We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beats Dylan's by 10 miles”
Review of Economy Candy

Economy Candy
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.00*
and up
East Village Walking Tour with Food Tasting
Ranked #13 of 811 Shopping in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1937, on the Lower East Side Economy Candy is an old-fashioned, family-owned candy store that sells thousands of kinds of chocolates, candies, nuts, dried fruits; including halvah, sugar free candy and of course all the old time candy you had when you were a kid. We also specialize in retail and wholesale sales for weddings/parties and other retail businesses.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beats Dylan's by 10 miles”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Both my kids and I could not get enough of this place. Lots of childhood favorites like razzles, British candy bars and these violet mints I love. I had a cough and was excited to see Pine brothers honey cough drops and Ludens sour cherry, both from childhood local pharmacy. Happy to support this place

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank drosenb722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    47
    8
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
126 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Huge selection of candy and international treats. Very busy since it was the Friday before Easter and it is a difficult store to maneuver around. Kids had a blast picking out treats. My Turkish figs were great and reasonably priced (they can some times be very expensive). Already planning to go back.

Helpful?
Thank Beachfamilybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Whaaaatt? I felt like I was in a Candy Junk Yard”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I'd read reviews here and added it to our list of places we just had to see! I was so disappointed. It was so small and incredibly cramped - it just felt really junky. Now, sure, we did still buy candy there, but surely there's a nicer place to get vanilla Tootsie Rolls. I'd rather go to M&M World or Duane Reade for candy. I'm sorry to those folks who love it! I think I'm just spoiled by other old fashioned candy shops that have charm...like La Kings Confectionery in Galveston, TX.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sweeeeet”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Most complete candy store with huge selection at reasonable prices. Will have your old favorites that you have not seen in years.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stuartg777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Old World Charms”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Economy Candy offers a wide variety of candies, nuts and dried fruits. Many of their candies are not typically found in candy stores, and have not been seen for decades. A visit to the store is like a trip back in time and the charm comes from experiencing the retro-candies and not the decor. Service is okay but inconsistent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CapitalS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Economy Candy also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Economy Candy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing