We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer 2011-2 week stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soldiers Sailors Marines Club

Soldiers Sailors Marines Club
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Soldiers Sailors Marines Club
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Summer 2011-2 week stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Summer 2011 stayed here for about 2 weeks - great location. (Helpful hint - Stair-wise - the 1st floor is actually the 2nd floor in exterior photo (no elevator, but a stair-lift for handicapped). Summary: Very helpful, professional staff working with a somewhat old reservation system. Most rooms hold 2-3 cots. You rent the cot & locker - not the room (shared bathroom & showers are located in the hallways). Saying that, I found all of my roommates to be friendly with interesting military/DOD backgrounds - which is good because the rooms are NYC tiny. To read, there is a library on 2nd floor (w/TV). To eat, there is a canteen on lobby floor (w/TV). To visit with friends, there is a lounge off the lobby (w/TV & internet). Guests are not allowed above the lobby floor. I'm already looking forward to returning to NYC and this 90+ year old gem. Items I'm glad I had packed: A sleep mask, sweats to sleep in, and flip flops for the shower.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USAmemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    15
    9
    1
    7
See reviews for
12
14
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I have stayed at the SSMAC (Soldiers Salors Marines & Airmans Club) several times. I have stayed there solo and with my wife. For th location in mMidtown Manhattan The Price and accomodations can not be beat. The Building is a wonderful brownstone Build in 1880 and occupied by SSMAC since 1920. Rich in history! Explore the rooms & architecture while there. Every room is filled with important pictures and momentos of history. There is a full kitchen on first floor available for you to use. ther ar TV lounges, Library and free internet use. The rooms are very simple and dated. You get a bed, a wall locker for personals and a desk. Bathrooms and showers are not located in the room. They may be down the hall or another floor. Not a big concern. After all when Im in NYC I just need a room for sleep and the price and location cannot be beat. To stay here you must be in the service, veteran, or retired. Hope this review helped. Say so if it does.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the with a bathroom or shower...what ever you more prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Neduardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

My wife and I have stayed here twice and have no plans to stay elsewhere in the city unless we're attending some kind on convention and the rooms are paid for by the organization. This is not a 4 star hotel, and it is not advertised as such. It is a clean, affordable place to stay in a great location.

When we travel to New York, we use the subway almost exclusively to get around -- its the only place that we go where we do not rent a car. SSMC is in easy walking distance of Grand Central Station and from there you can go anywhere in the city. There are good restaurants nearby, including all of the shops and the food market located in Grand Central Station. I mean, you are located in the heart of the city!

Except for a couple of rooms, all beds are single beds and the listed prices are per person. Bathrooms are shared ones, down the hall from your room, but they are plentiful and we never had a problem with availability. The rooms are very basic with beds, a table and chair, and lockers to secure valuables and hang up clothes. There are several TVs and comfortable lounges if you want to hang out or rest, and there is also a fully equipped kitchen with a refrigerator for those leftovers that you brought back to enjoy later.

And while you eat your warmed up leftovers or rest after walking all over the city, relax and read one of the many books that they have in their library for your enjoyment. Almost all have been donated and you may even want to take some with you and leave them there if you have some that are in the way and that you will not read again.

SSMC was formerly two brownstones. The separating walls have been removed to make it one unit and you will have to carry your bags upstairs to your room. Take that into consideration when you decide how big a suitcase to take.

No one goes to NYC to hang out in their room, so why pay a couple of hundred dollars for one that you won't be in except while sleeping. If you qualify to stay here, its a great value and the people are warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: Make your reservations early, SSMC is very popular among those who are familiar with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mfweave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Rooms were small but I knew that going in. Enjoyed our stay. It was warm and welcoming. Though I was a bit deceived by the price! I thought we'd be paying $45/night. It was actually $45 night PER person! Oh well still way cheaper than the cheapest hotel in the area! If you dont mind shared bathrooms this worth it.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kcole2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Just left NYC yesterday after five days of staying at the Soldiers Sailors Marines Club. You will not beat this value anywhere in NYC unless you are staying with friends in their apartment. The building which houses the SSMC is old and screams history. If you want a cookie cutter hotel room for $300 a night head elsewhere but if you are looking for a unique experience which only few can talk about stay in the SSMC.

The SSMC staff were all wonderful. I read reviews on the club prior to making reservations and was expecting a "not so warm" welcome. When we arrived the staff were friendly and kind. I guess you get out of it what you put into it.

The building itself is old and looks it but it serves it purpose well, just a place to crash after seeing the sights. I am planning my next trip already and will bring my teenage daughter to show her NYC.

I guess if you're on the fence about the SSMC then think of it this way; if you like to camp you'll love it, if camping is not your thing look for something else.

Room Tip: Lots of trsffic noise for west side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edward d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The SSMC is for service members and their families. This is more like a hostel in Europe, small bedrooms, community bathrooms, no frills. However, it is clean and you will not find another place downtown at the price. If you are looking for a 4 star experience, go elsewhere, but if you want a place to stay the night while you enjoy the City, this is an excellent opportunity.

Reservations must be made over the phone. Don't expect to see any computer systems, recommend that after making the reservation, you call back to ensure they are still expecting you. Service is respectable, again, not 4 star, but you can not beat the value.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KidIcarus08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harker Heights, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

We stayed at the Soldier Sailor Club for 3 nights and wish we had known about it for previous trips to the City. The club is currently undergoing rennovations, but presently looks like a well-lived in 1940's hostel (or what I imagine as such). There are no elevators for the 4 floors and you have to walk down the hall to shared (but separated by gender) showers and restrooms. The front door staff is on duty 24/7. The rooms were nothing special, but perfect if you're just using them to crash at night. The beds are not soft, the towels are not plush (and bring your own if you dont want blue fuzz on you), but the rooms and bathrooms were quite clean. It seemed that most of the other patrons were middle aged and older. The neighborhood is yuppified and safe, with lots of nearby eating options and quite close to Grand Central Station. Our room fronted the street and the traffic noise was constant and loud, but we can sleep through anything. Might have been a problem for others. There are 2 computers available for use by lodgers, as well as 1 hair dryer, which requires a cash deposit, and a refrigerator for leftovers and such. Non-paying guests and food are not allowed above the first floor. The morning bagels and coffee provided--just grocery store fare, bring your own nibbles or go out. We would certainly use the Soldier Sailor as a home base again, but this is a value experience, not a comfort and quality experience.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank edayem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,599 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#364 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#300 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#186 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soldiers Sailors Marines Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soldiers Sailors Marines Club

Property: Soldiers Sailors Marines Club
Address: 283 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3540
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 166 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing