We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a New York Minute”
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Nolitan Hotel
Ranked #140 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“In a New York Minute”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My wife and I recently spent 6 days at the Nolitan Hotel on our first trip to New York and we were extremely happy with our choice of hotels for a number of reasons. The Nolitan is conveniently located approximately equidistant between Uptown and Downtown and the subway is about 5 short blocks away on Broadway and Prince. Our room was excellent and extremely clean with a small but nice balcony where you could take in the sounds of New York. Our bed was very comfortable and the pillows were luxurious. The service provided by the staff was courteous and attentive. We also had an excellent view of Uptown and the Empire State building which is lit up in different colours every night. Do not forget to check out the roof top view as you can see both Uptown and Downtown, quite spectacular both day and night. In summary, we would return to this hotel in a New York Minute!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony on the 8th or 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmstravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    213
    46
    24
    14
See reviews for
124
430
77
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Without a doubt, the best hotel I've stayed in NY. It's a luxury to stay at a brand new hotel in NY and a plus to have such great staff. Great location in Little Italy, very convenient, next to subway stations. Easy walk to Wall Street. Loads of restaurants and cafes in the vicinity. Nice, clean rooms. Free WIFI. Nice and trendy restaurant. I just hope they can keep it going this way. I'll definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 901 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafaelstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The Nolitan is located on the cusp of Noho, Soho, Chinatown, and Little Italy and accessible to further points south, meaning that it's a bit gritty but safe and rewarding for travelers who like to walk and discover NYC's downtown spirit on their own. The hotel sits at the base of streets ie Mott, Mulberry, Elizabeth with lots of great people-watching and independent shops for womenswear, vintage, shoes, and acccessories. This area is not for those seeking the midtown/skyscrapers/chain restaurants/big department store NYC experience. The Nolitan itself is a chill, friendly hotel with decently sized rooms (for NYC) that are clean and minimally but sufficiently furnished, crisp white linens/comfy bed, and a nice modern bathroom; it is a welcomed and soothing option to downtown. The lobby has a small sunken living room/lounge and restaurant. While they are still building out the food and beverage, the neighborhood is chockful of bars, coffee shops and reasonably priced restaurants, an incentive to explore.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderlustc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This was one of the best hotels I've stayed at in NYC in a long time. Nice location, clean rooms, lovely amenities, friendly and helpful staff. No negative surprises.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

One of the joys of transatlantic travel is waking at three in the morning. The bed in which I awoke was comfortable and the room well appointed. But imagine my reaction when I found no kettle in the room, no room service in the hotel til 7 and no 24 hour coffee shop in the area. Sad barely describes it. But how can a hotel so good in every other respect lack such a basic amenity?

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awrightcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Spent four nights here recently in a sixth floor balcony room. The room: very well designed with super comfortable bed, state of the art washroom and great views of the surrounding area. The location: Nolita is an exciting NYC neighbourhhood with great shops, cafes/restaurants and bars to explore (I particularly enjoyed Cafe Gitane and Public). Walking distance to East Village, Soho and Tribeca. Several subway stations are close by. The staff: amazing and super friendly. Overall it was the best hotel experience I've ever had - I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: balcony rooms are great to have for your own personal outdoor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuanEsperanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowayton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2011

great hotel--unlike other "boutique" hotels with postage-stamp rooms, THIS hotel is beautiful and chic and the architecture makes the room feel BIG with beautifully placed windows and bright decor....absolutely loved it..the lovely young man at the front desk (who's name i can't recall?) and Felix (the doorman who we thought was a hotel manager due to how he behaved--knowledgeable and invested and ENGAGING) were both great and enhanced the experience even more!
totally recommned (also LOVED the location--had great dinner at PUBLIC and saw 3 fun bands at the Bowery Ballroom--and YES we were the oldest peeps there)...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shieva g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#10 of 468 in New York City
440 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#59 of 468 in New York City
453 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#84 of 468 in New York City
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#87 of 468 in New York City
581 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#91 of 468 in New York City
636 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 468 in New York City
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Property: The Nolitan Hotel
Address: 30 Kenmare St, New York City, NY 10012-4613
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Nolita , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing