We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly outsanding, minor issues”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #81 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I booked a larger king and it was only slightly higher than regular rooms from Marriott -- but much, much more comfortable and better in everyway. Bed was very comfortable, crazy high ceilings and as I say, the room was massive - one of the largest I've ever stayed at in Manhattan. And the staff as well as room service was terrific. Only criticism is I sent a few items to be printed out but they never made it and my laundry came back a day late.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AppreciateAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,632 - 1,638 of 2,514 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2012

Very modern hotel interior and very clean and comfortable with many wonderful ammenities. The location is not great unless you like being close to the train station and library but it is so easy to get around New York CIty that this does not pose a problem. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CThrasherUsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

This hotel was a great location- corner of 5th Ave and 42nd st.It was very modern, but didn't seem slick in the service side of things, the front office people werent as attentive or as friendly as what we expected.
The room we stayed in was okay although compared to the other hotel we stayed at in NYC lacked many extras. The minibar was so basic it was almost a joke, no water by the bed, the bed wasn't that comfortable-the room just lacked detail.
For what we paid it wasn;t good value for money in our view. Not what would be expected of a Hyatt Hotel.
We would only stay here again if the room rate was a good deal as we paid similar rates at other hotels in NYC and received so much more.
I would recommend this hotel if you were wanting to be in the thick of the shopping frenzy, then this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weenjoyhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed here on a recent trip to NYC. The location was great - very central for shopping and close enough to central park.
The restaurant is great for breakfast and the rooms are a nice size, we stayed in a suite.
The downside about the hotel is that it seems to be understaffed and the service is patchy.
The service in the restaurant was excellent, but the concierge service was rough, check in was poor. When we arrived at the hotel it was like being in a bus terminal as there were bags and people all over the place.
Not bad if you can get a good rate - but not at the top of my list.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank global_nomad_pacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Stayed Thanksgiving weekend in a large suite. Property is very nice, trendy and clean. The room was good sized and the balcony was a great feature. Bed was comfortable and was very quiet at night. Large spacious bathroom was also very nice. The lighting could have been improved in the closet areas but the touch button controls were unique and easy to use.

Cons: Couple of small issues could be corrected to have made this a much better stay. The hot water in the shower was very hit or miss (often too hot or too cold), the free mini bar was a nice touch but the beer was never restocked after our first night, we took a house car to a Broadway show and the driver didn't know where it was (despite being only a few blocks away and costing $40), we weren't provided a comforter and pillows for the pull out bed until the second night. Closet space was a bit limited in the bedroom. Door man was non existent at the main entrance, which was puzzling for a such an expensive and trendy hotel.

Pros: After reading the check in reviews I was a bit nervous, but our went smoothly. I used the web check in earlier in the day and was greeted promptly when we arrived. A porter took our luggage, brought us right to the room and explained the amenities to us. I will note that we didn't check in until 8:30pm so it was rather slow in the lobby area. After leaving my keys in the room 3 times, I was given replacement keys each time with a courteous smile. The location of the hotel is excellent. Just a short walk to Bryant Park, Time Sq., Rockefeller Center, Broadway and plenty of excellent shopping. Breakfast is good but expensive. I expected this for room service in NYC so it wasn't an issue.

Overall a good stay. The hotel itself was very nice, service seemed to be the main issue. For the price I feel we could do better on our next stay in the city.

Room Tip: Room 1101 (large suite) or 1104 should be your choice. They are on the 11th floor with a large ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

It's a boutique hotel with only a handful of rooms on each floor and really quiet. Has an amazing shower in the bathroom and all the amenities at an Andaz. Location is great, you can walk to most places except soho and the village. So much better than the W

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cardinalbeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Our stay at the Andaz did not start well, taxi driver could not find the hotel due to poor signage and cars double parked by the hotel entrance. Once inside, it was not clear where we had to wait as reception area was not obvious and we had to wait 5 minutes before staff appeared. Once checked in we could not open our room door only to find that we had been given the wrong room.
Why have I awarded the Andaz such a high rating you may ask? Well, once the room issue was resolved the hotel staff were very attentive and efficient. We liked our room, especially the bathroom, my only critisism is with the glass wardrobes, not because they were see through, they were just not big enough to store clothing for two people staying 5 days. Loved the shower, the room size, free non-alcoholic mini-bar, and the high ceilings.
Breakfast was superb, we ate everyday, although tended to have lunch & dinner outside of the hotel. Liked the complimentary wine off the reception area at happy hour.
So, besides our first 20 minutes at the hotel, the rest of the time was great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AvidTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,696 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Langham Place, New York
Langham Place, New York
#18 of 469 in New York City
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 469 in New York City
4,141 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,066 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#63 of 469 in New York City
6,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#68 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £239 - £612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing