We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Policy!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental New York Times Square
Ranked #181 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I am writing this at review at home on 2/13/2014 the day NYC is getting hit with a another huge winter Nor'easter storm. Stayed in NYC for 4 nights for a school event for my son. We had planned on staying 6 nights until news of this storm approaching and that it would be for sure hitting NYC. We live in New York and had traveled by car and decided to get out of the city on 2/12/2014, the day before. I was travelling as a handicap with a wheelchair which compounded the problem. We had trouble getting around the city beforehand and would have been hotel bound during the storm.The hotel management would not waive a $150.00 fee for leaving earlier due to the storm. I regret writing this because it was a great place to stay and would have booked again in the future. We had to wait a lengthy time period to speak to Manager (Maria). Only after some back and forth about their policy, Maria agreed to compromise and charge $75.00. Still not happy. Money in the end was not really an issue, but was just bad taste on the hotels overall seal of approval by me. It is all about making the customer happy. RIGHT Indeed, they did get that snowstorm. I thought it was in very bad taste on their part. P.S Most staff were wonderful and helpful. Especially the doormen!!! Very polite and went out of their way to help me. Lounge, could use some improvement, as far as waitress staff (a little sluggish) and their lighter menu offered, while having a drink.

Room Tip: If requesting a room for disabled, make sure the bathroom has a roll in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmr47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear KMR47:

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental New York Times Square for your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, but we do apologize that we were unable to grant your request to waive the early cancellation fee. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we may truly provide an InterContinental experience.

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,744 - 2,750 of 5,366 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend on a family shopping/sightseeing trip. The hotel is of a very good quality. Rooms are quite small but well furnished and presented. The area however is not particularly family friendly. Quite a a number of "gentleman's clubs" Can be found very close by. Whilst this will be ideal for some it does not make the ideal family location.There is also quite a distance from the smart shops of fifth Avenue. However, it's very well situated for the theatres and Times Square. Food at the hotel is pricey as are other extras such as Wi-Fi at $15 per day so beware when you book and make sure you factor in a budget for lots of extra charges.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PKLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear PKLH:

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our guestrooms and ambiance. Our location is ideal for Times Square sightseeing and theater, however, we understand the area is not for everyone and we apologize if this hindered your enjoyment. We are happy to announce that we now offer complimentary wifi to all IHG Rewards members. IHG Rewards is free to join, and offers a variety of perks. We appreciate your taking time to post about your stay.

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We booked to go to New York for my boyfriend’s 30th birthday in December, as it was a big birthday we wanted to book a really nice hotel and after much research we decided on this one.

This hotel was beyond perfect! The hotel is in a perfect location, it is right near the theatres and just 5 minutes from Time Square. We were able to walk to everything from our hotel and the only time we needed taxis was when we were going to the Statue of Liberty and to the Yankees Stadium. The hotel is spotless and the staff are very friendly especially the doormen!

The hotel rooms were lovely, very large and always clean. The hotel also arranged for a cake to be brought to our room after we had arrived. Our room was a King bed superior room and we were based on the 5th floor. We would have preferred to have been higher as you may have had more of a view but we weren't in there long enough to worry, we did have the typical New York view of a ballet class in the building opposite.

New York itself is just amazing especially at Christmas time, this was our first visit and we were lucky enough to have 2 snow storms. The shopping was great and there were lots of discount days because of the holidays, in Macys we received an extra 10% off as we were foreigners.

We did all the usual tourist stuff, my favourite was the Statue of Liberty, the Rockefeller Centre at night, the tree and the Empire State Building. We bought our tickets online beforehand and got some good deals, I would definitely recommend the que jumping tickets as you get to just walk in and avoid the massive ques! I would definitely recommend going to the Statue of Liberty early as it gets busy, we were on the 10.30 tour and we had to wait for over an hour out in the cold just to get into the security check, you have to do this twice! We also bought the tickets online for Rockefeller and upgraded to get the photos included, be aware it is not a printed photo! They will email you 2 of the photos that they take but they are not cropped so you have to do this yourself when you print them at home, the upgrade does give you discount to buy the photos at £15 whilst you are there if you want any printed. We also went to a Rangers game (ice hockey) at Madison Square Gardens which was well worth the money and we also did a tour of the Yankees stadium which was good.

We found quite a few nice places to have breakfast, there was a little café round the corner from the hotel called Westside dinner, it was so cheap and really good. We had lots of good evening meals but my favourite was Carmines just up from the hotel which was based on a mobsters Italian restaurant.

When we went it was very cold (-11!) so you definitely needed layers and we were not prepared for how cold it actually was!

Overall I couldn’t recommend this holiday and hotel enough. When we go back to New York we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: King Bed Superior Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear leazo:

Thank you for your 5-star review! There is nothing quite like the holiday season in New York City! We are delighted to hear that our team made your stay memorable, and hope to welcome you back this year!

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here this past weekend for my birthday - great hotel with just the perfect amenities and the perfect location. Block and a half away from Time Square, close to the Theater District, this hotel met all of our expectations. We are Ambassador members so we got a complimentary upgrade to one of the Kings on the higher levels (level 32) and the views were absolutely breathtaking from there. They did their whole fruit and water upon arrival (for ambassador club members), an amenity for my birthday and cute little turndown chocolates as usual. We had free Wifi during our stay and the room was just perfect for the short time.
The beds were very comfy - the windows open up a bit in the room so you can get some fresh air. The staff at check-in was friendly - the lobby is gorgeous! The view when checking-in is super serene. Overall, great hotel, great service, great staff and great everything - clean, chic, up-to-date, modern and beautiful.

Room Tip: Even though I loved my stay (we were rarely in the room), the only downside about the room was that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nida H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Nida:

Thank you for being a loyal InterContinental Ambassador, and for your 5-star review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our city views, Tumbador turndown chocolates (made in Brooklyn), and our friendly service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The rooms aren't overly large, however big enough for those who aren't looking spending a lot of time in their rooms, or are on business (staying solo). Try and sweet talk your way into getting a high floor so you overlook more of the city and don't have any buildings obstructing your view. I did make my way to the gym in the morning for a quick workout. There is minimal equipment, however all the usual machines you would find in a hotel gym. The view itself was nothing special, a lane way view which looks into another building.

For my full review, please visit my blog
http://www.stuckintransit.com.au/intercontinental-times-square
Happy Reading!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear BLC1:

Thank you for posting about your recent stay! Our Skyview rooms are located on our highest floors and feature stunning city views. With our prime location, they do book quickly. Thank you for being a loyal IHG Rewards member, and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your welcome amenity. We do apologize that your experience with some of our team members was not up to the InterContinental standard. We will be addressing your comments in our next Quality meeting, and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Loved staying here, soooo conveniently located to everything. Subway station right next door, walking distance to Times Square, all of Broadway and many, many restaurants and bars close by. The staff at the hotel were all, every single one of them, friendly, helpful and courteous. Room was immaculately clean and we had a beautiful view from our corner room. We could see the Hudson River from one window. Bed was comfortable, slept well. Everything in the room was in working condition. At first we couldn't get the t.v. to turn on. Turns out it wasn't plugged in but when we called the front desk, they had a maintenance guy up in our room in less than 2 minutes. The lounge on the first floor was fun, great drinks and munchies. Absolutely plan on staying here again. Worth every penny we paid.

Room Tip: The corner/skyview rooms on the top floors have great views and are extremely quiet...just a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jkjkmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Jkjkmo:

Thank you for your great review! We are so glad that you enjoyed our central location, plush guestrooms, and inviting lounge. We appreciate your taking time to post about your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights the week before Christmas. It's a perfect location, central to everything. We upgraded which gave us a better room right on the top floor and the view was spectacular. Great room, beds so comfy and the bathroom with the huge walk-in shower was excellent. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessies48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Jessies48:

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental New York Times Square for your recent stay, and for posting about your experience! We are delighted to hear that our team made your visit a memorable one, and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#108 of 469 in New York City
1,140 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#172 of 469 in New York City
2,657 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#114 of 469 in New York City
6,914 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#199 of 469 in New York City
9,757 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#185 of 469 in New York City
8,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Times Square

Address: 300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-5419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#88 Family Hotel in New York City
#134 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £174 - £537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental New York Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 607
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering 36 stories above the city, the InterContinental Times Square features 607 luxurious guestrooms with floor-to-ceiling windows offering panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline and Hudson River. Drawing upon natural elements, the rooms are designed to evoke the feeling of a chic Manhattan residence, and average at 350 sq. ft. amongst the largest in midtown. Each room includes spacious work station, 42 in" HDTV and a spa-inspired bathroom with walk-in rain shower accentuated with blue mosaic tile. Situated just off the Times Square neighborhood, known as the "Crossroads of the World," the hotel brings the InterContinental touch to one of New York City's most popular areas. The hotel is close proximity to the Broadway Theatre District, Central Park, Fifth Avenue shopping, and many major transportation centers in Manhattan making it a convenient base to explore the city. Featured at the hotel is the Stinger Cocktail Bar and Kitchen, a lounge experience by Celebrated Chef Todd English. Guests are welcome to indulge in worldly comfort food alongside bespoke cocktails and an extensive offering of wine and beer. Offering signature cocktails three sized options and large batch punch-bowls the lounge at the Stinger brings the art of craft cocktails to Hell's Kitchen and the Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing