We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot near Times Square away from the busy noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental New York Times Square
Ranked #170 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great spot near Times Square away from the busy noise”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My 11-year old daughter and I spent the weekend in NYC and absolutely loved the location of this hotel and the service and rooms were great too.
Only one block away from Toys R Us so you can be in the center of Times Square quickly but because the hotel is on a side street, you miss much of the business of the area.
Several local spots to dine nearby too.

Room Tip: get a room on a higher up floor so you can have a view and there is less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmypul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Kimmypul:

Thank you for your 5-star review! We are so glad you and your daughter had a memorable stay. We appreciate your recommendation and we hope to welcome you both back soon!

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,672
    1,687
    521
    172
    118
See reviews for
1,584
1,678
236
845
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We were on the 33rd floor, with a pretty good view (although not spectacular, we must have been on the wrong side of the building) and away from the street noise below. Wifi was fast and easy to connect to, and the room itself was pretty nice with comfy beds and a nice bathroom.
We found the maids to be quite aggressive with their cleaning; they delivered chocolates every evening for the turndown service, but if we saved them for later, they would throw them away the next day. Room service was quick and tasty too.
The location though is what you're really paying for with this hotel, a 30 second walk to a subway station, and just 5 minutes from Times Square and a whole bunch of theatres. Really couldn't get a better central location than this.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor to get away from the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Matthew C:

Thank you so much for your post! We are delighted that you enjoyed our central location, plush bedding, and quiet surroundings. We are so sorry that the housekeepers removed your turndown chocolates! Thank you for bringing this to our attention, so that we can review our protocol with our team. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We travelled to NYC for my other half's 30th birthday and the stay could not have been better. The staff are ever so helpful and the room was stunning.

The only let down was a slightly pricy bar but nothing I wouldn't expect from a top end hotel.

All in all a fantastic stay and they made the trip on to remember!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Jonathan B:

Thank you so much for choosing the InterContinental New York Times Square for your other half's birthday! We are delighted that our team made your stay a memorable one. We thank you for posting about your experience, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

A few months back we were disgusted to check into a room here that had urine stains all over the toilet and weeks worth of dust everywhere. Housecleaning manager promptly came up to investigate and admitted that they were having problems with this one employee and witnessed an uncomfortable exchange between them. Apologetic but nonetheless a failure on her part too, not to inspect room before giving OK? Cleaned up room and appeased our uneasiness with a complimentary breakfast...OK we move on.
However upon checking out of our room, my wife and I do a clean sweep. We check under the bed and could not believe what we saw and how we failed our child. I must have counted at least half a dozen nuts among other things. Now you see the problem here is... my son is severely anaphylactic to nuts. Having played with his cars during stay and one of them mistakingly gone under the bed's edge and reached to find it... a tragedy could of ensued by just touching one of them. We were furious and explained situation at front desk. Everyone concerned and shocked at my pictures that I had taken. Was told Hotel manager will contact you at home. Left very disappointed.
Here is where things get interesting. Hotel Manager calls and politely attempts to make amends as I divulge I have stayed here numerous times and given you rave reviews but this time around we were appalled. Perhaps attempting to avoid a bad review he makes a peace offering." Please give us another chance and here is my number and I will personally take great care of you next time around". I wondered how...considering my son was unknowingly a foot away near death during entire stay. " Don't worry just call me."
So here we are, I take him up on his offer recently. I do call and guess what? To my surprise he gives me a wrong number. OK. Nonetheless I track him down and call him at hotel and drop him a message... that was never returned. OK... I am still coming. Inquired daily during stay to let him know we were there. Told he was in a meeting constantly. For all 3 days? I give up.
Bottom line. Never even had the decency to call us up in our room let alone come see us or offer anything. He did have another manager call to say " I am aware of your past stay but we believe it was dealt with,correct."... Flabbergasted...Made to feel like a nuisance too. So in conclusion, Thanks Hotel Manager for taking great care of us this time around...wink wink, and putting such little value on my boys wellbeing. He would have loved to have met you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Peter A:

We are terribly sorry to hear about your disappointing experiences. The safety and security of our guests is of the utmost importance, and the instances you describe are not acceptable. We will not attempt to make excuses or explanations, as that would seem like we are trying to legitimize the problem. We thank you for your feedback and we will be reaching out to you directly in the coming days, as we feel your experience deserves much more than a public response.

We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I cashed in most of my IHG points for a two-night stay here (family of four). BEST use of points EVER! The front desk staff were wonderful, and offered us an upgrade to a corner top floor with a SW panorama view. We had to wait a few moments, and were given comp beverages for the lounge while we waited. The room was spotless and modern, and was a decent size considering the location. There are two sets of elevators, with an 'express' to the upper floors.

I will pay 'full fare' to stay here again.

PS..the female elevator robot voice says 'lobby' in a way that would make Steven Tyler blush..we loved it :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Robert K:

Thank you for your 5-star review! We are so glad you chose the InterContinental New York Times Square. We appreciate your comments regarding our friendly service, cleanliness, and our elevator "narrator". We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Room not ready on arrival, but to be fair we were a little early and it was ready at exactly 3 o clock. 31st floor room had fabulous views and we really liked the room. The only issue was poor water pressure from the shower.
The location is good. 5 mins walk from Times Square and right next to a Subway station.
Staff were all very friendly. On the day we left, reception very kindly allowed us to check out at 2pm (we are platinum ihg members).
Not cheap - very little in New York is - but decent value for money nevertheless. Took the advice of quite a few Trip Advisor reviewers and ate out each morning and evening. Some fabulous local restaurants very close by.
Overall - no Issue in recommending. Very happy stay.

Room Tip: Like everyone else says - the higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyRids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear FamilyRids:

Thank you for your 5-star review! We are so glad you enjoyed our location and friendly service. WE apologize for any low water pressure- we will send our Engineering team to ensure everything is working smoothly. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

When you book an upscale brand hotel you expect something more. The Intercontinental NYC delivered. We booked two rooms (connecting) 1 King and two doubles. Great view, Great decor, beautiful bathroom and the location is GREAT. Far enough from the insanity of Times Sq but close enough for a theatre binge. Oh and BIRDLAND is right DIRECTLY across the street!! (If you're in NYC on a Monday, you MUST got to Jim Caruso's Cast Party. The best variety show in town! Back to the hotel, the staff was outstanding as well. As is my usual habit, I ask the doormen for breakfast recommendations. They nailed it. The WESTWAY DINER just around the corner is a no-frills, NYC neighbourhood spot.

We LOVED our stay!!

Room Tip: as with any city, the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianpeean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Ian:

Thank you for your rave review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location, views, and friendly service. We are so glad you got to know our charming neighborhood- we agree that Birdland and Westway Diner are great! Thank you for taking time to post about your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#107 of 466 in New York City
925 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#174 of 466 in New York City
2,294 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#264 of 466 in New York City
4,211 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#105 of 466 in New York City
6,695 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 466 in New York City
9,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Times Square

Property: InterContinental New York Times Square
Address: 300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-5419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
#89 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#89 Family Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental New York Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 607
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering 36 stories above the city, the InterContinental Times Square features 607 luxurious guestrooms with floor-to-ceiling windows offering panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline and Hudson River. Drawing upon natural elements, the rooms are designed to evoke the feeling of a chic Manhattan residence, and average at 350 sq. ft. amongst the largest in midtown. Each room includes spacious work station, 42 in" HDTV and a spa-inspired bathroom with walk-in rain shower accentuated with blue mosaic tile. Situated just off the Times Square neighborhood, known as the "Crossroads of the World," the hotel brings the InterContinental touch to one of New York City's most popular areas. The hotel is close proximity to the Broadway Theatre District, Central Park, Fifth Avenue shopping, and many major transportation centers in Manhattan making it a convenient base to explore the city. Featured at the hotel is the Stinger Cocktail Bar and Kitchen, a lounge experience by Celebrated Chef Todd English. Guests are welcome to indulge in worldly comfort food alongside bespoke cocktails and an extensive offering of wine and beer. Offering signature cocktails three sized options and large batch punch-bowls the lounge at the Stinger brings the art of craft cocktails to Hell's Kitchen and the Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing