We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not worth the $”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental New York Times Square
Ranked #170 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel was clean and safe. The fridge was unusable due to minibar items, which caused us to waste a lot of food. Wifi was not included but was given if you were a member of the chain's rewards program. This hotel was nice, but not worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MCormier163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear MCormier163:

Thank you for taking time to post about your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our safety, security, and cleanliness, but we are sorry to hear that you did not feel that our rate was a good value. We do our utmost to offer pricing comparable with other hotels of our calibur in New York City, and we urge you to check our website often for the best deals. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,685 - 2,691 of 5,587 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our Honeymoon & were very pleased. It is located in a in a great spot near times square but far enough away to be quiet. I'd say it was about a 5 minute stroll to the heart of times square. The hotel is also right next door to the Broadway shows & some other tourist attractions like the bodies & Lego exhibits. The hotel was very central to everywhere we wanted to visit. There is also a Shake Shack on the corner which got a work out!! =) The hotel itself was very modern & clean. Reasonably large room compared to normal NYC standards. Staff were all very good & helpful. Very happy we chose this hotel over soooo many other options. 5 star on all counts! Cheers...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex_Hawkins_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Alex_Hawkins_82:

Congratulations on your recent nuptials! We are delighted that you chose the InterContinental New York Times Square for your honeymoon. Thank you for your kind words- we will be sure to share these with our team. We hope to welcome you back for your first anniversary!

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Lovely oasis in the midst of the craziness of Times Square. Great room and bathroom with expected updates. Very comfortable beds and bedding. Helpful staff and convenient location. Only downside was lack of free wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Julie:

Thank you for your 5-star review! We greatly appreciate your recommendation, and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

The rooms were nice (we had a deluxe room on the 25 th with a great view). However the staff were overwhelmed by the sheer volume of guest checking in. When we checked in there were about 20 people mainly families with young kids seated on the floor on the side of the lobby waiting for their rooms to be allocated. The location is central but as can be expected at a Times Square address, is slightly tacky with cheap souvenir shops and guys selling city tour bus tickets nearby. The attached brasserie seemed nice but again was totally packed all the while we were there.
It's ok if you are there for a day or so and need a convenient location.. Else I would strongly recommend a hotel next to Central Park like the Essex House or the Ritz Carlton which are a short walk away.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank doitwhileyoucan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for posting about your recent stay! Our central location near Times Square is certainly bustling during the summer months, and we can understand this might not be for everyone. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our plush guestrooms and city views. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Overall a very satisfactory stay but only a three for me. The location is by far the best aspect, just off Times Square with many attractions within walking distance. The lounge is nice enough and the gym is well equipped.
Slight negatives are room size (we were in a superior room on top floor but it was a little cosy for two adults and two children - yes I know it is Times Square so space is at a premium), no swimming pool, and as usual the cost of breakfast ($40 each for a fairly basic buffet). So this gets a three from me rather than a four.

Room Tip: Higher floors get you away from the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Mark D:

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental New York Times Square for your family's recent stay! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our onsite lounge and fitness center, as well as the vibrance of our neighborhood. We apologize that our breakfast was not to your liking. We always seek to improve our offerings, and we do hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to New York City.

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for 2 days early in the year and the hotel and staff were fantastic, cant say enough good things about the hotel.
We were looking to stay Christmas week this year but prices now seem a bit high and No advance purchase price yet.
If the price is lower we will be back for Christmas, other than that a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kevindavies657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Mr. Davies:

Thank you for your 5*-star review! We are so glad that our team made your stay a memorable one. We hope to welcome you back later this year!

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed there 1 night for a night game at Yankee Stadium down from Boston. This hotel is a block away from TImes Square, 10 minute walk to Penn Station, 3 minute walk to Port Authority, and very safe. Floors 10 and higher require a key card on the elevator to go up. The rooms are very big for NYC standards. Beds super plush with plenty of throw pillows, there was a robe, lint brushes, canvas laundry bag w drawstring,rain head shower with big glass doors and tile wall and ceiling. A/C worked nice, but the window also opened up too for all the sounds of midtown.Would definately stay again

Room Tip: Try to get a deluxe floor that is 10 or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Matthew M:

Thank you for your rave review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our central location, plush bedding, and amenities. We appreciate your recommendation, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#104 of 471 in New York City
1,334 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#185 of 471 in New York City
2,874 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#114 of 471 in New York City
7,129 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 471 in New York City
7,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Times Square

Address: 300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-5419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £141 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental New York Times Square 5*
Number of rooms: 607
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering 36 stories above the city, the InterContinental Times Square features 607 luxurious guestrooms with floor-to-ceiling windows offering panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline and Hudson River. Drawing upon natural elements, the rooms are designed to evoke the feeling of a chic Manhattan residence, and average at 350 sq. ft. amongst the largest in midtown. Each room includes spacious work station, 42 in" HDTV and a spa-inspired bathroom with walk-in rain shower accentuated with blue mosaic tile. Situated just off the Times Square neighborhood, known as the "Crossroads of the World," the hotel brings the InterContinental touch to one of New York City's most popular areas. The hotel is close proximity to the Broadway Theatre District, Central Park, Fifth Avenue shopping, and many major transportation centers in Manhattan making it a convenient base to explore the city. Featured at the hotel is the Stinger Cocktail Bar and Kitchen, a lounge experience by Celebrated Chef Todd English. Guests are welcome to indulge in worldly comfort food alongside bespoke cocktails and an extensive offering of wine and beer. Offering signature cocktails three sized options and large batch punch-bowls the lounge at the Stinger brings the art of craft cocktails to Hell's Kitchen and the Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing