We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental New York Times Square
Ranked #175 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good hotel, Great Location”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The InterContinental on the intersection of the 44th Street and 8th Avenue, has a great location, offering walking access to Times Square. With multiple eating as well as shopping places nearby, the location is absolutely perfect. Wrt the hotel, the service though good, is definitely not world class. We had a room with two double beds and i really wished it were larger. The amenities were good. All in all a nice stay, but i would certainly explore other options in Times Square, on our next visit to New York.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetsGetAway123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Traveler123India:

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental New York Times Square for your recent stay! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and amenities. We do have some additional options for room types if you find that the double room is small for your needs, such as our Studio Suites, which average about 200 square feet larger than our King or double rooms. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,618
    1,666
    515
    165
    113
See reviews for
1,550
1,662
232
826
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,252)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at the Manhatten Suite on the 34th floor of this hotel for 3 nights in June 2014.

It is indicated on the hotel's website that there are premium services (eg. "Free Morning Newspaper Delivered to Room" and "Separate Check-In Area") available in some rooms. Well, I guess the Manhatten Suite does not qualify! We checked in at the regular counter and were not even offered a city map, unlike another guest who had been checking-in next to us. Throughout our stay, we did not see signs of any newspapers delivered to our suite.

The decor of the suite has a tendency to look rather tired after a while although the views from it are breathtaking. Wi-fi is chargeable (in this day and age, and for the price we paid!). Plus, there are two doormen, one of whom is utterly useless. We had to remind him that we wanted a taxi and he'd ask us where we were going and he'd NOT bother getting us one. In fact, I was so frustrated with him that I marched to the concierge to get subway directions to Battery Park. In the end, we discovered that if we really wanted a taxi, we'd have to ask the other doorman (Norberto?) for help. The staff at the hotel seemed to be more interested in chatting amongst themselves than attending to guests. Only on the day President Obama was at the hotel did service seem to pick up slightly.

I'd go so far as to say that the only redeeming features of this hotel are:

1) location;

2) the doorman, Norberto(?);

3) the view from our suite; and

4) the spacious bathrooms.

This cannot be considered a "luxury" hotel by a long shot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeHYw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear LeeHYw3:

Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your recent stay. We would like to sincerely apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. While we are pleased that Bert,our doorman, made a favorable impression, we clearly have some work to do, as all of your interactions with our team should be just as positive. We welcome you to reach out to us directly the next time that your travels bring you to New York City, so that we can ensure your stay is flawless.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

My family went here for the summer and this has been the best one so far with great rooms great views great location and great staff. The rooms in the corners do have views into other rooms so if your doing anything that others shouldn't see close the curtains. Otherwise its worth the price!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear David:

Thank you for your 5-star review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location, views, and friendly service. We appreciate your recommendation, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The location is obviously the best thing going for this hotel. It's close to everything and there's a subway station right underneath. It was very convenient to take the A train directly to the Museum of Natural History. I did see some things I sure the hotel can improve on, especially at this price range. First, the key card access. You need to insert a key card to select the floor you want in the elevator. Simple enough except that I tried many many times during my stay to get my cards to work and it was really crapshoot whether it would take it. I even went back to the front desk to redo them and it made no difference. I know it's not me either because I helped several other people try to get theirs to work as well. Very annoying especially since the elevator will take off with you on it whether you got the card to work or not. The front desk clerk told me (rather patronizingly) that I have to pull the card out slow. Wrong! I got to work more times doing it fast. The front desk clerk I talked to several times was always rather annoyed with my questions. The room itself was okay, nothing special. It did not have a tub but it did have a rather fantastic shower. There was the usual luxury hotel penny pinching like $15 WiFi and a ridiculous $5 coke in the minibar. I hold this hotel to a higher standard considering the price and I think there is room for improvement.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathanf1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear NathanF1975:

Thank you for your valuable feedback. While we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location, we sincerely apologize for the lapses in service that you encountered. Your comments will be forwarded to our department managers, so that we can target areas for improvement. We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we may not only, meet-but exceed- your expectations.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

4th time back to this great hotel, great location and super friendly staff.
Staff were fantastic, facilities excellent and room was superb. located for Times Square
Stayed here for six nights .
Everything about this hotel was amazing!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picike03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Picike03:

Thank you for making the InterContinental New York Times Square your home away from home here in Manhattan! We are delighted that our team made your recent stay a memorable one, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
192 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I arrived early for Sat., June 21st for a free night stay and whilst informed when I made reservation that early check could not be guaranteed; a deluxe room was ready for me at just past noon. No waiting in line and I zipped right up to the 18th floor. My only request was a quiet area not near an elevator. As quiet as possible in NYC, my room faced backside overlooking part of 8th Avenue and local residencies. Room and lovely bath area was impeccable. Location in the theatre district was convenient for my roaming about the city. Was recognized as a Platinum Elite member.

Room Tip: Upper floors away from elevators are best for a quiet and restful night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Carole C.:

Thank you for being a loyal IHG Rewards Member! We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We appreciate your taking time to post about your stay, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
235 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The location was great for all shows. My favorite part was the Shake Shack that was right there on the corner. We had a corner room on the 22nd floor which provided amazing views. We could still barely hear traffic, but we totally expected that in NYC. Everything was clean looking and the bed was comfy. I did not see any disposable cups, which I prefer to real glasswear and mugs after watching undercover hotel videos of them " being cleaned." They did have a Keurig which was great. Everyone we talked with seemed friendly. The only negative was their breakfasts. We had vouchers for their mini buffet breakfast which only included cold items, and was not very impressive for a $24 price tag. We may have been more impressed with the hot items, but did not want to take a chance for $14 more per person. Overall, it was a great experience, and I hope to stay here again when we come back with our kids.

Room Tip: We loved our corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyw2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Amyw2012:

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental New York Times Square for your recent stay! We are so glad to hear that you family had a memorable stay with us. We apologize that the breakfast was not to your liking. We will keep your comments in mind as we are always revisiting our menus and updating to suit our guests' requests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,543 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,289 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#261 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Times Square

Property: InterContinental New York Times Square
Address: 300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-5419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
#89 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#129 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental New York Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 607
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering 36 stories above the city, the InterContinental Times Square features 607 luxurious guestrooms with floor-to-ceiling windows offering panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline and Hudson River. Drawing upon natural elements, the rooms are designed to evoke the feeling of a chic Manhattan residence, and average at 350 sq. ft. amongst the largest in midtown. Each room includes spacious work station, 42 in" HDTV and a spa-inspired bathroom with walk-in rain shower accentuated with blue mosaic tile. Situated just off the Times Square neighborhood, known as the "Crossroads of the World," the hotel brings the InterContinental touch to one of New York City's most popular areas. The hotel is close proximity to the Broadway Theatre District, Central Park, Fifth Avenue shopping, and many major transportation centers in Manhattan making it a convenient base to explore the city. Featured at the hotel is the Stinger Cocktail Bar and Kitchen, a lounge experience by Celebrated Chef Todd English. Guests are welcome to indulge in worldly comfort food alongside bespoke cocktails and an extensive offering of wine and beer. Offering signature cocktails three sized options and large batch punch-bowls the lounge at the Stinger brings the art of craft cocktails to Hell's Kitchen and the Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your InterContinental New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing