We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibrant hotel in vibrant city”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #89 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Vibrant hotel in vibrant city”
Reviewed 25 December 2012

This was our first stay in this hotel in Manhattan. Beautiful modern design with many features (lighting, architecture) that are fun to discover. The pictures on Tripadvisor are quite realistic - the bathrooms are spectacular with a black slate / red granite theme as are the common areas. Free wine bar in the evening and snacks at the room are a nice gesture. Beds are comfortable and street noise in the room was minimal after we figured out that the windows had not been closed all the way. The fan / heating unit was quite loud though. Altogether a very pleasant experience and good value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllieAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,640
    524
    163
    61
    35
See reviews for
500
951
140
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Wow, we really couldn't have asked for anything more from this hotel. We were checking out and another guest and I were talking about how we wouldn't have found this awesome place w/out Trip Advisor. The location is perfect for all tourists attractions in NYC and the 7 subway is literally a half block away and Grand Central is 2 blocks away.

From the moment you walk in you are greeted with coffee and water and there is no "front desk" but rather a station w/ mac computers where the "host" checks you in and answers any questions you have during your stay.

The rooms are great and worth upgrading to the "King View" so you can see the library and 5th avenue. The iPod docks are a nice touch as well. The free drinks also are that extra touch you aren't going to get at other hotels.

This was really one of our best hotel stays in the U.S., and the service here at this hotel is what makes the difference. Don't waste any more time looking to find the NYC spot, this is it!

Room Tip: The rooms are great and worth upgrading to the "King View" so you can see the library and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NachoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

This is a great property in Midtown. We two different rooms different rooms during our stay. The first room was in the North tower, which was quite inconvenient. You have to go through the conference area to get to the north elevators.

The second room was the Andaz Suite. It was nicely appointed room, but the best part about it was the bathroom. From the foot soaking bowl to the bath products, everything about the bathroom was awesome!

Lemon poppy-seed pancakes are must haves at the restaurant. One of the best pancakes ever.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vuguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, CA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The Andaz is a nice hotel in a central location of Manhattan. The Hyatt has come up with a modern hotel that is both comfortable and convenient. When you arrive you are greeted by friendly "Hosts" and they walk you to the check-in desk while offering you a beverage.
We had a one bedroom suite that accommodated four people reasonably well. Plenty of closet space, well lit with floor to ceiling windows, and actually quiet!
The bathroom was large with a very nice walk-in shower and a built-in bench with unique low spout to wash your feet.
The kitchenette was a nice touch with a stocked fridge offering complimentary non-alcoholic beverages and snacks, dishes and utensils, a sink, dishwasher, and a microwave.
They have daily Happy Hour(s) where you can get a complimentary decent glass of wine in the modest Lobby Lounge and bring it to your room. The Lobby Lounge has some seating and one table with 8 or so chairs where you can buy food from the adjacent restaurant. One suggestion is to offer selections of cheese and crackers platters to go with that wine. We ordered one that had to be custom made, but it worked well.
We didn't eat in the hotel restaurants. The restaurant off the lobby was very pricey for breakfast (+$20 per entree). When you can get a decent breakfast within a block or two of the hotel for under $10, what can I say?
As a hotel designer and someone who is very picky about hotels, I will definitely stay there again and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel-Designer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
228 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I have stayed at each of the US Andaz properties, and this one is the best of them all. MUCH better than the West Hollywood property where Brand standards are slowly fading. This is the shining star here in the States.

My room (suite) on the 12th floor was fantastic as usual. Perfectly maintained, very comfortable, great bathrooms (best in NYC???). The bathroom is huge, with large shower 'room' and multiple shower heads. Double lavatories flank one wall. Huge....

THe bed is always perfect. Televisions in both rooms were perfect for my limited time spend in the suite. Nice desk for work area and in room dining.

Every room has a fridge with complimentary soft drinks, snacks, water, sparkling water, milk and juices. Nice touch. Suite has full size refrigerator with icemaker, and also features a microwave, sink and dishwasher drawer....all nicely concealed behind beautiful cabinetry. Really great for a longer stay...

I do have 2 complaints. First, the elevators. The waits were sometimes ridiculous. 3 elevators serve the main tower with a rather limited number of rooms. THis is a newer hotel, but there is no service elevator. I was continually surprised after waiting for an elevator at how many stops we made for housekeeping to enter with carts, room service carts and trays, etc. How could Hyatt skip a service elevator on this new property? It really stinks at times.....its bad.

Lastly, i have traveled with world and certainly know NYC pricing. Breakfast at the Andaz ranks above almost anything i have ever paid. Apparently, i had a $190.00 breakfast for two the first morning, and $175.00 the second. Eggs for each, coffee, berries. Wow. Of course, i really don't know...as there is no bill. They just deliver it, and leave. Prices are listed in the in-suite menu, but no itemized billing is given. I am 'gifted' with a $75.00 credit for my breakfast as a Diamond member, and i assumed that had not been applied when my bill reflected a 'non itemized' charge for $110 plus for the first night, and slightly less for the second. I was wrong, it had been applied (no way for me to see this). WOW. It certainly isn't worth it.

I know i sound like one of those guys who complains about pricing, but clearly doesn't know what things cost. Wrong. This one really surprised me, and i have traveled the world for more than 20 years staying in some of the finest hotels in the world. Andaz is great, but it doesn't rank with many that i have had the pleasure of staying with.

I just had breakfast this morning for 2 at the Four Seasons NYC. It was half the cost....almost. :)

Stay away from room service in my opinion....

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesE339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This was our first stay at the Andaz. Lovely little hotel with great views of the library. VERY spacious with a HUGE bathroom! The complimentary drinks and snacks were a plus. Very quiet. My only complaint was there was no one to help us with bags or getting a cab. We had quite a bit of luggage and no one was around to open the door at the entrance (which consists of 2 black doors that are also not marked. We wandered around a bit before realizing this WAS the main entrance)!! We needed to get a cab to the train station and were told that none were available and that we should try and walk to Madison Ave to get one! No easy feat with lots of luggage and it was quite the walk. Clearly they should have the means to summon a cab. Hopefully this will be addressed before our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reba G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I was lucky enough to use my Hyatt two free nights to stay at this hotel in early December. Went with my adult daughter and we stayed in a corner room with two twin beds on the ninth floor. It's tough to find good hotels with two beds in a room in NYC so this was a bonus. The room was very quiet. I could not hear anyone from other rooms, the hallway or any street noise. The room has a sleek modern design and was spacious for NYC standards. I loved the bathroom. Being able to get a cold bottle of water at all times was great and snacks in the rooms was a nice touch.

I also loved the overall vibe of the hotel; small, hip, clean, and friendly. Great artwork. Not warm and cozy though. The seating in the "lobby" is not particularly comfortable or inviting. The staff was young and not as experienced as one would find at a five-star hotel but this is not a five-star hotel. They did the best they could to help with restaurant reservations, shopping information and other general information. Easy walk from here to Grand Central Station to hop the subway and cabs easy to find. Loved being across from The New York Pubic Library and Bryant Park. Lovely pop-up stores and ice skating in Bryant Park for the holidays. Beats the craziness of Rockefeller Center in my book.

There are a few problems that I believe can be corrected easily. One is the lack of proper lighting in the room, the architect and designers clearly were not thinking of women when they designed the rooms. It is very dark and would be really difficult if you were trying to get ready for a special event. Also there is no drawer space and the closet is minuscule. Not sure how to correct that issue. The other problem is that the beds, at least the twins we slept in, were not very comfortable. Very firm which is fine if you like it that way. All in all though, my memories are of a great stay.

Room Tip: I'd go for a higher floor, corner room, and a view of the Public Library is nice, Of course, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,551 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#27 of 468 in New York City
3,944 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,851 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 468 in New York City
6,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Property: Andaz 5th Avenue
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#48 Green Hotel in New York City
#72 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing