We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern & Fun”
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Nolitan Hotel
Ranked #165 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed at the Nolitan with a family group for my son's wedding a few days after Christmas. We received a pretty good rate for Manhattan as a group booking, and we all had a good stay!

The rooms are very small but very efficiently laid out. We said it reminded us of those sample display rooms at IKEA! The bed was outstanding, especially the linens, some of the best we have ever slept on. The shower configuration was interesting, with glass walls on opposite sides, and a curtain on the room side for privacy but none on the sink side (and no door). Having the toilet in a separate little room helps.

There is no dresser or place to open a suitcase other than the bed, but the closet is large enough to store everything. We had emptied the mini-fridge (it is FULL of items to purchase!) and used it to cool our own drinks.

The continental breakfast is minimal, but the items that are available are tasty. There are no tables in the lobby, but several comfy seating areas to relax and have your pastry and coffee or tea.

The weather during our stay was cold and wet, so we did not use the complimentary bikes (although we saw some people returning theirs after using them in the rain!). The walk to the Spring Street subway station isn't bad, 2-3 blocks. It's a good location, as long as you are willing to use the subway or a taxi to get to Times Square and beyond. The area around the hotel is fun, with several nice shops and cafes.

They were remodeling the restaurant while we were there, which included a temporary lobby entrance, but it was not a problem. We parked our car in the garage across the street and did not use it again until we left. It's not very clear (at least to us non-Manhattanites!) what the procedure is, but you pull in and stop by the office door just off the street. They will come out and give you a ticket, then park your car for you. (They will also do this from the hotel, but it is more expensive. To do it yourself at the garage is only about 20 yards further than the hotel entrance!) I only mention this because we were thinking we would be parking it ourselves, and have time to gather our things from the van at that time. Instead, we had to kind of scramble to get everything we needed out of the van to take it across the street to the hotel. Not a big deal, just something we were not aware of.

We enjoyed our stay and, depending on price, would choose the Nolitan again for a Manhattan stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank subtchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 978 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2013

Location! Location! Location! This is a wonderful location with a contemporary New York touch. It is located at the crossroads of quite a few neighborhoods that offer the diversity that is New York life. It will be perfect when the on-site restaurant is finished although the continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese offerings are quite nice. There are, in fact, plenty of restaurants near by. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Be sure to visit the rooftop terrace. Views are beautiful. We were on the 9th floor and had great "city" views from our room. The room was very efficiently designed with King bed to meet all needs without wasting space. Will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: We were on 9th floor so very little noise from street. Requested "city" view and could see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sococindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

There's really very little to complain about with regards to the Nolitan. It's got a terrific location in a really interesting, walkable neighborhood. The smallish rooms have been cleverly designed to maximize space and comfort. The staff is helpful and accommodating, and the complimentary continental breakfast and evening wine and snacks are always a nice feature.

I can't quite give the place five stars, since the renovation of their restaurant space has created some noise and draft issues. Nothing dire, but temporary nuisance enough to keep the place from fulfilling its potential. I would definitely stay here again, as it's steps from terrific restaurants and shops, at an intersection of a bunch of interesting neighborhoods, and convenient to public transportation to the rest of the city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DPW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

First time to NYC and very glad we chose to stay at the Nolitan! We stayed from 23rd Dec to 1st Jan - I had heard and read many good things about this hotel before our trip and it was also in the ideal location for us! We couldn't stand the thought of staying around midtown with the masses of other tourists and wanted an area that was more 'low key'.

The hotel is right in the heart of downtown and walking distance to Soho, Chinatown, Little Italy, many fantastic restaurants, cafes, shops and the subway stops are close by in every direction you walk. The hotel is on quite a busy road but don't let this put you off, as soon as your off Kenmare street its like your in a different world! Also as mentioned not as touristy around these parts which was great for us and we felt like more of a local than a tourist.
The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly - they were more than happy to give tips on whats good to do in the area and help with any querie we had.
The rooms were very well designed with a good layout and very clean however they are quite small but from what I hear most rooms across NYC are small! We stayed in the deluxe queen room with balcony and were on the 9th floor and had a great view of the city and Empire State Building. I had read that people complained about the street noise level but we didn't find the outside traffic noise to be an issue at all - I'm not sure if this is more of a problem on lower levels.
The hotel offers free bike rental which we thought was great and qw made use of this a couple of times, its on a first in first serve basis.
Free wine and cheese daily in the afternoons was a nice touch - it was nice to pop down for a glass of wine and snack before heading out for the evening. Its also a good way to meet other hotel guests staying there and get to know the staff better.
Also the hotel is the great value for money. NYC accomodation is so overpriced and I was pleasantly surprised how reasonable the room prices were considering the location, included continental breakfast, bike hire, wine and cheese etc etc.

The things we didn't love was we struggled to put our suitcases anywhere in the room as it was so small and they were always in the way, especially by the end of our stay as we had four large suticases!
The restuarant wasn't opened yet (which isn't a fault of the hotel) it was just disappointing that we didn't get a chance to enjoy and the lobby was more of a construction site at the time. We were told that this is meant to be up and running mid/end Jan.
Continental breakfast was just okay which was served in the lobby - just juice, coffee and pastries - we only stopped by once. Maybe when the restuarant is up and running this may change and they may offer more of a selection.

If we ever return to NYC we would stay here again. I think the opening of the restuarant will be a huge benefit to this small boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This is a 110% perfect and affordable hotel, excellent location and steps away from Little Italy which is within China Town, Nolita (North of Little Italy is steps away from Soho (South of Houston Street) world famous shopping center and near the train station to take you to theaters and Times SQ. This is the only hotel in Nolita and it is in the middle of Greenwich Village, Soho/Tribeca (Triangle below Canal Street) and Lower East Side,
The staff are very friendly, breakfast was standard buffet with rich assortment of bread: muffins, bagels, croissants, pastries, also Granola serial, yogurts, cream cheese, low fat milk, soy milk and and assortment of coffee & tee, juice etc. The wine and cheese from 6PM to 8PM has the large assortment of snacks I have ever experienced in any of the hotels ever with premier choices of wine. The hotel hostess Joy is a joy to be in the company with, she will be one friend you will leave behind in New York. I remember when this hotel was building and always wanted to stay there, we loved it so much, we stayed 9 nights there and although we moved to two different hotels as part of hour holiday vacation, Nolita was the best and fun neighborhood streets to hang out in. Out of the 3 hotels that we spent out Holidays in NYC, Nolitan is the hotel we still talk about home of all the good times we brought back with us. Don't forget to check the roof top for the spectacular view of NYC.

Room Tip: Get the view of Williams-burg Bridge room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank et49589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We had two adjacent rooms at the Nolitan in very cold weather. One was on the corner of the building, with large windows and was perpetually chilly, even with the very loud ventilation turned way up. The bathroom vent fan was like a 747 taking off. The staff were very concerned when we informed them. The other room was fine. The neighborhood is of course wonderful for walking.

Room Tip: Corner rooms in winter may be an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rrrosner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Second time at the Nolitan. We loved our first stay when it opened over a year ago and enjoyed it even more this time. The staff is professional and very attentive. We tried a corner room this time and were impressed with the layout and the in room tub. Our room was clean and comfortable. We spent some time in the lobby enjoying complimentary wine and cheese. There was complimentary coffee available in the lobby in the morning along with juice and pastries. We love the location of this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. The restaurant was under renovation so we hope to try it the next time we visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank copnyct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 471 in New York City
784 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 471 in New York City
730 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 471 in New York City
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#85 of 471 in New York City
2,591 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#164 of 471 in New York City
3,076 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#68 of 471 in New York City
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Address: 30 Kenmare St, New York City, NY 10012-4613
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Nolita , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £144 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing