We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Nolitan Hotel
Ranked #140 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

On planning a trip to NYC to visit our daughter, I found the Nolitan. Knew nothing about the neighborhood at all. What a wonderful surprise. The hotel was a perfect little find. Clean, good size, amazingly wonderful bed, great shower and a great, friendly, helpful staff!! Would definitely return to this hotel. loved the area. Steps to SoHo, Greenwich Village, Chinatown, Little Italy. A wonderful change from the super touristy areas of New York City. Dozens of wonderful shops and restaurants close by.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjoy408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    213
    46
    24
    14
See reviews for
124
430
77
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

What a great place! From the moment I came, no detail of this hotel had been overlooked- you can rent their bicycles and skateboards- they have a whole list of menus that deliver to your hotel in a nice neat little packet in your room- their shower and bathing products are exceptional- the room is a bit on the smaller side but the planning is thoughtful and useful- relaxing wonderful fourth of July stay- will return!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lunka86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We spent 2 very enjoyable nights here over the 4th of July. The location is great if you want to spend time in and around Soho, Little Italy, and Chinatown. Of course the subway makes it easy to get to midtown and museums in 15 minutes or less. We really enjoyed being away from the touristy Midtown/Times Square crowd. The rooms are a little small, but they are very clean and comfortable, and the staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tablehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
120 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The combination of a Vacationist deal + good Tripadvisor rating + desire to stay in a new neighbourhood (we usually stay around midtown) led me to the Nolitan. I'm so glad we landed here. The service at the hotel was fantastic, we had a beautiful view of the Manhattan skyline from our balcony and we were able to explore new parts of New York. There were minor quibbles (small room...of course, it's New York!), a loud air conditioning system, and a rather light continental breakfast, but they were all minor points compared to the hotel's pluses.

Hints for people looking for meals: Barmarche, just up Elizabeth Street at Spring, was a fantastic dinner choice. The Epistrophy cafe around the corner on Mott was a great place for a drink. Asia Dog, just a block west, had tasty gourmet hot dogs if you need a snack.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LtDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at the Nolitan for 3nights & we a little uncertain of what to expect, being our first trip to NYC. From what I can tell, although it wasn't cheap, it was certainly good value for money: perfectly adequate room size with decent cupboard & lovely compact bathroom & separate loo (which I find is far more functional in a smallish bathroom!). Great modern touches throughout, exceptionally comfy bed & pillows, nice toiletries, delicious chocolates on our pillows on arrival, in-room safe, great little balcony. Although in a brilliant location just north of Little Italy, adjacent to Chinatown, with amazing restaurants, cafes & bakeries right around the corner, we still loved the complimentary continental breakfast. Staff were extremely helpful & due to their assistance, we used the subway almost exclusively, even to get as far the Bronxe on our first night! Worth very penny & great modern spot out of the main tourist drag.

Room Tip: Our room was on the seventh floor & had a great view of both the Empire State & Chrysler Bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cactuspee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I usually stay in downtown Brooklyn when I travel to New York City for business. However, for my most recent trip, I was open to recommendations for lodging since the rates at my usual hotel were a bit on the extreme side. (Nearby hotels were no better.)

Thus, I was told to check out the Nolitan. Not only was it reasonably priced (relative to what my usual hotel was charging), it was accessible to work via taxi or subway and very, very chic.

I arrived a tad early for check-in, but the staff was kind enough to hold my bags while I sought out lunch. As soon as my room was ready, I was notified right away. I've stayed at hotels where the staff was inattentive. This was not the case at the Nolitan. From the moment I stepped through the door, I knew I would be in good hands.

My room was tiny, but since I was traveling alone, this was hardly an issue. It was tastefully decorated, white with red accents. I'd almost consider it a "clean" look. What I found interesting was the open bathroom: the shower and sink area did not have a doorway. (The shower itself, however, did have a glass door!) As for the toilet? That's in a room of its own. It almost reminded me of when I traveled to Japan, so while it was a bit unusual for me to see it here in the States, I wasn't completely confused by it.

The room also had a balcony, which, had I anticipated staying in my room for an extended period of time, would have served as a nice little relaxation space. Granted, I didn't have a stellar city view (I faced a mechanic's garage, among other stores), but I also don't mind people-watching. (It's worth noting here that despite having a neighborhood view, I slept well each night. Noise was not an issue.)

One thing I really appreciated was the alarm clock, which also featured an iPod / iPhone dock. I have an iPhone 4S, and I have been at hotels (including my usual hotel in Brooklyn) that have clocks with iPhone docks that don't support a 4S. This may seem like a minor thing for many, but I had left my charger at home -- this was extremely helpful!

If I have one teeny-tiny complaint: The A/C is LOUD. Fortunately, my room was equipped with a ceiling fan. I was just as cool, but with much less noise.

So: An attentive staff. Chic, comfortable rooms. Easy access to work (and other areas, such as one of my favorites -- Soho!) Decent pricing. I think I've found my new business hotel here at The Nolitan.

Room Tip: You can choose to stay in a room with a city view, if a neighborhood view isn't your cup of tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IkkiTousen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I was very pleasantly surprised with the Nolitan! Pulling up, I looked around and thought, hmmm...
However, through the very cool front doors I entered into a very nice lobby area, with a staff really dedicated to making your stay enjoyable. I have not experienced the high level of customer service from some of the most upscale hotels further uptown. They are wonderful!
The room is new looking, great beds and linens. A lot of well thought out design, fantastic floor to ceiling windows. Continental breakfast very appetizing!

I would definitely stay here again, and look forward to the opening their restaurant.
In the meantime, Little Italy, Nolita and Chinatown offer a tremendous selection of great eateries! Perfect for foodies!

Room Tip: Ask for wither a corner, with two walls of glass, or a balcony. Go high for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peggy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#10 of 468 in New York City
440 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#59 of 468 in New York City
453 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#84 of 468 in New York City
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#87 of 468 in New York City
581 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#91 of 468 in New York City
636 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 468 in New York City
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Property: The Nolitan Hotel
Address: 30 Kenmare St, New York City, NY 10012-4613
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Nolita , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing