We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Nolitan!”
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Nolitan Hotel
Ranked #139 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Thank you Nolitan!”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

As a weekend getaway, the Nolitan is a perfect place to stay. Located conveniently in "Nolita" the hotel is centrally located from everything you want to do to relax and enjoy a cultured weekend in the city. Minutes away from bustling Chinatown or Little Italy, you can also change pace of neighborhoods just a few minute walk in the opposite direction towards Soho. The surrounding neighborhoods offer every sort of cuisine you could imagine, and endless shopping on Broadway. (Only a walk away!)

Upon check in, the staff was super friendly and helpful in offering any assistance to make our stay more enjoyable. The rooms... beautiful, clean, crisp, and mod. I think it was one of the most comfortable beds I had slept in. I am highly allergic to just about everything and I couldn't have felt healthier the weekend we stayed at the Nolita.

If you're looking for clean, convenient, and comfortable... I would highly recommend the Nolita. It was a pleasant surprise and we hope to return for another weekend getaway.

Room Tip: We were on a higher floor but all guests can access the rooftop which makes for a perfect photo op!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    217
    46
    25
    14
See reviews for
127
435
79
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Great newish hotel in coolest area of New York - Nolita. Staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. Room kind of small but neat and tastefully decorated. Little noisy from the street at night but earplugs and having the fan on solved that problem - probably like this anywhere on Manhattan. Great that you can use the hotel's bicycles, skateboards etc. Due to jetlag we were kind of up early so had breakfast a few mornings in the hotel restaurant and food was good - it opens 7am unlike most places in the area which open 8.30am. All in all a great stay and will definitely be back at Nolitan next time in NYC. Hopefully they get their bar opened on the rooftop which has great views over Williamsburg bridge.

Room Tip: We had high up room which has good views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clintsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Amazing service is the cornerstone of the wonderful experience at the Nolitan. As some people know, it has been pretty horribly rainy weather in New York, and I was really dreading a couple days in the city with a 3-month old baby in tow-- waiting outside for taxis, hauling a stroller around, waiting until 3pm to check in, noise from neighbors and no room for the pack and play. However, from the moment we arrived, soaking wet and really tired, our every need was met and exceeded. We were given a room upgrade to a Corner King and the view and space were cleverly laid out and inviting; loved the small touches like a super cozy cashmere throw at the end of the bed. Best of all, they let us check in early-- total godsend when you have a baby in tow! I'm not saying they will always be able to do this, but the fact that they were willing to try to get us in ahead of time, shows flexibility and this is a sure sign of really good service. They advised us ahead of time that parking next door, instead of using a valet would save us $20/day which is really nice of them. Also, on more than one occasion, the doormen stood outside in the pouring rain to hail us a taxi. Due to the rain, there were not many available in the area but they must have waiting outside for at least 15 minutes, and it was really pouring!

They had a happy hour in the lobby lounge with complimentary red wine/white wine/cava and dried fruit, two kinds of cheese, grapes, crackers, nuts and a Bed Head pyjama trunk show. This was so fun because all the staff were in pajamas for the event and the wine and snacks were delicious! The hotel is clearly aimed at hip, travel savvy people of all ages, but one may not initially think of bringing a child. I can personally say, I felt completely looked after and our baby had a good time too!

This hotel is lovely, the staff is uncompromisingly kind, accommodating and fun!

Room Tip: If you enjoy lots of light during the day, no matter how cloudy and gorgeous views, spring for a cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skittletap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in Feb in the winter cold and it was beautiful. Lovely breakfasts and perfect location for exploring the nearby boroughs. Walked the whole southern end of Manhattan island and shopped every day with easy walk home and to cafes. The room was small without being cramped but that's what they all are in NYC, and you don't need much more. Modern upholsteries and all the luxury items you could want. It was great just hanging around downstairs in the lobby reading and talking to the staff for awesome local tips on eateries and bars. This place is great and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Balcony room with a view is the ticket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven_Carly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Lying in bed I had an unobstructed view of the empire state building. The service was great, the new restaurant has good French cuisine. The bar is worth a visit, extensive selection. If you stay be sure to check out the fiat cafe, my pick for best cup of coffee in the city, and Pravda Russian vodka bar, great place!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvington, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night, and I have to give it the highest compliment that I can come up with: thoughtful. The room and decor were absolutely amazing - the space planning was perfect in the room, and more than comfortable. Most of all, they provided everything you could imagine, with taste and grace. There was even an umbrella in our room for our use (thank goodness, because it poured rain that night). The room was spotlessly clean. The perfect view of the Empire State Building from our room was breathtaking ( also especially from the amazing roof deck!).The staff were WONDERFUL - we asked for a restaurant recommendation and they really took into consideration what kind of food we liked and were interested to try. Every place that they recommended was within walking distance, and honestly, where we ended up was one of the best meals of my life, in an absolutely charming environment. The sleep was fantastic - the pillows are like clouds - and the climate control system gave us just the right temperature all night. There was also an IPOD dock and alarm clock by the bed. All in all, this was definitely the most stylish and comfortable stay we've ever had in New York, if not all our travels. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aurora1283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We´ve just arrived back home after 4 nights in New York, staying at The Nolitan Hotel. The last thing I promised Kimberley was to give an honest review in here. So here goes;
As I said in the heading; what more could you want? Location was very good. In a local New York neighborhood, that gave you the feeling of being in the city itself. Yet close to Soho shopping and the charm of Little Italy. Easy to walk down to Financial district, Battery Park and Ground Zero. The room (we were on the 7th floor) was small, but stylish. And the bed was very comfy. Small terrace (that we did not use...too hot!). All amenities in place, and separate wc/bathroom is also on the positive note. Only thing that wasn´t all that good, was the a/c that made a lot of noise in the night. Sounded like a truck starting at times...

Lobby and restaurant - very nice with a very cool and relaxed atmosphere. The guys at the reception and restaurant were very accommodating and service minded (like all americans are!). The complementary wine and cheese at 5pm was very nice and made for a great atmosphere.

My wife injured her leg the day before we arrived, so she came on crutches and we had to rent a wheelchair. When we were leaving, Kimberley arranged for the rental agency to pick up the chair, saving us the trouble. Well done - those are the things that takes the place from good to great. A small tip though; make more out of the rooftop terrace...

We had a great time in New York, and will definitely come back. Will we stay at the Nolitan next time? 100% yes.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms with the a/c noise... we stayed on the 7th floor, makes a great view to the Empir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stoney28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 467 in New York City
464 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#61 of 467 in New York City
496 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#88 of 467 in New York City
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#16 of 467 in New York City
642 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#78 of 467 in New York City
652 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#83 of 467 in New York City
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Property: The Nolitan Hotel
Address: 30 Kenmare St, New York City, NY 10012-4613
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Nolita , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing