We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Andaz 5th Avenue
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
East Bridge(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Fitness centre
Dylan Hotel NYC(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Bryant Park Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Mansfield(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sofitel New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,625)
Filter reviews
2,625 results
Traveller rating
1,775
560
185
69
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,775
560
185
69
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbryant parkthe ny public librarysplash suitenon alcoholic beveragescomplimentary mini barnorth towernew yorkhyatt pointsloft roomcomplimentary winerain showerlight switcheshuge showerdiamond membertimes squaregrand central stationthe check in process
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,236 - 2,241 of 2,625 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2011

This is my first time writing a review on Trip Advisor & I really felt I needed to share what a great experience it was staying at the Andaz. Firstly the welcome from the staff & the process of checking is great - after a long journey it was so nice to be warmly greeted by Elaine with refreshments, taken to our room where we were shown how to use all the mod cons & info about the hotel services. The location is perfect & it was lovely that Bryant Park was so close. The restaurant & bar was great too - the food & service top notch. If we were returning to NYC we would definitely stay here again & I recommend it to you all.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2011

Thank you for sharing your feedback, and in particular, for recognizing Elaine. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

This is a wonderful hotel we were there for 6 nights.

The checkin process was a breeze. The moment you enter the hotel the staff greats you with a smile and makes sure that they get you to your room quickily.

The hotel is simple modern very clean lines and the rooms are spacious very large windows that let the light in and the windows open a great plus in NY.

The bathroom was great with a rain shower. The best part of the hotel is the staff is there to help you with anything you need during your stay.

This is a wonderful hotel and thanks again for great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

I've selfishly only ever used this site to help with research for picking a hotel, but because of the great service, beautiful spacious room and great location of this hotel I was compelled to write this review.
The Andaz is really beautiful - it's funky and trendy but not pretentious. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and we would stay there again no doubt. The only tips I would offer, make sure to leave a couple dollars for the maid and you'll be really taken care of. We forgot to do this at first and felt the subtle consequences. The only other piece of warning I would give, is this; because this hotel is right on 5th avenue, it does have a tendancy to get a little bit noisey in the mornings with the traffic. Nothing that couldn't be igrnored however, and it was worth it anyway for the spectacular view of the public library and 5th avenue! A great hotel in a great location - I'd recommend it for sure, and I'm farily picky about this stuff!

Room Tip: as is the case in NYC, $ talks
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trendytraveller31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

The hotel is very well located across 5th Ave. From the NY Public Library and Bryant Park. When you arrive you are greeted by "hosts", young people dressed in black, who offer you coffee, check you in...with no front desk, reminiscent of The Apple Store. They are the ones who help with luggage, hail taxis and seem to do just about everything else. Our room was ready by around 3:30, which was not bad as we checked our luggage earlier and went out.
The room was large, with a sort of pointless front room containing work desk and a couple of chairs and a mounted flat screen TV. The bedroom is nice sized and has another mounted flat screen. Nice touches....mini-bar contains free bottled water and snacks and other non-alcoholic drinks. I liked the power window blinds but some of the features were too groovy, like little power switches for lights, blinds and a/c that were very difficult to read, poor lighting in the over-sized bathroom, and very large shower with a rain shower head and useless foot washer that may have looked cool, but was difficult to operate. I would have preferred a normal shower head that was easy to turn on and off, maybe a door or curtain on the shower, better lighting on the double sinks, and maybe a smaller shower and a larger, more useful front room.
Having said all that, our 3rd floor room was quiet with nice bedding; the flat screen TV was excellent, the email check-out was cool, the hosts were very accommodating, and we loved having free gourmet coffee available in the lobby, morning and afternoon, along with the free drinks and snacks in the mini-fridge in the room. The location was excellent, a short walk to Times Square, a short ride to Penn Station and just across the street from a subway stop. So, there was a little style over substance in some ways, but all in all, I have to recommend the Andaz.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DannyGHouston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2011

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the service you received and your stay overall! As for the lighting panels and the lighting in general, we have certainly taken this feedback to heart and will be starting replacements for both soon. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

The hotel is hard to find , located just off 5th avenue across from the NY library with a nondiscript frontage. Upon arrival, we had to go inside and find someone to help us with our luggage. Check in was in a sparse lobby. We were offered drinks and then given a lesser room, as ours wasn't ready... though it was way after check in time and we actually checked in online 5 hours before...

The Room- very modern and sparse with little storage space, mainly a small glass enclosed closet. There was no place to store our bags. All lights were on touch pad which was a nice touch, but the buttons for the toilet were outside the bathroom. The free drinks/snacks were great but were rarely replenished. They also did not do turn down even though we asked for it until we got the manager involved. The bed is very comfortable, but they do not use top sheets- we had to ask 3 times and then finally ask a manger to get one. Free wifi. Room service was on time and hot and delicious.

The Gym- Nicely appointed though no clocks... TVs on all cardio, a small yoga area. Water available and headsets and cold towels a nice touch.

Restaurant/downstairs bar- Awesome- highly recommend the bar with open air kitchen-very cool space in the basement.

Location- great- a short walk to Bryant Park and Times Square. A good run down 5th avenue to Central Park and shops. Close to Grand Central Station.

Service- overall we were dissappointed. From the room not being what we were promised, to no turn down, to not replensihing the snacks... Also, it was impossible to find anyone at the door to get us a taxi or help us with baggage leaving or coming. And having to ask multiple times for something to be fixed is not ideal. Towards the end, housekeeping was much better.

I think if they can fix these things, the place would be great for a business traveler or couple. Would not return though as there are so many other places to stay with better service!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nickied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2011

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I'm sorry to hear that your minibar was not replenished, and that your turndown was not completed! We are investigating what happened to make sure that this is corrected for the future.

We sincerely hope that you will try us again. Please contact me so that I can personally ensure your next room has plenty of closet space, and that you have flawless experience!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews