We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, perfect hotel”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #92 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location, perfect hotel”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Great location on 5th avenue, opposite New York Public library & Bryant park, very close to Times square, Grand Central station, Empire State, Rockerfeller, central park, MoMa...all of which is in walking distance..no need for cabs or subways unless you get tired of walking. Staff were great, loved all the free hotel bar i.e. all non-alcoholic drinks are free & all the snacks too...complementary!!
Our loft style room was very luxurious & spacious.

Only let down was the room service - choices for dinner where not that great & the food itself was average for a hotel of this calibre.

On the whole great location & great hotel

Room Tip: Corner suite is large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SK1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,655
    528
    165
    62
    35
See reviews for
506
957
140
509
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We loved our stay at the hotel!!! The staff could not have been more attentive or accomodating-from the free coffee, tea, or water from the minute you walked in, to a nice size umbrella for those nasty, rainy days. The best is the free hotel bar-all the soft drinks and organic bars you want!!! What a treat!!! It's definitely the little things that stand out in this hotel that make it so comfortable!!! The rooms are clean and beautiful-I would definitely stay at this hotel again!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This hotel has a great location. It is walking distance to Grand Central Station, great shopping, Central Park and Time Square, but you aren't overwhelmed with tourist when you step out the front door. It is a simple, clean and beautiful hotel. The staff really went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. I arrived in a downpour, soaking wet. As soon as I walked in a very friendly staff member took my bags and handed me a drink. I arrived early and my room was not ready. The staff member handed me a coupon to Lord and Taylor and told me he would call as soon as a room was available. He called in 20 minutes, and showed me to a beautiful, very modern and spacious room. My husband and I have stayed in many places in NYC, and this is our new favorite. It's centrally located, beautiful and very cool. They offer lots of fun perks, like wine in the lobby from 6-9 and complimentary minibar (excluding alcohol). We will return soon!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdlynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I visits NYC frequently. This was my first stay @ The Andaz. Their customer service was superior from the momnent I exited my cab. The staff is friendly and over and beyond my expectations. The room was nothing short of amazing. Just beautiful. From the room to the comlimentarty wine bar and eating at the restaurant. I had a experience I will never forget. I will also never Choose to stay at any other hotel in NYC..I love love love Andaz!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lhall30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
90401
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I love NYC, visit every year, have a keen eye for detail, and have stayed in quite a few boutique hotels like Rivington and LES but nothing like the Andaz. Whoever designed the rooms and the customer service training knows what they are doing. The customer service was impeccable. I was talking with one of their employees and she mentioned that each of them were personally "styled". Impressive. When I walked into the room, I noticed the lighting first, quite dramatic like a high end club. The mixture of high ceilings, wood, stone, glass, and hammered steel were just to my taste. The lighting was "hidden" behind stainless steel "rods", a nice touch. The bathroom shower towel was rolled up and left on the ledge of the shower entrance, another nice touch. The reflective mirror backcoating in the bathroom was designed in shapes. When I turned on the TV, it said welcome "Jon Sumida". Most businesses don't take the time or care to make customer service such a priority. The Andaz does and it felt great. I have to mention one more thing, I needed a cab, so the girl at the lobby door stood out on the street to hail one for me. She stood out there for 1/2 hour for the previous guest. That's service. Thanks Andaz for a lovely stay. I think I've fallen in love with a hotel. Is that possible? I don't know but I'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjs90230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2011

“I usually don’t take the time to respond to surveys, but the overall experience and the quality of your staff made me want to respond…You are doing a GREAT JOB!!!.......I will be staying at your hotel again and again…”

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This is a very hip, very new hotel. The New York TIMES was sort of trough in its review shortly after it opened saying it was "run by teenagers." Definitely stay in the main tower or you'll feel very isolated and have to take two elevators to get to your room.
The lack of a front desk is disconcerting and when we arrived from another hotel with several pieces of luggage. A "host" comes out and asks us if we want a cart? No, we'd like a bellman if that's not too 20th century. Similarly when I was trying to get the laptop in the library to print I had a hard time finding a "host" who wasn't seated chatting up a guest.
This is not an inexpensive hotel and front desk experience matters. Now their rooms are great, the soft drinks and water are free and refilled daily and all in all I'd rather have a nice
room than super-elegant lobby like the Waldorf-Astoria.
If they can learn that dealing with the issues those of us who travel a lot would like dealt with at the front desk, this could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coastda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear Coastda,

Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and are always working on new ways to make the lounge experience more intuitive, and easy for you to get assistance at the time you need.

Warm regards,

Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#13 of 467 in New York City
3,584 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 467 in New York City
3,977 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
2,913 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#63 of 467 in New York City
6,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Property: Andaz 5th Avenue
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#51 Green Hotel in New York City
#75 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing