We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”
Review of Fit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fit Hotel
Paris, France
Level Contributor
141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I had a nice stay in this place even though I could also here that terrible noise at night. i could sleep. I wasn't cold. it was clean. The room were poorly decorated but for the price and giving i was out all the time, I must say it wall all fine and I could recommend this place!
metro, central park and columbia university very close!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katenka87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    37
    43
    17
    46
See reviews for
2
12
78
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

ZERO Stars across the board. As a native New Yorker, strongly recommending that you AVOID this nasty place and search for other hostels in our City or in the outer boroughs. First of all, is it Jazz on Amsterdam or is it called FIT Hotel? - and it's not a Hotel - property doesn't share the qualities of a standard hotel. It's a low grade apartment building converting into a hostel. If you want to experience the rudest customer service then by all means take a risk. The cheap rate is NOT worth being exposed to the two GHETTO/street oriented/UNPROFESSIONAL females that work at the front desk. Those two front desk workers do not have a bright future in the hospitality industry nor in any organization that value delivering proper customer service. They might as well hold on to their current jobs. Furthermore there is NO property manager on sight to resolve issues. The Manager is no where to be found. The icing on the cake - ROACHES are found crawling on the walls.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor, take time with your hostel search, read/take the reviews under serious consider...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank SocialInfluencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We only stayed at this hostel for two nights, the first night was good but the second one was terrible and completely ruined my opinion of this hostel. When we arrived we were told that they had over booked and that they did not have any of the two person dorms that we had booked available. We couldn't believe our luck when were upgraded to a modern private room with a double bed and private en-suite. They had undercharged us by around $50 but we didn't say anything. We had a lovely nights sleep and left early the next morning after a free stale bagel in the kitchen to go sightseeing. We didn't return until around 11pm that night. The elevator is extremely small and barely was big enough for our luggage so we decided the stair were a better option. While walking to our room, we passed the luggage cage where they store guests' luggage and saw ours had been thrown into it. We checked our key card in the door and it was not working. A different person was at the desk this night and we asked him what had happened, he informed us that we had only paid for one night and we should've checked out that morning which the girl the night before had not mentioned. I showed him that our booking was for two nights and that they had overcharged for the first night if not. It turns out we had not been upgraded for the private room but they had charged us the cost of that room as they didn't have any of the cheaper ones that we had booked available. We established with him that we had booked two nights and had no where to stay at midnight on the Upper West Side with all our luggage. He told us they again had none of the rooms left that we had booked except one which I think was on the third floor. We had to pay for this room which the man suggested was a discounted rate for our troubles but from my paperwork I knew that this was the original rate. Too tired to argue, we accepted and dragged our luggage (half of which had been shoved into black bin bags) up to the new room. The new room had no key card but a key on a string, the lock did not work properly as there was an existing broken key stuck in it. The room was a disgrace. The tiles were falling apart on the floor and there were holes in the walls. Everything had been painted white, even the small cupboards were painted shut. The plug sockets looked dangerous and half of them didn't work, there were no furnishings, just a chrome bunk bed with a thin mattress, sheet and pillow. There was a green rug covering up the broken tiles but its was awfully stained and the lockers were so bent out of shape that even if you locked your things in them, you could reach through the bottom to get them without opening it. It was so bad that we actually laughed hysterically. The shared bathroom down the hall was outdated and dirty, we didn't use it much. We ended up sleeping on the bottom bunk together with both mattresses and left as soon as the sun came up in the morning. The night desk boy that had shown us to the second room even apologised, he looked embarrassed but there was nothing more he could do. There was no manager in sight to talk to. We were very upset at the way we were treated, we had stayed in lots of hostels on our travels and usually didn't care much as long as they were clean but I would never stay here again. The only good thing about the hostel was the location, the Upper West Side was beautiful with lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance and the subway not too far away.

Room Tip: Get the private rooms or get their early, it seems good rooms are on a first come, first served basi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The rooms were dirty, the facilyties too.
Staff is unfriendly and the make you from 40 up to 75 dollars a night. The money wasn´t worth the stay in this place at all.
As a special topping I found som strangers hairs on my pillow

Room Tip: Look for another hostel! theres better ones in NYC
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blibber K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Spend only one night here. The location is fantastic. Easy access to the subway and bus stops. The staff seemed a bit standoff-ish. The people who stay there are friendly, improves the ambiance. Breakfast is pretty sketchy - and the bagels were hard as rock :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizaPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The web page says, "Small lockers for valuables in every room."
My room had none.
You can't say you provide it, and then not do so.

Other than that, it was fine, and clean. I can't confirm that there was hot water, though, which seems to be a frequent complaint.

The "“VACATE notice posted:Do not Enter building-Conditions Perilous to Life” from January 25, 2013 is WAY off-base. The only thing in it that rings true with me after staying there is "Location is convenient."

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank RobBirmingham2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I was freak out before I came to this hostel as i read a lot of negative reviews about the hostel. I arrived the hostel at night and have 2 guys helped me with my super duper heavy luggage. They are quite helpful during the 10 nights I stayed there. They only have bagels for breakfast, and you have to pay for the wi-fi(not so happy with this). For me, this hostel is ok. I got what I paid for. After all this is New York, who would spend a lot of time in the room?

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yini90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#303 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#311 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#210 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Jazz on the Park
Jazz on the Park
#23 of 163 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#15 of 163 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fit Hotel

Property: Fit Hotel
Address: 201 W 87th St, Upper West Side, New York City, NY 10024-2844 (Formerly Jazz on Amsterdam Avenue Hostel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Fit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jazz On Amsterdam Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing