We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped in for dessert”
Review of Brooklyn Diner

Brooklyn Diner
Reserve with OpenTable
Brooklyn Diner is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #460 of 13,820 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 6th Avenue and Broadway
Transit: 1, 2, 3, 7, 9 N, R, W, & Q trains to 42nd Street/Times Square.
Northport, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stopped in for dessert”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stopped in for a late evening dessert. Wait staff was really nice even though we weren't ordering (and paying for!) a large meal. I had lemon meringue and my husband had chocolate pudding pie. Both were very good. We had to leave quickly and they got the check ready in a flash.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ms5h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    597
    230
    92
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing sandwiches and ICE cold Brooklyn beer”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Great place in the middle of the big apple. Food as you expect a classic American sandwich. I had the Reuben...a must have. Service is fast and very friendly. Do not miss out!

Helpful?
Thank torstenweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Touristy ripoff”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Went here for dinner pre-thetaer. Place is shabby, torn and cut upholstery in the booths. Menu kind of limited, very expensive, e.g. cheeseburger $22.95 mashed potatoes $12.95. The waiter and service were excellent, but the limited, overpriced menu combined with extremely dated look
make this a really tough place to recommend. The food, ironically wasn't half bad, especially the noodle kugel, but many more places to choose.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 371j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Chicken Pot - Yum”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We meet friends here for lunch and it was a great location, extensive menu with really good service. The meals and drinks were well priced. The house special - Chicken Pot is a must really tasty, mind it is a really big serve. They do run out of this menu item so get in early. Would recommend a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy204051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Best bagel in the world!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Came here by chance for breakfast whilst visiting Times Square. We knew we would enjoy it here when on entrance a local was leaving and described the place as 'absolutely fantastic!' The service was extremely attentive and friendly. Whilst browsing the menu I thought the prices looked a little high but as soon as our food arrived it was completely justified! I shared the salmon and cream cheese bagel with my mum and it was absolutely delicious and so generous on the portion size - especially the amount of salmon in the bagel. I will never taste anything as good as that again!! It was also served with a side salad. For the price we paid we were very satisfied with our experience here and are hoping to return before we head home!!

Helpful?
Thank Mgnlj2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brooklyn Diner also viewed

 

Been to Brooklyn Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing