We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel & Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental New York Times Square
Ranked #170 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Great hotel & Great service”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We decided to choose the intercontinental times square for a family of three during our canadian easter vacation. We where more then pleased with the professionalism of the staff as soon as we arrived. the hotel is well located close to all the action and we appreciated that.
the room was a good size and the beds were very very confortable. A SPECIAL thanks to CHRISTOL K who helped us with planning our four day stay and gredded us with a permanent smile and proffesionalism. another nice thaughts was when we received the strawberry dip in chocolate, my daughter love it !
Ben

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Ben:

Thank you for your 5-star review! Christol is a superstar, and we are delighted to hear that she made your stay memorable! We'll be sure to share your words with Christol and the rest of our team. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,676
    1,687
    521
    172
    118
See reviews for
1,585
1,678
237
846
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney , Australia
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 7 nights on holiday from Australia and were very happy with our choice. Stayed in a double double room as there were 3 of us, room size was fine and comfortable, bathroom size was excellent for a New York hotel. Given its location one block from the madness of Times Square it is a busy hotel in a busy area and if you are a tourist then this is an excellent location. If you are on holiday and don't intend to spend a lot of time in the Times Square area then this location may not be for you. Staff were very helpful over the course of the week and housekeeping did a super job on keeping the room tip top. No complaints at all, a comment I would make although is that just offering a buffet and a buffet price for breakfast and not allowing a menu choice is really not right. A light buffet (basically without hot food) price of $19 if you only want tea and toast or cereal means you actually don't have the option of eating in the hotel and have to leave which doesn't sit well with the Intercontinental brand in my mind. And the $19 option is the cheaper of the 2 buffet price options. Small point, and again a very enjoyable week in a fine hotel.

Room Tip: Join the loyalty club and consider upgrading to an Ambassador , room upgrade and late check out plus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Michael:

Thank you for your great review! We appreciate your taking time to post about your stay, and we are delighted to hear that our team made your visit a memorable one. We do apologize that you did not care for our buffet-style breakfast. We appreciate your comments, and will keep this in mind for the future. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Overall, a great option in Times-Square. Rooms are nicely decorated, modern and large for NYC. I loved the bathroom and the rain shower. Very nice touch!
The bar is a nice atmosphere; the bartenders are friendly and very helpful.
Unfortunately, I encountered one major issue during my stay. Our room wasn’t ready until about 6pm! We arrived very early and stored our bags. However, when we returned at check in time, the room was not available. Although they gave us a few drink tickets for our inconvenience, I would have rather had time to freshen up before the show. I wished that their customer service would have been better to correct this deficiency.
However, I would stay again. Hopefully, they were understaffed for the Holiday weekend and will correct the issue.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Kim:

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental New York for your recent stay! We are so glad that you enjoyed our guestrooms, ambiance, and friendly service. We do apologize that your room was not ready on time, and we will be reviewing your comments in our next quality meeting so that we can continue to improve our service. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarasota, florida
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We came to NYC to go to Birdland, right across the street from the hotel. It is far enough from Times Square to be out of the hubub, and close enough to walk to lots of places.
It was our anniversary, and we got a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries, as well as an upgrade to a skyview(?) room--we were on the 30th floor, and could peek at Birdland any time we wanted to. LOL.
They have a Keurig coffee maker in the room, which we like. The bathroom was very nice, the bed was comfortable, the shower was good, it was clean, we were treated very well, no waiting for anything.
Thank you Intercontinental for making our stay so nice!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Lemstar:

Thank you for your 5-star review! Birdland is a New York landmark, and we are very lucky to be their neighbor! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the views, comfort, and service that we provide. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It was our 1st stay at this hotel and chose it after a lot of research as its was our 20th wedding anniversary. Can say with confidence that it was slick & very professional from the minute we arrived to leaving, location was great as its 5 mins max on foot to Time Square but not too close to be loud at night, we heard nothing at night. We were on 21st floor in a corner room so had views over the Hudson and the city which was great. The room was very very clean, good quality, bathroom was lovely, no water pressure/temperature issues or loud AC as I saw when doing my research. We didn't eat in the hotel as although the menu was excellent and restaurant looked good we wanted to eat in different places which to be fair isn't difficult in NY!!.

Useful Tips for future travellers

Taxi fairs from JFK to NY are set at $52 plus bridge toll which came to $58 in total which is great so no haggling! the guy on the hotel door when we left offered a $100 option which to be honest I suspect was just his mate so stick to yellow cabs !!
Great way to get around is get bikes from Bike & Roll at Pier 84 which is a short walk, we hired 2 bikes for the day for $75 total and used the designated cycle lane which let us go pretty much all the way around the west and south of the island so we saw everything we wanted to and we cycled over the brooklyn bridge and back, so we saw all the sites down both sides of the city, at our leisure on safe bike lanes which was great. We are both late 40's and it was a doddle and you should have seen the faces of people trudging across the bridge on foot!!, the cycle lanes were empty so its was perfect!
We went to the USS Intrepid museum, make sure you book online as you can go straight to the front of queue, which is always very long so its a no brainer, we actually booked online while in the line using free NY wifi and went straight to front :)
We got theatre tickets for top broadway show at the door for that night! which was great as prices online were mental and showed limited availability so try that if you are interested.

have a great time !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T4Tommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear T4Tommo:

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental New York Times Square for your anniversary and for your 5-star review! Our dedicated team members are the heart of our hotel, and we are thrilled to hear that we made your special occasion one to remember! We appreciate your kind words, and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I am extremely particular and I really enjoyed staying in this hotel. I loved the bathroom as it was a great size, definately get the one with walk in shower rather than bath as far nicer! Also appreciated how clean the bathroom was as my pet hate is bad, discoloured grouting and this was all very fresh and clean.
The room itself was adequate, all New York hotel rooms are quite small unless you go for a suite. The only thing we found was that the wardrobe was tiny and we struggled to hang all our clothes. Also we felt that the room needed a mirror as if someone was in the bathroom, the other person couldn't dry hair or put makeup on in the room because of this. There was a great full length mirror in the bathroom however.
The decor was lovely, modern and fresh. The beds were fantastic and it was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in!! And you really appreciate that in New York after a long day.
It is also one of the few hotels where I haven't been woken up really early in the morning with noise, or other guests making a noise, so don't know if we were just lucky in our corridor, or if the sound proofing is particulary good.
We didn't have hot water on our last day and at check out the receptionist kindly took care of our mini bar bill, albeit there was only a couple of drinks on it, but I appreciate things like that and that I didn't have to ask for this. My friend, however, had a very abrupt female receptionist, unlike the lovely male who checked us out. She, on the otherhand, was very cheeky when asked about paying the mini bar due to the lack of hot water, although did end up paying some of it. This was a shame as all the other receptionists we dealt with were friendly and lovely.
The bar, if you drink in it is very expensive. The doormen outside are all really great and helpful and got us an SUV for travelling back to the airport.
All in all, we really liked this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Fiona29:

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental New York Times Square for your recent stay! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our plush bedding, modern decor, and rainforest showers. We sincerely apologize that your friend's checkout experience was not as pleasant as yours. We thank you for bringing this to our attention, so that we may continue to improve our services. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just returned from a four day trip to New York staying at The Intercontinental on 44th Street. We were lucky enough to be 'upgraded' to a corner room on the 24th floor. Great views and not too noisy at night.

Hotel room magnificent. Extremely comfortable and bathroom was amazing.

Was slightly worried coming back to New York as we came for my 50th a couple of years ago with our two children and thought it might not be as magical. It was, in many different ways.

New York is an amazing experience and staying at The Intercontinental made the trip even more special. Staff courteous and could not do enough you. Danny, Concierge, helpful and friendly

I would recommend a stay there and will certainly be coming back on my next visit to New York.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a high, corner room. I'm guessing all rooms will be an amazing standard thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Gill W:

Thank you for your rave review! We are so pleased that we made your second stay as enjoyable as the first! We really appreciate your taking time to post about your stay, and we eagerly await your next stay with us!

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#107 of 467 in New York City
932 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#177 of 467 in New York City
2,314 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#263 of 467 in New York City
4,213 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
9,479 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
6,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Times Square

Property: InterContinental New York Times Square
Address: 300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-5419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
#89 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#89 Family Hotel in New York City
#127 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental New York Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 607
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering 36 stories above the city, the InterContinental Times Square features 607 luxurious guestrooms with floor-to-ceiling windows offering panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline and Hudson River. Drawing upon natural elements, the rooms are designed to evoke the feeling of a chic Manhattan residence, and average at 350 sq. ft. amongst the largest in midtown. Each room includes spacious work station, 42 in" HDTV and a spa-inspired bathroom with walk-in rain shower accentuated with blue mosaic tile. Situated just off the Times Square neighborhood, known as the "Crossroads of the World," the hotel brings the InterContinental touch to one of New York City's most popular areas. The hotel is close proximity to the Broadway Theatre District, Central Park, Fifth Avenue shopping, and many major transportation centers in Manhattan making it a convenient base to explore the city. Featured at the hotel is the Stinger Cocktail Bar and Kitchen, a lounge experience by Celebrated Chef Todd English. Guests are welcome to indulge in worldly comfort food alongside bespoke cocktails and an extensive offering of wine and beer. Offering signature cocktails three sized options and large batch punch-bowls the lounge at the Stinger brings the art of craft cocktails to Hell's Kitchen and the Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing