We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best/most welcoming hotels I have evern been to.”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #94 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, CT
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best/most welcoming hotels I have evern been to.”
Reviewed 13 March 2011

This is one of the best places I have ever stayed. From the moment I walked in and our host, Jenny, greeted us with a place to sit and immediately offered us a beverage, to the Sunday morning coffee at the common table in the front of the restaurant, this place is amazing. Our room was spectacular. The bathroom with rain shower was very relaxing. The free snacks and softdrinks in the room were yummy! And I have to say - the glass of wine that was offered to us as we were waiting for friends to come pick us up on Saturday night - was spectacular. The way they treat you is that you feel like you are in someones home - a big- beautiful- luxurious home. The greatest part is that this place is not snooty at all. We have stayed at W-hotels several times and found this place so much more relaxing and enjoyable. We cannot wait to get back to Andaz!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,651
    527
    165
    62
    35
See reviews for
504
957
140
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

I really like the Andaz collection by Hyatt. All hotel are very modern and staff are all very knowledgeable about area. Rooms are very modern and clean as well. I stayed here to attend the US Open in Flushing Meadows, only a few blocks away from subway.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMatt05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

This hotels is outstanding. The staff, room, bar, & restaurant all five star. Andaz gives new meaning to the word "boutique". For those that gave any negative reviews two words "stay home".

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJLNY4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2011

I attended a work event that was hosted at the 5th Avenue Andaz and it was incredible. The space was weel thought out, the service was attentive but not obnoxious, and the food was incredible. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmyers2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We absolutely loved our stay at the Andaz. Hyatt really gets it right with this brand. The hotel is well located in midtown with a very warm and attentive staff. There is a good restaurant, a cool bar and nice meeting spaces. The rooms are clean and comfortable but with a few little quirks. The bed is wonderful and the bathroom is large and luxurious. However, the shower is so large that it actually gets a bit cold because there is no door. The desk chair is strange and uncomfortable and there is no closet but instead a glass and chrome display "space". Despite these minor quirks this is our new favorite NY hotel and we will defintiely be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We had our company party at the Andaz. It was by far one of the best corporate events
I've attended. There were tons of staff who were very attentive. The food was amazing and bar service was great as well. The vibe was totally cool and made it feel like you were at a really cool upscale party at someone's home. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cre40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Came to the Andaz for a work party, and was blown away by the place. They had us (about 500 people) in an amazing space, with friendly, attentive staff and several efficient and well-organized bars. The decor was modern and beautiful without being OTT. Best part of it was, however, the food. They have chefs cooking in the room with you which added some real theater to the event. And the food was delicious.

After the event, everyone at work was raving about Andaz. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyH35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 466 in New York City
3,581 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 466 in New York City
3,975 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 466 in New York City
2,911 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#63 of 466 in New York City
6,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Property: Andaz 5th Avenue
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#51 Green Hotel in New York City
#77 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing