We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yes to the Nolitan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Nolitan Hotel
Ranked #95 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yes to the Nolitan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Booked a couple of nights at The Nolitan recently because my usual favorites were sold out. I had very low expectations but love the neighborhood. I have to say, I was impressed from the first minute I walked in the door. The staff was old school accommodating and helpful, but also fun and charming. By the time I checked out I was on first name basis with the whole staff!

Rooms were small but well designed. Bed was comfortable with good linens. Continental breakfast could be expanded a bit, but it was well presented and the coffee was good.

I would stay here again, for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    211
    46
    23
    14
See reviews for
121
426
77
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed in the Nolitan hotel for 9 nights in July 2012 and got a very good rate on Quikbook. Note that the hotel is having major renovation on the ground floor and there is no restaurant. We didn't hear any noise from the works though.

Pros:
- roof terrace. Huge and usually deserted. No umbrellas though.
- Our room had a very small balcony, which was nice, although far too thin to really sit on.
- wifi was free although the speed, and coverage, was patchy.
- free breakfast, although just filter coffee, tea bags and some bagels, was adequate.
- fantastic part of New York to visit. We ate nearly every night nearby and the restaurants were great, if expensive.
- bathroom was well laid out and the shower didn't flood the bathroom. The toilet was separate, which was unusual but a nice touch.

Cons:
- noisy airconditioning. The filter needed changing on arrival but the hotel staff had not noticed.
- housekeeping staff's knowledge of English was poor, but the standard of cleaning was good.
- wifi speed was slow.
- no international TV channels available, not even CNN international. So no Olympics until NBC told us we could watch it.
- no space to store clothes. We had to pile things on top of the minibar fridge.
- bed was tiny. If that was a Queen bed I'm a Dutchman. And for a room with a balcony which wasn't the smallest in the hotel, that room was small.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belgian_EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

My wife and I lived in NYC for 20 years and now come back every couple months to visit friends. We've stayed at about 10 NYC hotels now, all in the $180-300 price range. Our recent stay at the Nolitan (our first time there) puts them at the top of our NYC hotel list.

The room design was really fun and quirky. For example, the toilet was in its own room, away from the sink and shower. The shower had a clear glass wall to the bedroom (and a privacy curtain for the prudish). Floor-to-ceiling windows with great views from our high-floor room (8th). Bare cement ceiling and wall contrasted by high-end fixtures with other walls dressed in white plaster.

Staff were helpful and nice. The team seemed down-to-earth and authentic.

Continental breakfast hit the spot - bagels, cream cheese, yogurt, pastries, coffee and juices.

Nolita is a great place to explore and close to the hustle of SOHO.

We'll be back, soon.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor (805) and had a terrific view with a balcony facing uptown. I expect that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InternationalHorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

I just got back from a work trip to New York City and stayed at a (relatively) new boutique hotel in Lower Manhattan. I wasn't familiar with area, but it is a great neighborhood for walking -- small shops, great food.

I got a great deal (I own my business) and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miguel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Great location. Great look. Small but well-appointed rooms that effectively handles the space. Great rooftop space. Very good continental breakfast...best eaten on the roof. Enjoyed using bike...did not use skateboard because my life insurance is not paid up. There were some inconsistency with details: first shower leaked tremendously so moved into new room. WiFi did not work in our room(s). DirectTV reception was horrible...unsure whom to blame. Turn down service and morning paper were available but not provided every day. The very professional staff tried to solve problems but not all problems could be solved. Loved the place, would definitely recommend it, but Manhattan boutique hotels should be closer to perfect.

Room Tip: If you are not an urban-dweller and you want to have a great uptown view then consider some sort of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FredS2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

New favorite. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Conveniently located near shopping and restaurants without having high traffic in front of your hotel. Love the balcony. Very reasonably priced considering it's NYC and best part is that unlike other hotels, they do not try to rob you blind with the mini bar. Free wifi - super bonus.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9Kblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Love the Nolitan and will definitely be back. We stayed for my wife's birthday and upon returning from dinner we found a card & bottle of Prosecco on ice waiting for us. What a classy customer service move. A+.

The staff were all extremely friendly, helpful, and polite. No attitudes, no short answers, nothing but smiles and a genuine desire to help answer any questions we had.

The room was on the small side, but was ultra modern and very clean. We loved it as it's definitely our preferred style. The bed was so comfortable we slept like babies. Everything worked great from the AC, to the tv, to the shower and toilet. No issues at all. New release movies are $18 which we found exorbitant so we didn't bother, but the mini bar prices are really good - $3 beers?? Yes please.

Can't say enough about the location - two blocks west and you're in Soho, 1 block south and you're on the border of Chinatown and Little Italy. Head north and you're in the East Village in no time. 25 min walk south to the Brooklyn Bridge. Simply perfect.

The rooftop deck is worth the price of admission alone. The views are seriously insane and it's open 24 hrs. We took a ton of photos and sat up there with a beer/cocktail and just soaked it all in.

I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone. Yes, it's pricey, so perhaps not for more than 3 or 4 nights - depending on your budget, but welcome to New York prices. I had no issue paying what we did given the reasons I've stated in this review.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AForAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#35 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#189 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Property: The Nolitan Hotel
Address: 30 Kenmare St, New York City, NY 10012-4613
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Nolita , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing