We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best in NYC.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #68 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Singapore
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“One of the best in NYC.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

This is my first stay in an Andaz hotel. I very much prefer it to W. It is not as gimmicky. My room was superb. Very tall ceiling and very large by any standard. Views of the library. Great amenities. Wonderful shower. Ipod docking station. The work area is very useful. The only quibb is the size of the open wardrobe.
I would have no hesitation at all to stay here again.
Superb location in mid town on 5th Ave.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thesaint9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,589
    496
    156
    56
    28
See reviews for
478
917
134
473
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

I thought the location of the hotel was excellent, directly across from the library in the Bryant Park district. The room was the very large, modern, clean, sleek, and one of the best bathrooms ever. Very unusual and unique for a boutique hotel. I did not have a lot of interaction with the staff but everyone seemed pleasant and helpful. I never got the feeling that the staff was trying to be anything other than service oriented. I will say there wasn't anyone to help open the door, but after walking from Penn Station with luggage I managed fine on my own. If the location sounds appealing, I would highly recommend the Andaz.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dm125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, FL
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

Located about 2 blocks from 42nd Street and 5th Avenue, which is the center of New York City, the location could not be better. You are walking distance from many great restaurants and attractions, and a couple train stations (including Grand Central,) so you can get nearly anywhere by subway or train. Plus there are buses, and taxis (if you can afford to burn money and get hostile "service.")
Anyway, back to the Andaz 5th Avenue, everything was splendid from start to finish! The check-in was not just smooth...I was granted such a huge room upgrade that I was embarrassed. While accompanying me upstairs to see "if I would approve of the room," I was basically drooling at the sheer enormity of the room, two large bedrooms, an ample living-dining area, a generous balcony, and the two baths were straight out of a palace.
I am very noise sensitive, and this is always a worry when I am in a hotel, and no matter how quiet it was in my room I never heard anything! (It helps to have had a large "chunk" of the building to myself.)
The baths had exquisite amenities, the most heavenly showers I have enjoyed, the plushest towels I can recall, and there were luxurious robes every where. The bathrooms, and the closets had several.
The high floor enabled me to leave the windows (which are also the walls) without the shades covering at night, so I could take in the spectacular views (NY Public Library, Empire State Building, etc.) every second. I did not listen to the stereo nor watch TV/DVDs, but the room was equipped to be entertained in style.
The minibar...ahhhh, finally a minibar the way it would be if I chose what goes in it! Juices, water, delicious teas, and nutritious snacks! I think there may have been a beer or two, but I did not notice.
On to a perfect night's sleep. King orthopedic bed, fine linens, and not a sound! Plus, the view of NYC from my bed!
Breakfast? Yum! As a diamond member I got a huge made-to-order breakfast that was about as good as I have ever had. No charge!
Oh, and I called for breakfast "before hours" to have it delivered when "breakfast began," and there was a gentle knock on my door at the appointed time. To the second. I think the person bringing the food arrived a couple minutes early and waited for the precise second to knock. And that is the kind of service the Andaz 5th Avenue gives!
I was sorry to have been solo, as this was a room and experience to share!
Checkout went without a hitch (4 PM, as per diamond benefits), and I was sure sorry to leave!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, CT
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Situated directly across the street from the NY public library in a renovated retail building, the location and service can't be beat. Its entrance on 41st is almost hidden. The rooms are very modern and somewhat quirky - all electronic lightings and lots of glass and metal. Our room was very quiet with no view, but we did not care since we were running around all over NYC on Thanksgiving weekend. Very accommodating staff. An excellent stay, I highly recommend the Andaz Fifth Ave.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have a view if you care. Free munchies soda and water in the room. Free coffee dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
207 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

I booked a larger king and it was only slightly higher than regular rooms from Marriott -- but much, much more comfortable and better in everyway. Bed was very comfortable, crazy high ceilings and as I say, the room was massive - one of the largest I've ever stayed at in Manhattan. And the staff as well as room service was terrific. Only criticism is I sent a few items to be printed out but they never made it and my laundry came back a day late.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AppreciateAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

Very modern hotel interior and very clean and comfortable with many wonderful ammenities. The location is not great unless you like being close to the train station and library but it is so easy to get around New York CIty that this does not pose a problem. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CThrasherUsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

This hotel was a great location- corner of 5th Ave and 42nd st.It was very modern, but didn't seem slick in the service side of things, the front office people werent as attentive or as friendly as what we expected.
The room we stayed in was okay although compared to the other hotel we stayed at in NYC lacked many extras. The minibar was so basic it was almost a joke, no water by the bed, the bed wasn't that comfortable-the room just lacked detail.
For what we paid it wasn;t good value for money in our view. Not what would be expected of a Hyatt Hotel.
We would only stay here again if the room rate was a good deal as we paid similar rates at other hotels in NYC and received so much more.
I would recommend this hotel if you were wanting to be in the thick of the shopping frenzy, then this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weenjoyhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,638 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#62 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,213 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#35 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Property: Andaz 5th Avenue
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#48 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing