We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in great location”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #89 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great find in great location”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

If you are looking for something a bit different in New York then you can't go past Andaz 5th Avenue. This new approach to hotels is a refreshing change from the bigger, less personal ones. A special mention to the hosts that look after you from the minute you step in off the street. The location is great and I loved the complimentary glass of wine at night! We did have a leaking ceiling early one morning - still not sure why, but was assured it was a first for the hotel. The manager dealt with this smoothly and efficiently and we were transferred to another (better) room with minimum of fuss. Well done. Look forward to coming back

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxevalueseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,640
    524
    163
    61
    35
See reviews for
500
951
140
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed in the Andaz on our first trip to New York - fantastic rooms with lovely walk in shower. Complimentary mini bar topped up daily is really good when u need water after walking for hours. Excellent location. Down side is the bar which is in the basement and loud and claustrophobic.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sionlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

My experience at the Andaz is reminiscent of when WIZARD OF OZ went from black and white to color. It was magical. The door man who met me was courteous, firiendly and efficient. Then, instead of check in lines, I saw in an antechamber (refreshments available) as a clerk with an iPad came to check me in. She then took me to a room that was tastefully luxurious and modern in a most pleasing manner.

The in-room bar was fully stocked with free refreshments, from beer, juices, and snacks (only whiskey was to be charged). [My two young grad kids loved the apple juice and munchies.]The vast bathroom included the most luxurious shower, that, according to my wife, provided multiple shower heads that gave a shower experience to die for. A mechanical shade came down to shut out both light and New York noise.

While I didn't have time to utilize the fitness center, my wife said that it was top rate. I was at the Andaz for a business conference. The Andaz provided the best business conference serivce that I have ever experienced. The staff was uncommonly polite, available, and helpful. The coffee was fresh and excellent, with a server he handled the complex coffee machine. Our working breakfast included smoked salmon, fresh rasberries, and the best granola and fixings that I have ever tasted.

Our Friday night dinner was excellent. When our conference bar only served wine, the bartender swiftly brought a selection of beers for me and my colleagues.

I was reminded of yesteryear, when I would stay at the Connaught in London and the Sacher Hotel in Vienna. Indeed, my room at the Andaz was more functional and luxurious than at either of the five-star hotels and the price far more modest.

My wfie and I are planning to make the Andaz our home away from home.

Keith Wheelock

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear Philly Traveller 11,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit so much - both for business and pleasure.

Thank you for the delightful feedback, and see you and your family next time!

Warm regards,

Connie
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Andaz turns the check in process on it's head and focuses on personalized service. It starts when you pull up a the curb. A member of their staff greets you at your car, collects your bags, holds the door for you, checks you in, and then escorts you to your room and shows you how to use the various devices in the room. The room was contemporary, spacious and comfortable. Some nice touches include the free (nonalcoholic) refreshments and snacks in the room, the waterfall shower, and the complimentary happy hour(s) in the lobby. The conference center was perfect for our meeting and the staff was outstanding. Finally, it's hard to beat the location, being across the street form the NY Public Library, two blocks from Times Square, and of course, being located on 5th Avenue.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RangersNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We were quite impressed with the service we received as well as the room we were given. The hotel is conveniently located near 5th Ave and 42nd St. in Manhattan. We were only able to stay one day at the hotel, but look forward to stayig there again the next time we go to NYC.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyattguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Perfect location! 5 minutes walk from the best shopping and direct walk to Central Park. Also a very easy journey from JFK. Stylishly decorated with equally stylish staff, they wear black, hold the door for you, don't miss a thing, go out of their way to ensure a perfect stay and they smile (unlike some hotels). We had a studio with floor to ceiling views of Bryant Park via NYC library.... all the city views... but yet silent inside! The room design was stunning... large, light, clean. I loved the huge granite shower with foot bath (perfect for walking the worlds most fun city). The gym is excellent, water and towels provided, cardio and weights... the staff can point you on some great runs up to and around Central Park.

I have stayed in many New York hotels, but this is the one I dream of at night! I would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Just ask... no matter what!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HelenaMildmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I stayed with my sis for 3days, at this hotel in November 2011. It was a great experience!The hotel is a very new property and the interior is very modern and sleek.There is a luxurious feel, without the 5 star hotel price!.I loved the hotel restaurant, the food is innovative and ingredients are all locally sourced. The bathroom is spectacular.I would recommend this hotel to a younger, fashionista type crowd. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinklady1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,551 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#27 of 468 in New York City
3,944 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,851 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 468 in New York City
6,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Property: Andaz 5th Avenue
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#48 Green Hotel in New York City
#72 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing