We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find!”
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Nolitan Hotel
Ranked #138 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2012

What I loved about the hotel is it's location (near the subway and loved the neighborhood). Also, the staff are very helpful and accommodating. The hotel itself is quite modern and new so I have no major complaints. The room is somewhat on the small side but it was fine with me. =)

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank symphony88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (953)
There are newer reviews for The Nolitan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

681 - 687 of 953 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

I enjoyed the first stay so I thought I'd check-in again. Swayed by the staff, the accommodation and the neighbourhood I thought I'd give it another go.

Three days before the trip I receive an email confirmation extending me offers that would personalise my stay and make it a memorable trip - nice! Then I miss a call but get a voicemail asking if I need airport collection or anything else to ease my journey - again a nice touch.

Declining all the kind offers I arrive under my own steam and am given a different room - slightly smaller than the previous top floor corner room that I'd stayed in before (which I'd recommend especially of on vacation) but equally well appointed. The balcony is a nice touch and good for snapping a few photo's on a clear day.

The staff live up to the standards they set on my first stay: friendly, attentive and happy to help me navigate my way around the neighbourhood.

This time round I noticed some more of the street noise - but to be fair I'm not sure it's any more than I've experienced staying around Time Square or up by Columbus Circle and it's possibly just my jet lag causing me to be a light sleeper

I ate in the restaurant for the first time - great food and reasonable prices. The bar tenders were great and I didn't feel uneasy being on my own in the restaurant.

There's no gym but the complimentary pass to a great gym on the edge of Soho, 5 minutes run from the hotel, is excellent. It's much better equipped than the normal hotel gym and you get to do some window shopping on the way. (May not be so attractive doing the run in the rain - but on a clear winters day it's not a hardship to get to)

I remain a buyer of this hotel - the more I stay the more I like the neighbourhood and find a few great bars, restaurants and shops that as a visitor to the city you'd normally not get the chance to frequent.

For a boutique hotel it's not overly cool or pretentious - but warm, welcoming and neighbourly!

Will definitely give it another go!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonCityAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The rooms were on the small side, but oh so comfortable and quiet. The restaurant next door, is connected and quite good. The front desk very helpful and the neighborhood, one of the best finds in NYC.

Room Tip: Get a room away from elevators
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

For us it was important to have some type of out-door space which the Nolitian offered.. Very hard to find in NYC... Felix, Roney, and Aliya were AMAZING and extremely accommodating.. With this hotel being fairly new I wanted to check out a room before I booked. & when I asked them (Felix) was great about it and took me upstairs.. Can’t wait for the roof-top in the summer!! I really hope this place stays around they deserve it!! For us we wanted smaller and romantic and that’s exactly what we got.. Rooms are great and everything 1st class.. Thanks ~ Definitely be back…

Room Tip: Higher floors have the balconies :)
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AZBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This boutique hotel is a jewel. The staff is friendly, they smile and greet you as if they mean it, they are helpful in organizing your travels around the city. I had originally heard of this hotel in a review in a major Canadian newspaper which had given it a glowing report. I can only echo the comments in the review. The decor of the rooms is uncluttered, simple, tasteful and the beds are ultra comfortable.

My biggest concern in choosing a hotel was the matter of bedbugs which has plagued the Eastern seaboard for the past few years. I contacted the hotel to see what measures were in place to handle this problem. I was informed that the hotel uses the mattress/pillow bedbug proof encasements, the headboards are sprayed with isopropyl alcohol and the bedcovers are laundered each time a new guest occupies the room. The lack of carpeting, non uphostered chairs, is an added measure ... not to mention that the room was spotless.

The hotel is in the vivinity of two subway stations which makes travelling to various places very easy.

Will definitely return on my next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redpof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The Nolitian was absolutely amazing! Everyone you come in contact with is beyond helpful, especially Cassandra their concierge she will help you with anything from dining to directions. The selection for the mini bar inside the room was great, and the option to purchase anything in the room was a surprise and different from any hotel I've stayed in before. The architecture in the lobby is very modern and the room was adorable. We also had a room with a balcony which is great because my boyfriend smokes so he didn't have to go all the way downstairs and outside. All around we had a great time!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank labellaa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

The Nolitan occupies the grittier end of NoLiTa (North of Little Italy), close to Chinatown, SoHo, and the Lower East Side. This location is perfect if you know your way around lower Manhattan or want to stay away from the hubbub of Midtown. It exudes cool without pretension. The bellman, Felix, made us feel as if he was welcoming us into his home.

The small 235-square-foot rooms have enough light and character that you quickly forget about the cramped size. But you should avoid the "accessible" rooms, which are uncomfortably small with zero room for luggage. We got upgraded to a Cityscape Balcony Room, which gave us some extra breathing room along with a breathtaking view of the Empire State Building and the midtown skyline.

Side note: While the hotel staff is warm and welcoming, the restaurant staff next door at Ellabess acted like it was a chore to serve us breakfast. Despite the fact that staff members outnumbered guests 2-to-1, I had to get up to refill my coffee at the server station because no one bothered to come by for ten minutes. My server was folding napkins, zen-like, two steps away from the coffee, and he didn't even look up at me when I went over to refill my cup. Of course, no one ever stopped by to ask how the food was (delicious) or whether we wanted anything else (we did). Ellabess was a shocking contrast to the friendly Nolitan. Do yourself a favor and walk 10 minutes to Russ & Daughters for the best smoked salmon on a bagel of your life.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank livetwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 468 in New York City
470 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#69 of 468 in New York City
515 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#15 of 468 in New York City
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#82 of 468 in New York City
662 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#151 of 468 in New York City
1,292 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#168 of 468 in New York City
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Address: 30 Kenmare St, New York City, NY 10012-4613
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Nolita , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £201 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing