We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time in NYC - enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental New York Times Square
Ranked #173 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First time in NYC - enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at the Intercontinental hotel at Times Square and must say we were definitely not disappointed in the location. It was right next door to the subway, Shake Shack and not a far walk from Port Authority Terminal and Times Square. Check-in was quick and smooth, our room and bathroom were extremely clean and spacious. Unfortunately our room faced the main street so we could hear the traffic but overall this wasn't a major issue. One minor disappointment we experienced was the inconsistency of staff responses to queries we had - for example we asked if there was left luggage service however was told by one member of staff that this wasn't available because they were too 'busy'?? For a large hotel of this size, I refused to believe this so the following day I asked another member of staff at reception who courteously advised us that this service was available at no extra cost. I am not sure why we were advised completely two different things but it brought upon unnecessary stress at the end of our trip.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room facing side streets and the main road as you will hear the traffic and chaos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppiedotdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear PoppieDotDot:

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental New York Times Square for your first NYC visit! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and got to experience one of our favorite local spots - Shake Shack! We do apologize for the miscommunication regarding luggage storage. We do offer same-day luggage storage for guests checking into or out of the hotel. We do not offer overnight storage onsite. We'll be sure to review our policies with our agents to ensure this confusion does not occur in the future. Thank you for posting about your experience, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,619
    1,666
    515
    165
    113
See reviews for
1,551
1,662
232
826
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,253)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Hotel is just by one of the exits from the Subway which has a direct route to the airport, not to mention all of the fun to do around Times Square.

Room was a little small but didn't feel cramped; I understand thats normal for NY. It was very clean and well presented, washroom facilities were good; would stay here again. Only downside was our cleaners were far too aggressive, on more than one occasion throwing away unopened chocolate and half finished bottled drinks.

Decided to sign up for the Intercontinental ambassador scheme before staying here but was fairly disappointed; in the end all it got us was a 20k point apology for not being able to fulfil the 'guaranteed room upgrade' and an unappealing fruit basket as a welcome present.

Room Tip: Wifi is free if you are a member of the IHG loyalty program. Higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cageme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Michael B:

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental New York Times Square! We are delighted you enjoyed our central location and impeccable cleanliness (even if it was a bit too impeccable). We sincerely apologize that we were not able to accommodate your Ambassador upgrade. The next time your travels bring you to New York City, we welcome you to contact us via email, so that we can ensure you receive your benefits.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
executiveoffice@icnyts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Had a week in NY and spent my last 2 nights here. Perfect!
Quite room on the 25th floor with great views, no street noise at night.
Great location, though Shake Shack was rather too tempting next door when strolling back of an evening.
Clean room and spacious bathroom.
Friendly helpful staff.
Room ready early which was appreciated at check in and were happy to hold my luggage when I checked out as I had a late night flight.
Juniors for apparently best cheesecake right across the street and Johns for a decent pizza.

This was a priority points stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chickengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Chickengirl:

Thank you for your 5 star review! We are so glad you enjoyed our plush guestrooms friendly service, and charming neighborhood. We are delighted you could experience some of the amazing restaurants that surround us. There is nothing like a Shake Shack burger or a John's Pizzeria pie. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

The guest service was awful and rude especially Cesar he made us wait for the room to be cleaned for 5 hours !!!?? Please if anyone know how I can complain this awful treatment let me know and yes if you see Cesar standing in the reception do your best to stay away from him and hope that this Cesar will get back what he did to us .. Worst guest service ever!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Fahadss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Fahadss,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apology for the issues you had during check-in and the service you received fell below your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Great location . The rooms are quite large compared to other NY hotels and the beds are comfy. Perfect Intercontinental stay the way you need . Bathrooms and showers are great . Good to hang around at the hotel bar when you are back from a business dinner .....

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Nitin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Nitin J:

Thank you so much for your great review! We are so glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms, spa-inspired bathrooms, and lively lounge. We appreciate your recommendation, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
421 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

When I get to NY on business and need a midtown room, I choose between 4 different hotels, comparing their prices. The same rooms may, of course, jump from 220$ to 550$ a night, and 2 dates later get back to their lower price, while a hotel two blocks a way would offer exactly the opposite, all depends on conferences schedule etc. So I will, bottom line, choose according to the prices. But this new and modern Intercontinental is my favorite choice in midtown and whenever I find a good price I'm so happy to come back. The rooms are super convenient, quiet and fresh, great comfortable beds. I like the decor, and view. The service though is always not good enough, staff isn't that nice, but I don't mind.
Everything is walkable of course, and if you use subway its the best location, and even if you take shuttles from the airports - you'll have a great stop just here around the block. The other intercontinental, not far away, Barclay, is nice too, but rooms are much older and dated.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Ron:

Thank you for your 5-star review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We appreciate your taking time to post about your stay. We are sorry to hear that our service did not always meet the InterContinental standard, and we will address this with our team. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My 11-year old daughter and I spent the weekend in NYC and absolutely loved the location of this hotel and the service and rooms were great too.
Only one block away from Toys R Us so you can be in the center of Times Square quickly but because the hotel is on a side street, you miss much of the business of the area.
Several local spots to dine nearby too.

Room Tip: get a room on a higher up floor so you can have a view and there is less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmypul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive Offic... ., Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Kimmypul:

Thank you for your 5-star review! We are so glad you and your daughter had a memorable stay. We appreciate your recommendation and we hope to welcome you both back soon!

Warm regards,

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#178 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,557 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#190 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,313 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#260 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Times Square

Property: InterContinental New York Times Square
Address: 300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-5419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
#89 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#127 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental New York Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 607
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering 36 stories above the city, the InterContinental Times Square features 607 luxurious guestrooms with floor-to-ceiling windows offering panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline and Hudson River. Drawing upon natural elements, the rooms are designed to evoke the feeling of a chic Manhattan residence, and average at 350 sq. ft. amongst the largest in midtown. Each room includes spacious work station, 42 in" HDTV and a spa-inspired bathroom with walk-in rain shower accentuated with blue mosaic tile. Situated just off the Times Square neighborhood, known as the "Crossroads of the World," the hotel brings the InterContinental touch to one of New York City's most popular areas. The hotel is close proximity to the Broadway Theatre District, Central Park, Fifth Avenue shopping, and many major transportation centers in Manhattan making it a convenient base to explore the city. Featured at the hotel is the Stinger Cocktail Bar and Kitchen, a lounge experience by Celebrated Chef Todd English. Guests are welcome to indulge in worldly comfort food alongside bespoke cocktails and an extensive offering of wine and beer. Offering signature cocktails three sized options and large batch punch-bowls the lounge at the Stinger brings the art of craft cocktails to Hell's Kitchen and the Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing