We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Andaz 5th Avenue
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
East Bridge(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Fitness centre
Dylan Hotel NYC(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Bryant Park Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Mansfield(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sofitel New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,625)
Filter reviews
2,625 results
Traveller rating
1,775
560
185
69
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,775
560
185
69
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbryant parkthe ny public librarysplash suitenon alcoholic beveragescomplimentary mini barnorth towernew yorkhyatt pointsloft roomcomplimentary winerain showerlight switcheshuge showerdiamond membertimes squaregrand central stationthe check in process
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,407 - 1,412 of 2,625 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed for a night at Andaz 5th Avenue and I really enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer. The staff was very friendly and helpful, while the decor was modern and had quite the edge to it. I would recommend this property to anyone.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank r3imagined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The Andaz 5th Ave offers an exceptional NY hotel experience. The rooms are extremely well designed with incredibly large showers and thoughtful details like an exquisite black ceramic bowl to soak tired feet. The staff made us feel completely at home and and anticipated our needs often before we thought to ask (a bed, bowls and treats were waiting to welcome our dog)! The Shop restaurant continues to impress with their innovative menu of locally sourced organic food.

Room Tip: Splurge on a Splash Suite for an unforgettable experience and more closet space than most NY apartments.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelia S, General Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear John S,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm delighted to hear that you and your dog felt welcome and at home. Our new Chef, Chad Minton, has recently revamped the lunch and dinner menu in The Shop to reflect the Fall/Winter Season. What was your favorite dish?
We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to NYC!

Wishing you a wonderful Holiday Season!
Cornelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Wow, I was suprised to enjoy a Hyatt this much! We used points to upgrade to a suite and lucked out with a huge two bedroom unit. Still not cheap, but lots of extras make it a good value.
What really sets this hotel apart is the staff. Everyone really went out of their way to help and greet guests. Andaz trains the staff to multi-task, so the person who checks you in also gets your cab or books your dinner reservations. Everyone worked very hard, but seem to really enjoy the guests and their jobs. It was so nice to be greeted in the elevator by different staff members and they actually want to know if you are enjoying your stay (which we were!).
It was terrific having free coffee in the morning, snacks in you room and wine in the evening. Guests were all hanging out in the lobby areas checking e-mail or reading the paper, a very comfortable place to be.
The location was good, as you could walk to Union Square or the theater district, even Central Park. Plus the huge park behind the library is beautiful with lots of snack options. There were not too many great dining options close by enjoyed the bar at Aureole and lots of light meals at Le Pain Quotidien. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant, which was good and convenient, but not killer (amazing bread though).
Will definitely stay here again and recommend Andaz to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelia S, General Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Sparky22,

Thanks for your review! Our guests are often surprised of how residential & comfortable our hotel feels in the hustle & bustle of midtown manhattan. Glad to hear that you'll be back & we look forward to taking care of you and your friends.

My very best,
Cornelia Samara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Nice rooms (biggest room we have ever had in New York that wasn't a suite, helpful staff and centrally located in midtown. Really enjoyed this hotel for a few days of sight seeing, bed was really comfy and bathroom (shower especially) very nice!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jerome D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was our second visit to the hotel in as many years; the rooms are really generously sized--and the hotel was always busy. The restaurant serves really nice food, though slightly overpriced for what it is. The wi-fi was free and fast, and the snacks (which used to be more generous than they are now) and non-alcoholic drinks are also free in your room. I'd say that the cleaning service was slightly irregular but nothing was problematic at all. The reception can be busy, and the concierge service is not stellar. But then we are in NY regularly and know the area reasonably well. If you book in advance, months in advance, the hotel's rates are decent. But once those rates are gone, it does become pretty pricey, and it is possible to stay nearby at even nicer places for what the Andaz charges. All and all, we were really happy with our (four-night) stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALKDVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews