We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at the Nolitan”
Review of The Nolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Nolitan Hotel
Ranked #130 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Nolitan”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here for four days while visiting New York and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. Location is really central and the staff were excellent - extremely pleasant and helpful. The rooms are small but I didn't really expect them to be bigger. At the same time they are trendy and spotless and the hotel itself is in an excellent location just beside Little Italy. Overall, we had a great experience and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaMc129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    212
    46
    24
    14
See reviews for
122
430
77
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Almost don't want to share this amazing hotel in my favorite location because I want it all to myself! Great experience & extremely nice service! Thanks Jennifer for saving my husband & I when we were stranded at LGA w/an upgrade & complimentary bottle of wine! Yaaaay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I detest NYC. But alas I often have to visit the city for work. The first time my boss sent me there I stayed at the Nolitan and now I make that a condition of my travel. This hotel is amazing! Most hotels have the same boring decor and generic staff. The Nolitan is simply beautiful and the staff is stellar!

Room Tip: Spring for the rooms on the higher floors if you can. They're bigger and the noise from the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smaddox42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer V, General Manager at The Nolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for the fabulous review! We appreciate your admiration and recommendation of The Nolitan and are thrilled that you have chosen us as your home away from home.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I wish I could be writing this review about our stay at the property, but the weather has not cooperated and we had to cancel. I feel the need to write about Joy in reservations. She was amazing to speak with. She was friendly and genuinely seemed disappointed that we were not coming. I have never experienced this before - she made me want to visit the Nolitan as soon as possible another time. She described how great the neighborhood is and all the things to do when we do make it up. I am looking forward to visiting when the weather gets a bit better and meeting Joy and the other staff at this property. I was truly impressed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leberhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer V, General Manager at The Nolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
We are so appreciative of this review. Thank you for this very special comment about Joy; she is truly an amazing member of our team. I will be sure to share your sentiments with her. Your encounter with Joy offers great insight into what The Nolitan experience is like.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon.

Warm regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Super cool, hip hotel. Fabulous position. Great staff at the front desk, great rooms, great roof terrace. A really special place to stay. Only downside is the cafe which is very unorganised, run by disinterested staff and a very poor reflection of the Nolitan. My advice would be to walk across the street to the butchers daughter (recommendation of the staff) for a delicious breakfast. Overall, great place to stay.

Room Tip: Go as high as possible for reduced noise from the traffic. Some rooms have balconies which offer ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellposse14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer V, General Manager at The Nolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Nolitan. First and foremost, on behalf of the restaurant ownership, I apologize for your service experience. I have shared your feedback with the owners and am certain they will address the concerns appropriately. As for your hotel experience, I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to our “special place” again soon.

Warm regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The Nolitan Hotel must be one of the hippest places to stay in New York City. My partner and I were looking for something pretty central with enough to keep us occupied indoors if the weather got bad. The Nolitan might be small but it is just a sensational place to stay, and it ticked all the boxes for us.

Our arrival was smoothly handled by Dhillon and the rest of the reception staff, all of whom were young, friendly, professional and helpful without descending into over-casual or over-familiar. A good balance. We managed to arrive at happy hour and chilled glasses of bubbly were pressed into our hands as we checked in.

Our room was pretty small – I’ve only seen smaller in Japan – but beautifully appointed and with little touches like excellent quality toiletries and red slippers and robes and plenty of storage and hanging space and good lighting. We didn't have a kettle in the room (being serious tea drinkers a kettle is essential for us) but one call to reception got us a very stylish kettle (of course) and some mugs. So just ask!

We had a perfect view of the uptown skyline including the Empire State Building decked out in its red and green Christmas colours – ask for a north-facing room on a high floor. We didn’t have a balcony – some rooms do and some don’t. The balconies are tiny in any case, but in warmer weather it might be nice to ask for one.

As mentioned, happy hour starts around 6pm until 8pm and you can chill out in the leather seats at reception quaffing really rather decent red, white and sparkling wine and nibbling on cheese and crackers and nuts. A nice time to relax before heading on out for a busy night in the Village.

Wifi is free and the signal is strong in the rooms and at reception.

As mentioned before, the staff were all great and couldn’t do enough for us. There is a restaurant on site but we didn’t eat there, just had a drink at the bar. You can borrow a PlayStation if you want to stay in, or a skateboard if you want to get around the neighbourhood a little more quickly.

There are countless great places to eat and drink nearby – just walk out the door and into whatever place takes your fancy. They’re all great. But don’t miss the Bowery Diner just a couple of blocks away on Bowery Street. A sensational modern diner – and the bloody Marys and mimosas at breakfast are a great pick-me-up after a heavy night.

Can’t imagine staying anywhere else in New York when we come back again next year. Oh –and don’t miss the rooftop terrace with 360 degree views of the best skyline in the world!

Room Tip: North facing rooms on the higher floors will have a great view of the uptown skyline. Ask for a balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mairead D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer V, General Manager at The Nolitan Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. It was such a lovely review and very much appreciated. In your profile, we have noted your preference for a tea kettle and it will certainly be in your room upon your next arrival. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Nolita is a great neighborhood and this classy, stylish boutique hotel is right in the heart of everything. Trendy shops and restaurants, Little Italy, Soho, and subway stops are all within a few minutes walk - which is perfect on a freezing January day! Very helpful and friendly front desk. Don't miss their restaurant - Cantine Parisienne. We had a delicious brunch that was surprisingly inexpensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYPNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#98 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nolitan Hotel

Property: The Nolitan Hotel
Address: 30 Kenmare St, New York City, NY 10012-4613
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Nolita , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Nolitan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nolita, Manhattan’s most historic downtown neighborhood, the Nolitan Hotel is the first luxury boutique hotel to open its doors in this authentic New York City district. The Nolitan Hotel bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to experience the next level of indulgence or as we like to say, life as a Nolitan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Nolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing