We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't live up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental New York Times Square
Ranked #177 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Nice new hotel, but that's it. The rooms are tiny. The rainfall shower does not have enough flow. The minibar prices are exhorbitant. The wait staff in the ca Va Lounge are slow and inefficient. We went to New York for Christmas and to see a show. I picked this IC because it was closer to the Theatre. big mistake, we should have gone back to the Barclay, which we love. Oh well we know better for next time now. At least we can say that we tried the InterContinental times Square.

Room Tip: Go high. The Times Square side views are amazing. The West side views could be better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Nick H:

Thank you for being a loyal InterContinental guest and for providing feedback about your recent stay. We sincerely apologize that your visit did not live up to your expectations. We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future, so that we may not only meet, but exceed your expectations in the future.

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,895 - 2,901 of 5,480 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

Like any good hotel, this hotel offers comfort, clean and lovely deco. It's reasonable size for a city located hotel. Nice view of the concrete jungle. And like any other city hotel, it's cold and not that cosy feeling you will get. No breakfast was included.
My hubby alighted us at the lobby with the luggages which we packed for a month holiday. The porter saw us but allowed me and my 2 young kids to drag all the luggages to the front desk and there after getting our keys, with his hands held together, he watched us as we dragged all 5 luggages and 2 hand-carries into the lift.
The wall seems to be made out of card boards as you can hear conversation while you are doing your business in the bathroom. We stayed at the 19th level. Despite the soundproof window,s we could still hear the siren throughout the night. The beds are so uncomfortable and so are the pillows and the covers. The covers seems to be made of plastic sheets. It was so noisy when my kids toss and turn in the nights and it's definitely not breathable as you get too hot under the sheets. I have to turn the aircon to a comfortable level and kick the sheets off the beds to sleep well.
Overall, nice if you are staying alone on business trip but do bear with the noises especially you can hear people returning or checking-in in the middle of the night, dragging their baggages, talking and slamming their doors.
Look around before you decide to stay here at your own expense.
My hubby is a Platinum IHG member, FYI.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MdmCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Mdmcoco:

Thank you for your feedback. While we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location, we are terribly sorry that not all aspects of your stay lived up to the InterContinental standard. Service is our number one priority, and we sincerely apologize for the missteps that you encountered during check-in. We will be addressing your comments in our next quality meeting. We also apologize for any street noise disturbances. While we have measures to prevent this (double paned windows, etc), we are sorry to hear that you were unable to enjoy a good night's rest. We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future, so that we may provide a flawless experience for you.

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel between Christmas and New York. Very expensive but used some reward points to bring the average price down to a fairly reasonable rate for this time of year.
Hotel was very nice and all staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. Room had a great view of 44th street and it was fun to watch all of the NYC street activity (fire engines, taxis and many, many people). Location was great only a block from Times Square and two blocks from many nice restaurants on 46th street.

Room Tip: Priority room level helps get a higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickeyD777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear MickeyD777:

Thank you for your 5-star review! There is nothing quite like New York City during the holidays, and we are delighted that you chose the InterContinental New York Times Square for your stay. Thank you for sharing your story, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on 22nd December and had a great experience from the time I arrived. The staff were all very helpful and friendly (front desk, concierge, bellmen, bar staff, etc.) and were very quick to check me in to start my holiday.

As a Platinum IHG member, I was lucky enough to have a corner room on the 35th floor, which had amazing views across downtown Eighth Avenue and midtown 44th. The room was very clean and smelt fresh, with a huge king size comfortable bed. The bathroom was large and had a big walk-in rainfall shower, and hot water always available. The amenities were all very nice and replaced daily.

Although I didn't eat in the restaurant, the food and menus looked very good. The lounge and bar area were very nice to relax in and have a drink or snack if you wanted.

The internet was charged at $12.95 or $14.95 per day (higher cost = higher speed). It was ok and adequate for Skype, etc., but wasn't lightning fast considering the cost (Platinum members have free wifi).

The hotel is located one block from Times Square so it couldn't be easier to walk to. It's central enough to walk a lot of places if you desire (down to 34th, up to Central Park, or across to Grand Central), or the subway for 42nd is right next to the hotel.

I flew into Newark and got the Amtrak to 34th NY Penn Station for $12, and then the subway for 1 stop uptown to 42nd street, right outside the hotel. I normally get a $60+ taxi, but this was a very easy, alternative method.

I normally stay in an alternative hotel in New York and fancied a change. I'm glad I did change and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: A higher room means better views, I prefer the downtown views. Travelling from the airport via train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee_UK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Lee_147:

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental New York Times Square for your recent stay and for your 5-star review! We are so glad that our team made your stay a memorable one, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

If you are looking for an exceptionally rude staff and a management staff that "just doesn't care", then look no further than the InterContinental hotel in Times Square. You can expect that when you check in at 2 PM, you will be promised a call before 3 PM when your room is ready, and to leave your luggage with the bell hop, and wait in the lovely lounge while we prep your room. The hotel is not particularly busy, but no bell hops will be available so you should plan to drag your luggage into the lounge to wait. During your 45-minute wait in the lounge you can expect that neither of the servers in the lounge will ever take your order, despite the fact the lounge is virtually empty. Rather, the two servers are pre-occupied playing with each other. When 3 o-clock rolls around and that promised call still hasn't happened, you can go to the front desk and are "assured your room will be ready in 5 minutes - GUARANTEED!". 30 minutes later you can expect to ask to speak to the manager, who you discover is too busy to come and chat with you. When an underling does appear, you can expect to be lectured about disturbing his work. The promised amenities that were supposed to be waiting in the room (it is your honeymoon after all) are no where to be found. Looking for truly bad service - look no further that the InterContinental! Oh yes, and this is the level of service you can expect as an Ambassador member - heaven knows what it will be like for you in the lower tiers of their loyalty program...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank noworries2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for the lapse in service that you encountered. We will be reviewing the details of your stay and will be in touch with you soon in hopes of reaffirming your faith in our hotel.

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

great hotel off Times Square. Check in was fast and easy and everyone.
room was very good we had double room wit two queen bed to accommodation me, my husband and 2 kids, room size was good , beds are comfy , in suite was awesome and best of all the location was unbeatable right in heart of times square when all activities happened we don't have breakfast in hotel but it is surrounded by many places for very good and nice breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalia_Ghaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Dahlia_Ghaly:

Thank you for your great review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and service during your recent stay. Thank you for taking time to share your story, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

A warm welcome from friendly staff who were consistently helpful and attentive throughout our 4 night stay in November 2013. Deluxe room was spacious, well equipped, spotlessly clean and had the most amazing views from 2 large windows. Needed a late checkout which was no problem at all. Food was great too. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank decoflora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Decoflora:

Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We are delighted to hear that our team made your recent stay memorable and we appreciate your taking time to post about your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#102 of 470 in New York City
1,253 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#180 of 470 in New York City
2,771 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 470 in New York City
7,390 reviews
Midtown
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
Sheraton New York Times Square H...
#288 of 470 in New York City
8,471 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#111 of 470 in New York City
7,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Times Square

Address: 300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-5419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#88 Family Hotel in New York City
#132 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £151 - £576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental New York Times Square 5*
Number of rooms: 607
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering 36 stories above the city, the InterContinental Times Square features 607 luxurious guestrooms with floor-to-ceiling windows offering panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline and Hudson River. Drawing upon natural elements, the rooms are designed to evoke the feeling of a chic Manhattan residence, and average at 350 sq. ft. amongst the largest in midtown. Each room includes spacious work station, 42 in" HDTV and a spa-inspired bathroom with walk-in rain shower accentuated with blue mosaic tile. Situated just off the Times Square neighborhood, known as the "Crossroads of the World," the hotel brings the InterContinental touch to one of New York City's most popular areas. The hotel is close proximity to the Broadway Theatre District, Central Park, Fifth Avenue shopping, and many major transportation centers in Manhattan making it a convenient base to explore the city. Featured at the hotel is the Stinger Cocktail Bar and Kitchen, a lounge experience by Celebrated Chef Todd English. Guests are welcome to indulge in worldly comfort food alongside bespoke cocktails and an extensive offering of wine and beer. Offering signature cocktails three sized options and large batch punch-bowls the lounge at the Stinger brings the art of craft cocktails to Hell's Kitchen and the Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing