We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here and you won't be disappointed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of San Fermin B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Fermin B&B
Ranked #1 of 75 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stay here and you won't be disappointed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

I booked San Fermin based on all the excellent TA reviews and I'm so glad that I did. It's every bit as good as everyone says! I know Harlem may not be most people's first choice of places to stay in New York but as this was my husband's and my third visit we thought we'd try somewhere different and we're really pleased we did - this was by far our favourite accommodation and we would definitely stay here again! In the past we've stayed in a hotel on the East side, quite near the UN building - very expensive and nothing to write home about; then we stayed in a B&B in Tribeca - a great location, but again, very expensive. This time we did NY on a shoestring and it was fabulous! San Fermin is great value for money.

Bernardo...
... is just lovely! He welcomes you warmly on arrival and is so kind, thoughtful and helpful throughout your entire stay. He knows so much about New York and, whether you want help in planning a full itinerary or just a suggestion for some place nice to eat, he will give you as much or as little help and information as you want. Because this was our 3rd trip we didn't want to do all the typical touristy things so he came up with some brilliant alternatives. He also very kindly printed off our boarding passes for our return flights!

The room...
... is the best accommodation I've ever stayed in! It was absolutely spotlessly clean and I don't think I've ever said that before about anywhere I've stayed! We had a room at the back, looking out on to the garden. The layout of the room is perfect and the attention to detail is spot on. It's spacious and has everything you need... there's a small kitchen area with a coffee maker (coffee & sugar provided!) a kettle was also provided when Bernardo asked if we drank tea. Microwave, crockery, cutlery, kitchen roll, washing up liquid, dish cloth etc. - all the basics are there. There's a safe, plenty of hanging space for clothes, a comfortable, if rather firm bed (which has a tendency to move a little as it's on wheels!) The bathroom is lovely - beautifully tiled. The towels are gorgeous and there's a decent hairdryer in the cupboard under the sink.

Harlem...
.... perfectly safe and only 15 mins on the subway from Midtown Manhattan (Times Square). Subway station is just around the corner, a couple of minutes walk. Central Park is a 5-10 minute ride, Downtown about 30 mins and Battery Park about 45 mins. Plenty of local shops where you can buy everything you need.

Tip...
... If you're planning to stay for at least 5 days, buy a 7 day Metro card - unlimited travel on the subway and @ $29 it's well worth the money and so easy to use.

I can't recommend San Fermin highly enough - there is nothing bad to say. I hope we're lucky enough to go back one day.

Thank you Bernardo, for everything! You are an amazing host and your B & B is beautiful. Muchas muchas gracias! Please don't change a thing!

Room Tip: I have no doubt all the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HorshamJacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    40
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
149
305
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We were staying 5 nights in july, family of six adults.

- Rooms are spacious and more important, VERY clean!

- appartement is in harlem- but don't worry, the area is safe (residential area with lots of families) . Even in the night, we took the subway and we felt safe at any time. Btw, there is a police station in the subway station.

- location is in harlem , first it seems that its far away from mid- and downtown manhattan. But dont worry - it might be far if you consider distance, but that says nothing: subway connection is GREAT, with two express lines (A and D). In about 15 minutes you are in times square-this is much faster than places nearer at times square but without metro express line connection! GREAT PLUS!

- metro station 5 minutes walk away

- supermarket and pharmacy 5 min walk away

- AND THE MOST IMPORTANT: The host, bernardo, is just fabulous! Every single day he gave us information for what to do, where to go , where to eat and so on! Forget your lonely planet, we hadn't even enough time to follow all his tips! On the first day, he showed us the neighbourhood and helped us on buying the right tickets for the subway (metrocard). He organized us a cab for going back to the airport and called our car rental agency because we wanted to change the reservation for our car. Lots of writing for one single thing to stay:

bernardo, you are fantastic!!


Thank you sooo much!


Hope to see you soon again.

Cheers from the whole family!



  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mat_Travls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We loved our stay at San Fermin! Bernardo was very helpful throughout our stay. The hotel is very close to 145th St Station in Harlem, also supermarket and banks close by. We felt very safe at all hours of the day and night.

We have already recommended San Fermin to family who are planning a trip and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmcccr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

I read that this was N0.1 B&B in NYC and I think it truly deserves this spot. I am usually very fussy when it comes to cleanliness and this place definitely gets top marks for how clean it was. The area is great, 5 mins from subway station that takes you into the core of Manhattan in 15 mins...Bernado was also very helpful and friendly, he gave us many tips on what to do and see. I will suggest it to my friends and come back if I return to NYC.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ZeyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Just returned from an 11-night stay at San Fermin. As everyone else has said, the location is excellent, being just 5 minutes from the subway at 145th Street and in a quiet residential area. Harlem is now a very safe and hospitable place and we had no worries coming and going in the day or during the evenings. The rooms in San Fermin are spacious, elegant, beautiful, and absolutely spotless. The little kitchenette contains microwave, toaster, coffee maker (kettle provided if you prefer tea) and fridge. Bernardo was very welcoming and made our holiday even more special by suggesting places to visit and providing maps and directions. He recommended Governor's Island, which is open only at weekends in the summer. There is a free ferry over and you get superb views of Manhattan, Liberty Island and Ellis Island. This wasn't mentioned in any of the guidebooks we had read, so we wouldn't have known about it if Bernardo hadn't told us.
If I was to return to New York, I would not consider staying anywhere else, because I don't think anywhere else would match the standards of San Fermin apartments.

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs Mopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We can only agree with the excellent reviews of other travellers, we highly recommend this place and will definitely stay there again when coming back to New York.
We especially appreciated:
- the local knowledge and helpfulness of Bernardo
- quiet and safe neighborhood
- clean and spacious room, no bedbugs or roaches
- coffee maker and coffee provided, refrigerator
- 3 minutes to subway with fast accesss to Midtown and lower Manahattan
- supermarket at next block

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaLoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Location - fantastic. Friendly bustling safe neighbourhood - nothing like the image that most people have of Harlem. We went out in the evenings and had no problems, and the locals were happy to give directions and chat. There are excellent and easy connections via the A and D trains from the 145th Street subway station round the corner to JFK, Central Park, Battery Park, Greenwich Village, Times Square, the Botanical Gardens in the Bronx, Coney Island and the Dodgers & the Mets baseball stadiums. We did them all apart from the Dodgers, who were playing away all week we were there. Watching a live baseball game was certainly an experience I would recommend. The weekly subway ticket is $29 - a bargain.

Room - stylish and very clean. Anybody worrying about the bedbug infestation in NYC needn't worry about them here - the mattress and bedclothes are impeccable. The bathroom is spotless and the shower lovely. It's easy to make breakfast as there is a coffee maker, toaster and microwave, and the fridge is big enough to keep quite a lot of stuff in. There's a supermarket just round the corner. It's quiet enough at night to leave the window open but not necessary as there is a ceiling fan, and a portable air conditioning unit when it gets very hot.

Hosts (Benardo & Maite) - extremely welcoming, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful but not intrusive. We really appreciated the little touches like the maps, the opportunity to leave our bags when we checked out, the luggage scales to weigh our bags and being able to print our boarding passes so we didn't have to check in at the airport. Thanks a lot for everything - if we come back to NY, we know where to stay!

Room Tip: We had the first floor (American 2nd floor) room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ElleSeeLS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#223 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,832 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Fermin B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Fermin B&B

Property: San Fermin B&B
Address: 195 Edgecombe Ave, New York City, NY 10030-1142
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in Harlem's Sugar Hill district in Uper Manhattan a safe and nice neighborhood, in a classic, early 20th-century New York City townhouse built in 1910 with original details. It is a few steps from the Subway station, where you are only 12 minutes from midtown Manhattan (Times Square ) and 2 stops from Central Park.A and D Express Train 24 hours.Subway Transportation from the Airport to our place with the A train. Neighborhood Services: Supermarket,pharmacy,laundry, nice restaurants,coffee places, Jazz Clubs, Gospel Music and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Fermin Bed And Breakfast
San Fermin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing