We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“large, luxurious and perfect location”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #84 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My family of four (husband, myself & 2 daughters aged 20 & 17) stayed here for a week mid December. We all loved the apartment and the location. We would stay there again happily.

However, If you are a family who like to cook a little on holidays, just be aware that this has a kitchenette only, so while there is a large fridge there is only a microwave and very basic utensils.
It is also a very business type hotel. if you have small children you may feel a bit uncomfortable with people walking around in business suits and business conferences going on.
And a tip, there are so many laundries in New York. If you need to wash your clothes go to a laundry and get a wash and fold service. It is so much cheaper than getting it done at the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,500)
There are newer reviews for Andaz 5th Avenue
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,935 - 1,941 of 2,500 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

I know there are several locations for the Andaz but I've only had the pleasure of staying at this one. The hotel staff is very helpful and courteous, they're also very professional. The rooms are crisp clean and ultra modern with really cool features. The bed and pillows are very comfortable, the flat screen tv very large and the mini bar is like an introduction to many treats that I've never tried before. Some of them I buy now because they were so good. My favorite feature, however, is the amazing rain shower. They have an added foot bath that compliments the spa-like experience of your shower. Very romantic!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teeny_Bikini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

From the moment I walked into this hotel until the moment I left, the ambiance, service, and all amenities provided were, bar none, the best I have ever experienced. I travel frequently for business and have seen and experienced it all and this hotel is one of the BEST!!!!! The rooms are HUGE for NY (I had a king room), the ceilings are 17ft high in all the rooms, the bathroom is big too, with three settings for the water: foot bath, removable handheld shower and rain shower head! The minibar offers free snacks and refreshments too. Only alcoholic drinks are charged for. Entry is by key card sensor in the elevators and into your room. Lighting is touch only and you can regulate everything from your bed, including raising and lowering the room darkening shade! The hotel is across the street from the NY library and Bryant Park, with its ice skating rink and pop up stores. It is close to Grand Central Station and shopping on Fifth Avenue also. I'll be back again FOR SURE each and every time I'm in NYC!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlyaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Dear Olya J,

Thank you so much for staying with us! I'm glad to hear that you had a great experience, and we look forward to having you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

My friends and I stayed here while visiting NYC for the US Open. It rained the whole time we were there except the last day. Unfortunately we did not see any tennis but we loved the hotel and enjoyed our time in NYC. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast at the restaurant was very good. The bar was unique, comfortable and a nice break from the crowds of NYC. The rooms were very comfortable, but were not connecting which was a disappointment. Check in and check out was a little hectic but there is complementary wine, tea or water available which helps to get you through it. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingmom024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My family and I had a wonderful experience at the Andaz 5th Avenue in NYC during the last week of December 2011. The rooms are impressive with high ceilings, excellent views (we were overlooking the NYC library), stocked minibar with free non-alcoholic beverages (soda, juice, and Nespresso coffee) and a super fast WIFI for all to enjoy as you are not limited to just one device, so you can network all your toys for everyone in the family; phones/laptops/Kindles etc, if you travel with teenagers and children you will know how vital this is! This coupled with the cool TV/video/DVD setup make for an awesome entertainment system that keeps the kids entertained at night while mom and dad relax. The rooms are all high-tech with touch sensors and the shower with foot bath feel really really good after walking all over Manhattan all day.
We were there the week before New Years and were able to watch the New Years Eve Time Ball being tested on New Years eve-eve from our room, pretty cool. We had lunch one day in 'The Shop' downstairs. While the restaurant is trendy, they have an excellent Spaghetti the kids will enjoy and you can get a Hyatt Burger too.
The staff at the hotel are wonderful and attentive. We experienced excellent housekeeping service, and an attentive staff that helped us with transportation, directions and always a smile. The director of rooms for this hotel, Connie Wang, is the best in the business and the quality of the rooms, service and the hotel are truly 5 star.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Great small hotel with a lot of individualized service. Lovely suite (lighting could have been better - esp for makeup)

The hotel itself doesn't have huge variety of restaurants but it is so central that there is no need to ever eat there!

Room Tip: one bedroom suite with a nice little living room and balcony
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daquiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

It's not one of those big hotels where you get lost, it's a cozy one that is friendly where the reception are your concierge. Try to book in the main building without the hassle of taking two elevators. The Omlete is a must try for breakfast, complimentary Fruits is nice and the location is facing the public library. Bryant park is a walk away

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,658 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Langham Place, New York
Langham Place, New York
#21 of 468 in New York City
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 468 in New York City
4,090 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 468 in New York City
3,016 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#60 of 468 in New York City
6,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#69 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £266 - £603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing