We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (732)
Filter reviews
732 results
Traveller rating
687
43
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
687
43
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews express subway new york baptist church place to stay great accommodation times square a couple of minutes walk every morning small kitchenette top floor safe neighborhood the subway system central park coffee maker spent a week restaurants and bars visit nyc
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 732 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the San Fermin B&B for 10 nights in December 2011. What an amazing place! We had booked due to the positive reviews on TripAdvisor, and they were not wrong. Bernardo was an excellent host, from the communication before our arrival to the information given to us to ensure we had the best possible stay in New York. The room was excellent, very large and well equipped with a lovely double bed, dining table, kitchenette area and 2 huge closets. The stay was excellent value for money compared to other places we have stayed. There was a coffee maker and coffee was provided, there was no kettle but this was not an issue for us at all. The bathroom was very modern with a large shower, shower gel, shampoo & conditioner were provided which was a nice touch as most hotels have stopped doing this.

The A express train gets you into midtown in about 10 - 15 minutes and the subway station is a few minutes walk away from the B&B. Harlem was a lovely part of New York to stay in and I always felt safe, no matter what time of the day or night, even coming back from an evening at the theater and dinner at 1am. There is a 24hr Path Mark supermarket 5 minutes walk away which was great for stocking up on bits and pieces. There was a Dunkin' Donuts and a few deli's, where we got breakfast of Bagels for a few dollars, at the end of the road.

Bernardo clearly loves New York and enjoys welcoming people into his home, he made sure we got the most from our trip and was always interested in what we had been up to. We had an afternoon flight and Bernardo kept our cases for us until we were ready to depart.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to everyone.

Thank you Bernardo.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Littlenel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

What a find! This beautiful home away from home, was exceptional in every respect and our host Bernardo couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. No detail has been overlooked in restoring this brownstone with quality furniture, linens, modern bathroom and kitchenette in every room. Located in a gorgeous tree lined street, it was quiet and spotless to wake up to and a comforting pleasure to return to at night, after very active days exploring this exciting city. Bernardo came with us to the subway on the first day, (only 2 minutes away) and showed us how to get tickets and navigate the system. As first timers to NY, he allayed all our reservations about Harlem and anxieties about how to tackle seeing this great city in just over a week. He was brilliant in giving us daily tips on where to go, eat, get cheap theatre tickets without the queues, special events etc. Nothing was too much trouble. The supermarket just minutes away and the free internet in the hallway were extremely useful added bonuses. The room rate was exceptional value for money and we cannot recommend this place more highly! Thank you so much Bernardo!
Susie and Victor Berk, Sydney.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank insightable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

My fiancee and I had an amazing 2 weeks at San Fermin. Our room was beautifully decorated, spacious and spotlessly clean. It is located around the corner from the subway with 2 express lines - you are at Times Square within 10 minutes. The area is quiet and residential, with supermarkets, pharmacies and restaurants within close walking distance. Forget images of Harlem from the 1970s, this is a family area and felt alot safer than many places downtown at night. The owner, Bernardo is extremely friendly and helpful. San Fermin apartments are beautiful, romantic and ridiculously good value for money in Manhatten!

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

My daughter & I have jut spent a wonderful 8 nights at the San Fermin B & B. Bernardo was always obliging and went out of his way to ensure that our stay was a success. He even saw us off at 5.15 am on the morning that we left. The apartment was spotless, spacious and beautifully appointed. Harlem is safe and we caught the subway often late in the evening and never felt concerned for our safety. The local subway is just around the corner and the subway is very clean and safe. We bought a weekly ticket for only $29. The trains come every few minutes and the express takes about 10mins to the Theatre District - local train about 20mins. The local corner deli ( David's Deli) has fantastic bagles and cream cheese for only $1. We went to the local Baptist Gospel Church on the Sunday morning which was great. The local Harlem residents are very friendly. I would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation to anyone who is looking to get away from the noise and hype of the downtown city centre. It was lovely to return in the evenings to the quiet of the suburbs and to walk the streets in the morning & catch the subway whilst taking in the local colour of the locals New Yorkers (not tourists) going about their business. In conclusion a fantastic apartment in a safe and quite location, convenient travel options and warm and welcoming hosts - you couldn't do any better!!!! Robyn & Danielle from Australia

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank starworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Great accomodation with great service from Bernardo. The quality of SanFermin is so much more than for any comparable price downtown. The area is residential and safe. This isn't the Harlem of the seventies and eighties: things have moved on. SanFermin is around the corner from "The Harlem Doggie Day Spa" which says it all. The Subway station is 2-3mins away and the express A-train gets you to the SW corner of Central Park in 2 stops and 10mins. Would definitely stay again, if in town, and could recommend to anyone. Finally, nice and quiet area so you can get a good night's sleep, unlike downtown. All in all, tip top

Room tip: any will do!
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DbleDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews