We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental New York Times Square
Ranked #182 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel is right next to Times Square and the Subway station is just around the corner, that's the location you want to go for while staying in NYC!

A lot of cafes and restaurants can be found in the area, although it's mostly touristy places. Anyway, almost every theatre can be reached by foot in less than 10 minutes.

The staff was extremely friendly and took care of everything. The concierge can give you a whole lot of recommendations and ideas of what to do or give advice when it comes to which subway to take or tickets to purchase.

The rooms look really great and modern (unlike other older hotels in the theatre district). The bathroom has a spacious shower and the beds are ver comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank konichiwa959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Konichiwa959:

Thank you for your 5-star review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our plus guestrooms, friendly service, and charming neighborhood. We appreciate your taking time to post about your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,469 - 2,475 of 5,359 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

this is the best hotel you can be in New York. The hotel staff with Maria Camila Soto and his General Manager know all the ways to feel as a client the hospitality in the highest level. THANK you very much

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank le048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear le048:

Thank you for your 5-star review! Maria is a true InterContinental Ambassador, and we are delighted that she made your recent stay a memorable one. Thank you for taking time to write about your experience, and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is an excellent hotel. Service was wonderful.

We stayed in a Superior King. I was told the only difference between the Superior King and the Deluxe Kind is that the Deluxe rooms are on a higher floor. I did not opt for the Deluxe. Bad mistake. We were on the 4th floor. Overlooking the corner of 44th and 8th. Not very quiet at night. Actually, it was down right noisy. If I stay here again I will definitely go for the higher floors.

Also, the breakfast is buffet only. No menu. I am sure it would have been good, but it was very expensive: $21 for cold continental and $30 for hot. Small buffet, its even named "le petit buffet." Not a lot of selections. Did not include omelets. Those were an $8 surcharge! We decided to go elsewhere and did just fine.

Other than the noise, room was great.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors. Also, IHG Rewards Club members receive free WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MLG18104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear MLG18104:

Thank you for your recommendation! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location and friendly service. While we have employed sound-reducing features, those who are sensitive to noise may wish to stay on higher floors. Our Front Desk will gladly provide ear plugs free of charge as well! We appreciate your taking time to post about your stay, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel was great for all the things I expect at this price (exccept WiFi): clean (and I mean really clean) and spacious, beds were comfortable, included basic amenities such as shampoo, conditioner, lotion, shower gel, hair dryer, iron and board, REAL coffee cups, keurig coffee machine in the room, knowledgeable and helpful staff. The shower is really great--over head faucet and a hand-held. Gorgeous water glasses, plenty of towels (unusual for any hotel). Black out curtains make the room really dark at night (love that) and it was quiet. The only missing amenity I really expect at any decent hotel is free wifi. Not sure why this one doesn't provide it (unless you're a member of IHG). Maybe it's a New York thing.

It is located right off Times Square, so be ready for crowds and bright lights, but that's half the fun. Also, a subway entrance is right outside the hotel doors, and it is really easy to navigate. If you're new to New York, read a few trip advisor posts on how to use it. I did eat in the restaurant (separate review) and it was excellent.

A few pointers: I was here on business and someone at my conference asked for a room on a higher floor. The only available room was a wheelchair accessible room, but front desk staff told him the "only difference" was the grab bars in the bathroom. In fact, the shower was not glassed in, it had a short shower curtain, and the clothing bar in the closet was lower, so his suits were dragging on the ground. We had a good laugh about it, but the front desk person could have been a little more knowledgeable on that point.

You need to use your card key for the elevator and your room, and they were't very reliable. I, and several others, had to have our cards re-keyed because they wouldn't work after a few uses. One person in our party had to have her lock changed on her door because no key would work, even security's, and hotel staff couldn't get her back into her room until it was done. Also, this is a little odd, but there is really no sitting area in the lobby. it may be intentional, but it wasn't very comfortable for waiting for others. Of course you can wait in the attached lounge if you like.

Room Tip: I hear rooms on higher levels are quieter. All I can say is the 16th floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Coug1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Coug1984:

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental New York Times Square for your recent stay and for posting about your experience! We are delighted you enjoyed our location, spacious guestrooms, and our housekeeping department's attention to detail. While we do charge a nominal fee for wifi, it is free to join our IHG Rewards program, which entitles you to many perks, including complimentary wifi at all InterContinental hotels worldwide. We hope to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Being a Platinum Elite member of IHG rewards programme, I get to try out many hotels, this is one of the best I have stayed in. Excellent location, friendly staff, very clean, top restaurant. Special mention to Annie who covered off a few requests before we got there, she was very helpful in her communication.

Room Tip: Get as high up as you can, we had great views of 8th Avenue, with Central Park not that far away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank brianmurray124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Brianmurray124:

Thank you for your 5-star review! We are delighted to hear that Annie made your recent stay a memorable one. Thank you for taking time to post about your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Before booking this hotel I contacted 2 people at guest relations to ensure bed format met our requirements, it was a good job I kept transcripts & emails as I was advised a week before our trip that a rollaway bed was not possible in our booked room type. Central guest relations were unhelpful but once local management, Simon Chapman, at the hotel got involved he resolved our problem, thank you Simon. Staff at check in though were still a bit unclear on the situation though. It took 3 hours of my time prior to our arrival over 2 days so not a great first impression.

Room was fine, nice & clean, fitted a rollaway bed. The subway could be clearly heard though each time a train went under us.

Staff at the hotel were very helpful but given our problems prior to arrival & subway noise I would not return here.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank csg121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear CSG121:

Thank you for posting about your recent stay! We are terribly sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced, and we appreciate your bringing these to our attention. We'll be sure to review our policies and procedures with our Central Guest Relations team, so that this sort of situation does not occur in the future. We are glad to hear that Simon was able to resolve the issues for you. He is a great asset to our team! While we understand your reluctance to return, we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. We welcome you to reach out to Simon or the Executive Office directly, so that we can ensure a flawless stay.

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Spacious rooms with updated decor and amazing rain shower bath that is right out of an HGTV remodel. Great hotel that is nearly perfect except for the location, which is more conducive to Times Square travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor to ensure it's quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear JB:

Thank you for your great review! We are so glad you enjoyed our spa-inspired bathrooms. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#107 of 469 in New York City
1,136 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#171 of 469 in New York City
2,653 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#115 of 469 in New York City
6,906 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#197 of 469 in New York City
9,745 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#185 of 469 in New York City
8,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Times Square

Address: 300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-5419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
#88 Family Hotel in New York City
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#134 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £179 - £533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental New York Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 607
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering 36 stories above the city, the InterContinental Times Square features 607 luxurious guestrooms with floor-to-ceiling windows offering panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline and Hudson River. Drawing upon natural elements, the rooms are designed to evoke the feeling of a chic Manhattan residence, and average at 350 sq. ft. amongst the largest in midtown. Each room includes spacious work station, 42 in" HDTV and a spa-inspired bathroom with walk-in rain shower accentuated with blue mosaic tile. Situated just off the Times Square neighborhood, known as the "Crossroads of the World," the hotel brings the InterContinental touch to one of New York City's most popular areas. The hotel is close proximity to the Broadway Theatre District, Central Park, Fifth Avenue shopping, and many major transportation centers in Manhattan making it a convenient base to explore the city. Featured at the hotel is the Stinger Cocktail Bar and Kitchen, a lounge experience by Celebrated Chef Todd English. Guests are welcome to indulge in worldly comfort food alongside bespoke cocktails and an extensive offering of wine and beer. Offering signature cocktails three sized options and large batch punch-bowls the lounge at the Stinger brings the art of craft cocktails to Hell's Kitchen and the Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing