We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE Candy store”
Review of Economy Candy

Economy Candy
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.00*
and up
East Village Walking Tour with Food Tasting
More Info
US$35.00*
and up
New York City Lower East Side Walking Tour
More Info
US$50.00*
and up
Lower East Side Bagel Tour
Ranked #8 of 823 Shopping in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1937, on the Lower East Side Economy Candy is an old-fashioned, family-owned candy store that sells thousands of kinds of chocolates, candies, nuts, dried fruits; including halvah, sugar free candy and of course all the old time candy you had when you were a kid. We also specialize in retail and wholesale sales for weddings/parties and other retail businesses.
New York City, New York, USA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“THE Candy store”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A candy eater's dream! If it"s candy or sweets, they have it. Great selection at reasonable prices. Service is good and the place is fun.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuartg777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    48
    8
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great candy shop!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Shopped here for several color specific candy buffet set ups for parties. Great candy selection and color selection at great prices! Service was pretty good, but if its busy it can be difficult to get assistance. But I definitely recommend shopping here!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank emzcutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“I want more chocolate dipped sweets now!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stopped in during a trip to the Lower East Side and was not disappointed! We had a stroller and while it is kinda cramped in there, we still could maneuver the stroller through the store. Loved all the handmade sweets - chocolate covered graham crackers, homemade "turtles", chocolate covered oreos and chocolate covered pretzels. Enjoyed seeing all of our favorite candies from our childhood!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JQH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Every kids dream sweet shop!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

If you want sweets of any variety.... You'll find them here!!

From floor to ceiling the place is packed with every sweet imaginable!
Grab a basket and start filling it up!

We spent so long in there and still just noticing things on our way out!

We combined a visit here with a trip to Katz Deli just up the street. Katz for lunch Economy Candy for pudding!
Perfect :-)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank strongmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Candy A Go Go”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

There is a great deal of candy in here. Several types are harder to find. There was also some weird stuff like vintage comics, sarcastic tin signs and a small selection of chocolates by the pound. I didn't find anything I had to have but you might if you like jelly beans, licorice, gummy rings or similar fare.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Catalaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Economy Candy also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Economy Candy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing