We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for Military Service Members”

Soldiers Sailors Marines Club
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Soldiers Sailors Marines Club
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for Military Service Members”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I have stayed here four times while visiting New York City. If you are simply looking for a place to sleep and qualify to stay, this is a great choice. The location is fantastic - Mid-town, Murray Hill, close to Grand Central and bus lines. I usually travel by myself here and have always considered this area relatively safe. The bathrooms/showers were renovated since my last stay and are more pleasant. I enjoy the library to relax and watch a little TV if I'm in by early evening. I enjoy breakfast at Scotty's down the street which always seems to be bustling during the weekday mornings.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorCaliTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    15
    9
    1
    8
See reviews for
14
14
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocala FL
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We took a 5 day trip to NYC and were fortunate to get two beds.....this is a bare bones place, but you can't beat the price and location. Yes, there are a lot of stairs and they creak with age. The bathrooms and showers are down the hall, but they are clean. The people staying at this hotel are typically used to some sort of military experience and they are friendly. Good internet offered in the common space, the bagels and coffee were good, but you gotta get there early or it's all gone! What is interesting is that you rent a single bed in the room, so if you are traveling alone, you may discover a roommate.

The nicest thing is you can walk out of the hotel in the heart of Manhattan and walk to the Empire State Building, Macy's, Times Square, etc. The subway is nearby as well. We will stay there again when we go back because the price allows us to spend money on the fun stuff in the city.

Room Tip: It's New York City.....there's going to be noise so deal with it. I'd recommend traveli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haydenbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I didn't stay there because I canceled my reservation two weeks prior to the date, I had reserved. However, I was charged for one night $125 as no show. Unfortunately, I didn't have a cancellation number with me, so I was refused to get a refund. With my phone record, I told the lady on the line that I made a reservation on that day, and canceled it on this date. However, she told me that my reservation was never made the day, I called in to make a reservation, but the reservation was made the day, which I called in to cancel the RESERVATION. Please, be careful when you have to cancel the reservation. You might need to do triple checks.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukonDenver_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Homburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The price is outstanding for a hotel in Manhattan and as long as you only need a bed, it is perfect. The staff is friendly and helpful, they offer a continental breakfast, and it is in the perfect location for utilizing public transportation.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hogdrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warner Robins, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here for 4 days, i was a little afraid of coming to NYC for the first time and also staying at this hotel, however, we are so pleased to be in the heart of Manhattan! The hotel was what you paid for, BUT! But, it's the historical feeling of it inside and out, makes you feel like a New Yorker for a few days, the bathroom were next door, and everything was super clean, the housekeeper cleaned our rooms everyday and we had towels and fresh linen, and bagels with coffee every morning. The location of the hotel is so convenient for famous things in NY and we were excited we didnt have to walk too far from the Time Square, Crysler Building is actually can be seen, Empire State and Macys are around the corner, we will definately stay here again, and will recommend if you are coming to visit NY for a few days and want to save money and have a great place to stay this is IT!
Mar 30, 2012

Room Tip: We had a room facing Lexington Ave, it was a little more traffic and police cars driving by at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCfirsttimer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Summer 2011 stayed here for about 2 weeks - great location. (Helpful hint - Stair-wise - the 1st floor is actually the 2nd floor in exterior photo (no elevator, but a stair-lift for handicapped). Summary: Very helpful, professional staff working with a somewhat old reservation system. Most rooms hold 2-3 cots. You rent the cot & locker - not the room (shared bathroom & showers are located in the hallways). Saying that, I found all of my roommates to be friendly with interesting military/DOD backgrounds - which is good because the rooms are NYC tiny. To read, there is a library on 2nd floor (w/TV). To eat, there is a canteen on lobby floor (w/TV). To visit with friends, there is a lounge off the lobby (w/TV & internet). Guests are not allowed above the lobby floor. I'm already looking forward to returning to NYC and this 90+ year old gem. Items I'm glad I had packed: A sleep mask, sweats to sleep in, and flip flops for the shower.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USAmemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I have stayed at the SSMAC (Soldiers Salors Marines & Airmans Club) several times. I have stayed there solo and with my wife. For th location in mMidtown Manhattan The Price and accomodations can not be beat. The Building is a wonderful brownstone Build in 1880 and occupied by SSMAC since 1920. Rich in history! Explore the rooms & architecture while there. Every room is filled with important pictures and momentos of history. There is a full kitchen on first floor available for you to use. ther ar TV lounges, Library and free internet use. The rooms are very simple and dated. You get a bed, a wall locker for personals and a desk. Bathrooms and showers are not located in the room. They may be down the hall or another floor. Not a big concern. After all when Im in NYC I just need a room for sleep and the price and location cannot be beat. To stay here you must be in the service, veteran, or retired. Hope this review helped. Say so if it does.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the with a bathroom or shower...what ever you more prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Neduardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,707 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#306 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#98 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#359 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#188 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,228 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soldiers Sailors Marines Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soldiers Sailors Marines Club

Property: Soldiers Sailors Marines Club
Address: 283 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3540
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing