and a glass TV in the back wall makes it look very modern. The towels and napkins are well folded in a big vanity suitcase under the sink which makes it look very luxurious.
The hotel is very located, as soon as you get out on your left you have times square and a 3-5 mins walk you are on 5th Ave.
The staff at the hotel was very helpful they offered us all the help we needed with directions, places to go and bus travel schedules. Every night they would provide weather forecast to plan the next day. Infact one of the days while leaving the hotel, doorman offered us a hotel umbrella suggesting it would rain (and it did!).
The hotel also provides a free wifi service which is brilliant.

Cons: The Rooms are very small. We had 5 suitcases with us and once they were all in the room, the room felt even smaller. The room we were given had a view of the backside of another building and the windows did not open (Felt like a brick wall in the face). One of the nights after a point for some reason our room felt really warm and claustrophobic even though the AC was running at full capacity, we asked the housekeeping to check but they said theres nothing that can be done about the cooling and we had to request a table fan in the room, which was a relief!

FYI: I noticed the property is run by some company called the Adams group.

Overall we had a pleasant stay and the location was simply amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sagar1885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

WOW!
We planned a 50th Birthday celebration for my sister. We chose The Chatwal...from the welcome at the reception desk (Titus and Howard!) to the concierge and house staff our stay was absolutely wonderful. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome . Manpreet helped make the surprise welcome for my sister exceptional. He had small welcome gifts for my sisters two children, The entire staff went out of their way to make our NYC weekend fabulous! We will be back...the terrace on the 7th floor rooms...exceptional!
The Chatwal staff...Job well done!

Room Tip: 7th floor terraces!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Marta Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for choosing The Chatwal to celebrate such a special occasion, and for taking the time to write a review. We are ecstatic that you experienced such welcoming and attentive service, and that your surprise was a huge success. We will certainly pass the compliments along to Titus, Howard, and the rest of our valued staff. Happy to hear that you'll be back. We are looking forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Axel Fischer, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Pros:
- right off of Times Square
- book a suite with an outdoor terrace (for a real feeling of an oasis in the concrete jungle)
- The Lamb's Club restaurant has great food and drinks

Cons:
- The hotel and the rooms feel very "dark"
- Gym was tiny, tiny, tiny
- Expensive
- The staff felt a little self-absorbed and snooty. Sort of like the hourly-wage workers at designer shops who look down their noses at their own customers and put on airs of "wanna-be aristocracy".

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BiggFoot2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent trip to The Chatwal. We aim to offer a memorable intimate environment full of unique architecture and interior design. Our highly stylized rooms are unlike any other, and while the dark and cozy atmosphere isn't for everyone, we're pleased that you loved your outdoor terrace; it truly is an oasis in the big city. We regret to hear that you had any unpleasant interactions with our staff, as we hope that every guest receives attentive and genuine service. We do hope you'll join us again for your next stay to enjoy our fabulous location and world-class dining.

Sincerely,

Axel Fischer, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I don't think I have ever written a review before, but Its 4:36 AM during my first night here and it's the 3rd or 4th time I've woken up. I've honestly never slept in such an UNCOMFORTABLE bed in my entire life. I might as well be sleeping on the floor or a giant concrete slab. How can a five star hotel get away with having such horrible mattresses? It's a shame, especially because I have to stay here two more nights.

Take your money and go stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnypo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel_Fischer, Hotel Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Sunnypo - we are very sorry to hear that you found our mattresses to be too firm for your liking. We attempted to contact you as you indicated you were still in the hotel, but were unable to do so based on the limited information provided on Tripadvisor. It also appears that we were never approached directly. We would have happily provided an additional feather bed topper. Generally our bedding receives rave reviews, from our Frette linens to our handmade Shifman mattresses, one of the most exclusive manufacturer of luxury bedding. But we realize that personal preferences sometimes get in the way of a restful sleep, regardless of our efforts. Please feel free to reach out to us directly - we will happily customize your bedding as needed. With best regards - AXEL FISCHER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

When my wife and I were invited to join a friend for his 40th birthday in New York I suggested my wife find a smaller hotel as we have stayed in many big properties that tend to exacerbate the impersonal rush and crush that is NYC. So she found The Chatwal on W44th Street from amongst the many Starwood offerings and booked us in. From the moment we arrived we were blown away by the Art Decor splendour, the warm reception, the attentive personnel from many differnt countries AND the fabulous room. The attention to authentic detail and furnishings of the room not only looked wonderful, but were functional as well. When our friends came in to join us for dinner, we showed them our room (showed it off!) and one of them described it as like being inside a Louis Vuitton trunk. The room was fabulously appointed with plenty of towels and every kind of amenity. The air worked great as did all the electronics, and the bed was comfy. It was also pretty quiet give the room fronted the street. (The electric self-opening curtains were out of action but that didn't matter).
The overtly groovy bathroom was a bit of an exercise in trying too hard at the trade-off of functionality and the vanity didn't work too well as the components lost their edge after use with water droplets, etc. and bench space at a premium And whomever spec'd the electric opening, self-heating toilet suite has gone ridiculously over the top just for the sake of it. But that really is just being picky in my part, just needed to be said as the funky reconstituted stone would have worked just as well with traditional cabinetry.
The first night we were in (pure luck) was jazz night in the mezzanine bar. We chose to have a few drinks there and stayed on to dine-in and the tucker was outstanding. We learned the chef of the adjoining Lamb's Club Restaurant was a part owner of the property. (See following restaurant review). I ordered Chef d'bouff which was cooked to perfection and sensational. The giant cut of meat could have fed four!. A terrific selection of wines by the glass is available, and we had much amusement from the antics of the poseur purportedly the sommelier poncing around and splashing wines into the same just emptied glass and then getting titchy when I requested a fresh glass.
Also, I asked the concierge where a restaurant in the neighbourhood we had been to a few years back was, and he had no idea. I also asked where there was a handy newsstand to purchase some plain wrapping paper. In both instances he was so totally addicted to Google to find an answer, which is not what you expect in a hotel of this calibre. Good local knowledge goes a long way. He couldn't find the restaurant at all, but that's okay. I did. It was a few doors just down the same street!
We enjoyed our few days in NYC which I reckon has softened off and gentrified a lot post-9/11.
The Chatwell was a lovely bolt hole to retreat to after our action filled days or shopping, being tourists, dining and rushing around. It's in an awesome location, just a block & a half from Times Square, walking distance to Penn station & pretty well everything else.
As reader of my reviews will see, I am a seasoned traveller and don't do budget. I look for comfort, experience and style and The Chatwell oozes these in spades. So, I have held off writing this review as I am torn about getting The Chatwal get too popular as I am already looking for a reason to head back to the USA to stay there.

Room Tip: Always go for junior suite as NYC older buildings/properties are space constrained
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LuxTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel_Fischer, Manager at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for joining us at The Chatwal on your recent trip to New York, and for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. As you noted, our incredible Art Deco architecture and interior design sets us apart from other hotels, and we're flattered that you wanted to show us off to your friends. We are pleased that you experienced attentive service from our wonderful staff, and offer our apologies that we could not help you find the restaurant you were looking for, although we're glad you eventually stumbled upon it! How wonderful to hear that your stay was so lovely, you're looking for another reason to visit the US. We hope you find one soon and join us again.

Sincerely,

Axel Fischer, Hotel Manager
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#56 of 473 in New York City
1,163 reviews
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#64 of 473 in New York City
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#16 of 473 in New York City
408 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker Hotel
The Knickerbocker Hotel
#69 of 473 in New York City
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#39 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £335 - £640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York is a luxury boutique hotel once home of The Lambs Club built in 1905 by prominent architect Stanford White, the designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 29 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy the hotel's restaurant Lambs Club featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing