We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #84 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We have just arrived back home after staying 4 nights in the Andaz 5th Ave. This is a fantastic Hotel, with very attentive staff. The complimentary glass of wine (or 2) between 6 is 9 is very nice after a long day sightseeing and shopping! And the free mini bar for soft drinks also a nice touch. Overall we cannot fault the service at the Andaz and hopefully we will have the opportunity to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,679
    530
    168
    62
    35
See reviews for
516
963
147
515
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Perfect location, outstanding customer service, gorgeous room with amazing bathroom, comfiest bed, free mini bar!
I can't rate this hotel any higher, simply perfect! I will never stay anywhere else now whenever I go to New York. Would give it 6 out of 5 of I could. Help to make this the best holiday I've ever been on.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toolbandphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Found this hotel through Expedia and liked the location. Our taxi driver was the worst as it took him 1/2hr to find the hotel as the hotel front door is actually located on Library Way. Location of the hotel itself is great as across from it was Bryan Park and the Library. Shopping close by as well.

The staff were very friendly, responsive and accommodating. I Liked the complementary non-alcoholic beverage and snacks in the hotel room.

I would really recommend anyone to stay at the, "Respire by Hyatt – Hypo-Allergenic Rooms" as I noted that the rooms were cleaner in the bed area more than a regular room. Unfortunately, the staff who took us to our room (Rm 616) did not realize that we had a Respire room and we called host and were able to change to a Respire room swiftly. As we changed to Rm 516, we checked the bed and saw one pillow had some stains (several dark grey-like stains and one brown spot) on it. Called host again and Staff came up and examined the pillow and asked us if we wanted to replace the sheets or change room. We were able to change to another Respire room (Rm 515). In our hotel room, we found no problems with the bed and all. Only thing I did find was a potato chip located by the refrigerator crevasse, which the hotel cleaning staff have missed and I just threw it away.

Overall, would highly recommend this hotel given the series of errors that I have encountered at this hotel as they understood the level of comfort I had. It is more quiet and has a boutique feel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Space_chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

If you are looking for something a bit different in New York then you can't go past Andaz 5th Avenue. This new approach to hotels is a refreshing change from the bigger, less personal ones. A special mention to the hosts that look after you from the minute you step in off the street. The location is great and I loved the complimentary glass of wine at night! We did have a leaking ceiling early one morning - still not sure why, but was assured it was a first for the hotel. The manager dealt with this smoothly and efficiently and we were transferred to another (better) room with minimum of fuss. Well done. Look forward to coming back

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxevalueseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed in the Andaz on our first trip to New York - fantastic rooms with lovely walk in shower. Complimentary mini bar topped up daily is really good when u need water after walking for hours. Excellent location. Down side is the bar which is in the basement and loud and claustrophobic.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sionlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

My experience at the Andaz is reminiscent of when WIZARD OF OZ went from black and white to color. It was magical. The door man who met me was courteous, firiendly and efficient. Then, instead of check in lines, I saw in an antechamber (refreshments available) as a clerk with an iPad came to check me in. She then took me to a room that was tastefully luxurious and modern in a most pleasing manner.

The in-room bar was fully stocked with free refreshments, from beer, juices, and snacks (only whiskey was to be charged). [My two young grad kids loved the apple juice and munchies.]The vast bathroom included the most luxurious shower, that, according to my wife, provided multiple shower heads that gave a shower experience to die for. A mechanical shade came down to shut out both light and New York noise.

While I didn't have time to utilize the fitness center, my wife said that it was top rate. I was at the Andaz for a business conference. The Andaz provided the best business conference serivce that I have ever experienced. The staff was uncommonly polite, available, and helpful. The coffee was fresh and excellent, with a server he handled the complex coffee machine. Our working breakfast included smoked salmon, fresh rasberries, and the best granola and fixings that I have ever tasted.

Our Friday night dinner was excellent. When our conference bar only served wine, the bartender swiftly brought a selection of beers for me and my colleagues.

I was reminded of yesteryear, when I would stay at the Connaught in London and the Sacher Hotel in Vienna. Indeed, my room at the Andaz was more functional and luxurious than at either of the five-star hotels and the price far more modest.

My wfie and I are planning to make the Andaz our home away from home.

Keith Wheelock

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear Philly Traveller 11,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit so much - both for business and pleasure.

Thank you for the delightful feedback, and see you and your family next time!

Warm regards,

Connie
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, PA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Andaz turns the check in process on it's head and focuses on personalized service. It starts when you pull up a the curb. A member of their staff greets you at your car, collects your bags, holds the door for you, checks you in, and then escorts you to your room and shows you how to use the various devices in the room. The room was contemporary, spacious and comfortable. Some nice touches include the free (nonalcoholic) refreshments and snacks in the room, the waterfall shower, and the complimentary happy hour(s) in the lobby. The conference center was perfect for our meeting and the staff was outstanding. Finally, it's hard to beat the location, being across the street form the NY Public Library, two blocks from Times Square, and of course, being located on 5th Avenue.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RangersNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,626 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 467 in New York City
4,018 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#121 of 467 in New York City
2,934 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 467 in New York City
3,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Property: Andaz 5th Avenue
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#69 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing