We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall great but mixed experience”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #88 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Overall great but mixed experience”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

A word to the wise and select your room carefully here. We had a loft room on the 8th floor; half of the room is an "office" (it really is an office!) which they did inform us at check in. The room is really only appropriate for a single business traveler. Only one drawer in the room so I used the office to lay out my suitcase and lived out of the that. Bathroom was roomy and the bed very comfortable. Decor is Japanese sensibility meets European minimalism. The controls for the shower were very challenging--no kidding! City noise does filter in--not bad but bring ear plugs just in case this bothers you. For the most part the staff was very helpful and friendly and attentive. The food here is just excellent (breakfast and room service); I would eat here even if i was not staying here. Entrances, dining areas, lounges are not well marked so you have to guess your way around for a bit. Location is excellent: very close to Grand Central Station and tons of eating and shopping options. I would definitely stay here again but would be more discriminating about the choice of room. Lastly, an observation and not a complaint: no holiday decorations to be found here in the midst of December!

Room Tip: You need to ask specifically what you are getting in the room: is there a sitting area, is there a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shep77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,620
    514
    160
    60
    34
See reviews for
494
938
136
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

First stay at the Andaz and I was quite impressed. Walk distance to some attractions like Times Square, Empire State Building, Top of the Rock, Grand Central Station etc.... The location is amazing!!
The rooms are really modern (minimalist type decor) and very clean, stylish and spacious bathroom, mini bar included except for the liquor. The staff was amazing specially Jenny Rodriguez from concierge who helped us a lot before and after our stay.
My only issue was the lack of wardrobe or closet. Other than that highly recommended.
I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhonnyssd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We stayed here in May 2011 to attend a friend's wedding. My husband and I took a red eye from SFO and we planned on meeting my sister, brother in law, 5 month old nephew, and their dog who had driven up from VA. We stayed in a two bedroom suite with views of the library, Bryant Park, Empire State Building, and a glimpse of Times Square. The location was superb. We were within walking distance to my favorite NYC places including Ktown, Central Park, and 5th Ave.

Our suite was HUGE especially for NYC. The bathrooms are sleek with C.O. Bigelow toiletries. There was a kitchenette incluing a mini dishwasher. All non-alcoholic drinks were included in the room rate. Since my husband is Hyatt diamond, breakfast for all four adults was included in the rate and we were able to have it delivered to our suite through room service. The breakfast came from the restaurant downstairs - the shop and everything was delicious.

The hotel is trendy and modern and yet it feels cozy. The service was great.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FIFItheWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

This hotel features beautiful bathrooms and stylish, trendy decor. Unfortunately, the rooms are uncomfortably furnished and almost useless to work or read in. The furnishings (chairs and desk) are at a level about 4 inches below normal. There is no comfortable chair or sofa on which to sit; when in your room, only the bed offers any true respite. Televisions are wall mounted flat screens, but set only about four feet off the ground, so unless you are in bed, an adult generally would look down to the screen. All in all, very strange and completely unnecessary. Finally, in the beautiful bath, black mold was evident in the tile grout and was also on the shower wall, although not obvious since it was obscured by the coloration of the tile.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vtlinck2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Planned a long weekend last week in NYC; Arrived in hectic rush hour from JFK at the Andaz 5th avenue and were welcomed in their slick hotel lobby and immediately upgraded upon check-in to a two bedroom suite, with separate bathrooms and a livingroom, which allowed for discrete privacy for all three travellers;

Agree with the considered 5* service level, hotel key amenities are:

- Cool and chic design
- Central design @ 5th avenue opposite Library and 2 blocks from Grand Central
- Nice restaurant with excellent breakfast á la carte menu
- Bar downstairs with good vibe for cocktails and tapas style food
- Small gym but with modern equipment

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

This is my first stay in an Andaz hotel. I very much prefer it to W. It is not as gimmicky. My room was superb. Very tall ceiling and very large by any standard. Views of the library. Great amenities. Wonderful shower. Ipod docking station. The work area is very useful. The only quibb is the size of the open wardrobe.
I would have no hesitation at all to stay here again.
Superb location in mid town on 5th Ave.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesaint9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I thought the location of the hotel was excellent, directly across from the library in the Bryant Park district. The room was the very large, modern, clean, sleek, and one of the best bathrooms ever. Very unusual and unique for a boutique hotel. I did not have a lot of interaction with the staff but everyone seemed pleasant and helpful. I never got the feeling that the staff was trying to be anything other than service oriented. I will say there wasn't anyone to help open the door, but after walking from Penn Station with luggage I managed fine on my own. If the location sounds appealing, I would highly recommend the Andaz.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dm125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,497 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,786 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,327 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Property: Andaz 5th Avenue
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#48 Green Hotel in New York City
#70 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing