We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Will be back:-)”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #87 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This was our first stay at the Andaz. Lovely little hotel with great views of the library. VERY spacious with a HUGE bathroom! The complimentary drinks and snacks were a plus. Very quiet. My only complaint was there was no one to help us with bags or getting a cab. We had quite a bit of luggage and no one was around to open the door at the entrance (which consists of 2 black doors that are also not marked. We wandered around a bit before realizing this WAS the main entrance)!! We needed to get a cab to the train station and were told that none were available and that we should try and walk to Madison Ave to get one! No easy feat with lots of luggage and it was quite the walk. Clearly they should have the means to summon a cab. Hopefully this will be addressed before our next visit!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reba G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,688 - 1,694 of 2,591 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2012

I was lucky enough to use my Hyatt two free nights to stay at this hotel in early December. Went with my adult daughter and we stayed in a corner room with two twin beds on the ninth floor. It's tough to find good hotels with two beds in a room in NYC so this was a bonus. The room was very quiet. I could not hear anyone from other rooms, the hallway or any street noise. The room has a sleek modern design and was spacious for NYC standards. I loved the bathroom. Being able to get a cold bottle of water at all times was great and snacks in the rooms was a nice touch.

I also loved the overall vibe of the hotel; small, hip, clean, and friendly. Great artwork. Not warm and cozy though. The seating in the "lobby" is not particularly comfortable or inviting. The staff was young and not as experienced as one would find at a five-star hotel but this is not a five-star hotel. They did the best they could to help with restaurant reservations, shopping information and other general information. Easy walk from here to Grand Central Station to hop the subway and cabs easy to find. Loved being across from The New York Pubic Library and Bryant Park. Lovely pop-up stores and ice skating in Bryant Park for the holidays. Beats the craziness of Rockefeller Center in my book.

There are a few problems that I believe can be corrected easily. One is the lack of proper lighting in the room, the architect and designers clearly were not thinking of women when they designed the rooms. It is very dark and would be really difficult if you were trying to get ready for a special event. Also there is no drawer space and the closet is minuscule. Not sure how to correct that issue. The other problem is that the beds, at least the twins we slept in, were not very comfortable. Very firm which is fine if you like it that way. All in all though, my memories are of a great stay.

Room Tip: I'd go for a higher floor, corner room, and a view of the Public Library is nice, Of course, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachlsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Other hotels in NYC that are space challenged would do well to take note of what Hyatt has done with its two Andaz properties here. Not only is the 5th Avenue property in a great location, but the rooms are wonderfully designed and well appointed and the staff does a great job in terms of customer service. My wife and I arrived at 10am on a Saturday morning and the hotel had been sold out the night before. However, the young lady checked us in quickly and asked for a phone number to call us when our room was ready. We went out to have breakfast and before we were finished she call to let me know that the room was ready. We also loved the complimentary snacks and beverages in the mini frig, as well as in the lounge. The only drawback is that the Internet is painstakingly slow, which is the reaso for the 4 stars. Except for that, the hotel is a 5 all around. Would definitely recommend highly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank romadaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I'd never heard of this hotel, but came away a big fan! It is a boutique-style hotel with a European feel; staff always ready to serve and yet laid-back and friendly. The location on Fifth Avenue was walking distance to most of the sights we wanted to see. Perfect. The rooms and bathroom were modern and beautiful...we had a suite with a little kitchen mini-bar set up with complimentary espresso-maker, juices etc. and loved the complimentary wine in the evening! It was such a great stay and such a beautiful hotel and everyone on staff could not have been nicer!!! Thanks for all you did to make our trip to New York special…..we loved every aspect of the Andaz experience. And we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We had a corner suite on the 13th floor. looking out at 42nd st....windows and light and a great set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suegilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Having stayed there during Huricane Irene (I agree this was 2011) the staff really helped us out on numerous subjects (changing flights, transportation, meals and laundry while the city closed down, etc.). Rooms were excellent and attached which fitted our family needs very well. Location is hard to beat. Would go there again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wllmbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

A word to the wise and select your room carefully here. We had a loft room on the 8th floor; half of the room is an "office" (it really is an office!) which they did inform us at check in. The room is really only appropriate for a single business traveler. Only one drawer in the room so I used the office to lay out my suitcase and lived out of the that. Bathroom was roomy and the bed very comfortable. Decor is Japanese sensibility meets European minimalism. The controls for the shower were very challenging--no kidding! City noise does filter in--not bad but bring ear plugs just in case this bothers you. For the most part the staff was very helpful and friendly and attentive. The food here is just excellent (breakfast and room service); I would eat here even if i was not staying here. Entrances, dining areas, lounges are not well marked so you have to guess your way around for a bit. Location is excellent: very close to Grand Central Station and tons of eating and shopping options. I would definitely stay here again but would be more discriminating about the choice of room. Lastly, an observation and not a complaint: no holiday decorations to be found here in the midst of December!

Room Tip: You need to ask specifically what you are getting in the room: is there a sitting area, is there a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shep77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

First stay at the Andaz and I was quite impressed. Walk distance to some attractions like Times Square, Empire State Building, Top of the Rock, Grand Central Station etc.... The location is amazing!!
The rooms are really modern (minimalist type decor) and very clean, stylish and spacious bathroom, mini bar included except for the liquor. The staff was amazing specially Jenny Rodriguez from concierge who helped us a lot before and after our stay.
My only issue was the lack of wardrobe or closet. Other than that highly recommended.
I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jhonnyssd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#73 of 471 in New York City
6,723 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 471 in New York City
3,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#146 of 471 in New York City
3,067 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 471 in New York City
4,321 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#72 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £205 - £518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing