We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent NY Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental New York Times Square
Ranked #176 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent NY Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The pros are that this hotel is very nicely furnished, has comfortable beds, modern walk-in showers with rain heads, very spacious rooms by NY standards, very quiet hallways and rooms, free wifi (for Plat Ambassador) and pretty good service from the bell hops to the check-in staff. We got an upgrade to the 28th floor, which had a great view uptown and over the Hudson.

The cons are that there seem to be issues with the room keys. We stayed 3 nights and I think we ended up with 4 sets of keys at least and had to call security up to the room twice to open the room for us. Not ideal IMO. The restaurant downstairs is also way overpriced for breakfast, so go to Trattoria Daniella across the way on 8th Ave for an outstanding and much better breakfast. Last but not least, the location will not be for everyone...because this is right by Times Square, getting to and fro this hotel via car can be a bear.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Steffen P:

Thank you for posting about your recent stay! We are so glad you enjoyed our friendly service and modern decor. We apologize for the issues with the room keys, and we be taking steps to ensure this does not happen in the future. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New York City.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,581
    1,648
    512
    165
    109
See reviews for
1,537
1,640
231
809
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,240)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Location is great but nothing special! It was suprised to me that there is no bath tub in the room. The size of the room is as small as expected. I stayed @ 6th floor and can hear the noise from subway from 5 am untl midnight.

Room Tip: You can get some cheaper and botique hotels in Time Square area. Spending some time on hotel searchi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 櫻桃媽
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your candid feedback. We apologize that your recent stay did not live up to your expectations. We welcome you to reach out to us anytime that we may be of service.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
executiveoffice@icnyts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights via Hotwire. The rate was fantastic ($210) for the hotel, especially since it was 2 blocks from Time Square, in the heart of the Theater District.

Hotwire booked us in a handicap room and there were no other rooms when we arrived so we couldn't get a different room. However, the hotel moved us the next morning - and upgraded is for our "troubles". This was amazing since many hotels treat us less of we buy the room at a discount. The service was amazing.

One suggestion - use the parking lot across the street - it's only $25/night.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim_Viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Tim_Viking:

Thank you for your 5-star review! We believe our dedicated staff are our greatest asset, and we are delighted that you agree. We'll be sure to share your kind words with our team. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 3 night with my mum for my 21st birthday recently. The hotel is in a great location if you're looking to be close to Times Square and is about a 15/20 minute walk from 5th avenue for shopping!
The rooms are spotlessly clean, and the facilities in the room are just what you need during your stay, a coffee machine etc. But most of all, the beds are the comfiest beds I've ever encountered in a hotel!
We had a room on the 4th floor and the view was quite nice, just enough for me because I am quite scared of heights.
We never ate an evening meal in the hotel however we had breakfast every morning, and everything was so delicious and well cooked.
The main thing about this hotel that I loved was how friendly, polite and helpful all the staff were. Nothing is too much trouble to them and they really care about making your stay amazing! And my stay was brilliant. I'm so sad to be home, but I know when I go back to New York this is the place I will stay time and time again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JadeBennett93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear JadeBennett93:

Happy belated birthday! We are thrilled to hear that our team made your special day a memorable one! We really appreciate your taking time to post about your experience, and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here on numerous occasions dating back to when it first opened. There was a slight delay in readying our room when we arrived today. David, who was working the Ambassador desk, immediately gave us free drinks for my wife and I at the bar while we waited. Then when we arrived in our room after 20 minutes, we received a bottle of sparkling wine and chocolate covered strawberries. On top of that, our room is on the top (36th) floor, quiet, with a gorgeous view of the city. The only check-in experience at an Intercontinental that rivaled this one was when we checked into the Amsterdam Intercontinental a few months ago and were treated like royalty.
In general, this is a quiet, classy hotel with a fantastic midtown location. All of your requests are met expeditiously. The bellman are extremely friendly and helpful. Only suggestion would be a bit more ambitious and creative room service selection and it would be wonderful if they had a concierge floor.
This is my go-to hotel in NYC and people like David Posadas help make it so.

Room Tip: Corner rooms afford even more fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Scott:

Thank you for your 5-star review! David is a gem, and we are thrilled to hear that he made your recent stay a memorable one. We appreciate your taking time to post about your experience, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

If you are a tourist, or even on business in Midtown Manhattan, the location is fantastic. A block from Times Square, with the Subway entrance right next door.

Quality wise, it is very good, if not quite up to the standard of some other Intercontinental hotels around the world. Room size is not bad for NYC, quality of rooms, bathrooms and amenities is good. Yes, there is some traffic noise, but only to be expected in this area, and I've stayed in much more noisy hotels in the same area.

A downside is that as it has become very popular, it's also getting expensive. I don't blame the hotel, if they can sell the rooms at that price then good luck to them, but I don't stay there as frequently as before as it is hard to justify the cost when the rates go up.

Service is generally very good when you ask for something, though I do have to ask them to send amenities to the room on the first day of my stay, most times.

Breakfast is very good, not a huge range in the buffet, but high quality. Of course, like all NYC hotels I t is on the expensive side compared to nearby independent places, but worth it when you are hungry and want a relaxed experience. Bar is quite nice, and Fitness Center is fairly well equipped.

This is one of my favourite hotels in NYC, when the price is justifiable to me.

Room Tip: Low floor corner rooms are bigger than on high floors, though closer to traffic noise. Wifi is fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssDubya17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear EssDubya17:

Thank you for your great review! We are delighted to have you as a loyal guest. We appreciate your comments, both positive and constructive. We will be adding some new items to our breakfast buffet soon, and we hope you enjoy them! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just had 4 nights in the hotel. We had a corner room on 16th floor with a great view looking straight down 8th Avenue. It was a lovely room with an extremely comfortable bed but there was quite a bit of traffic noise coming from the main street - especially when sirens were sounding in the middle of the night. The hotel is only a block from Times Square and in a great location. The public areas of the hotel are very modern but a little soulless. The staff were all friendly and helpful but if I was to visit again I would ask for a room at the back or on a much higher floor to reduce the traffic noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a very high floor or a room at the back away from 8th Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyW1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear TonyW1961:

Thank you for posting about your recent stay! We are so glad you enjoyed our central location, friendly staff, and plush bedding. We are sorry to hear that the street noise was bothersome. Our Skyview rooms on our higher levels may be more to your liking on your next stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#186 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,465 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,181 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#259 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Times Square

Property: InterContinental New York Times Square
Address: 300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-5419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
#89 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#130 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental New York Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 607
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering 36 stories above the city, the InterContinental Times Square features 607 luxurious guestrooms with floor-to-ceiling windows offering panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline and Hudson River. Drawing upon natural elements, the rooms are designed to evoke the feeling of a chic Manhattan residence, and average at 350 sq. ft. amongst the largest in midtown. Each room includes spacious work station, 42 in" HDTV and a spa-inspired bathroom with walk-in rain shower accentuated with blue mosaic tile. Situated just off the Times Square neighborhood, known as the "Crossroads of the World," the hotel brings the InterContinental touch to one of New York City's most popular areas. The hotel is close proximity to the Broadway Theatre District, Central Park, Fifth Avenue shopping, and many major transportation centers in Manhattan making it a convenient base to explore the city. Featured at the hotel is the Stinger Cocktail Bar and Kitchen, a lounge experience by Celebrated Chef Todd English. Guests are welcome to indulge in worldly comfort food alongside bespoke cocktails and an extensive offering of wine and beer. Offering signature cocktails three sized options and large batch punch-bowls the lounge at the Stinger brings the art of craft cocktails to Hell's Kitchen and the Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing