We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the Grand Hyatt New York!”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #81 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We always stay at Hyatt properties for the points, so for years we stayed down the street at The Grand Hyatt. But now after staying at The Andaz a few times we'll never stay at the Grand Hyatt again! The rooms here are so much bigger (especially for NYC) and if you get a room with a view of the library it's just wonderful. The décor of the rooms is contemporary, but not too cold and modern (like a Mondrian hotel). The service was great, but the only downside was that the front of the hotel is actually off of 5th Ave. so it can be a bit of a pain to hail a taxi (they aren't lined up outside like at most hotels). The employee working the door was not always willing to do this, so half the time we would have to walk to down to 5th and find one ourselves, which was a pain if it was raining. That was the only downside compared to the Grand Hyatt though.

Room Tip: Book a room with a library view! Gorgeous view with excellent people watching while you sip your mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMarie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear KMarie8,

Thank you so much for your nice comments!
Glad to know that you became an Andaz fan! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Happy Holidays!

My Best,
Ratna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,309 - 1,315 of 2,517 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

I loved the Andaz hotel!! The service was impeccable. We were greeted by our own host who got us refreshments, checked us in and even took us up to our room. He was so nice and we felt so special. Our room was gorgeous, the bathroom was enormous and the shower was just beautiful. I would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to treat themselves. The location was awesome, we could walk everywhere. The complimentary snacks in the room were also a nice touch, and delicious :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed for combined birthday/anniversary celebration that far exceeded our already high expectations for the Andaz 5th Ave. Where to start? We were greeted warmly on the curb immediately after exiting our car, shown in and offered coffee and water while checking in with Ramon (can't say enough about him throughout our stay). As we were an early arrival, our bags were checked and we went to grab an early lunch in "The Shop" on site. The restaurant Manager immediately showed up and gave us Mimosas saying "I understand there is a birthday today!" Very nice touch (think Ramon tipped him off). Excellent squash soup for me, eggs for my wife, greek yogurt - all very tasty. My wife's latte was personally delivered by the Barista with a very elegant design in the steamed milk. Details, details..... After some time in the City, we returned to check in and Ramon handed us our key with a sly grin saying "I hope you like your room." I don't know what room upgrade we received (had booked a "loft" and I'm a Diamond Hyatt member) but it was a spectacular suite with a private balcony overlooking Manhattan! But wait, there's more - we had chilled champagne and a birthday card sitting on the table, also unexpected. I could go on and on, but am still blown away by our experience at the Andaz and level of service provided by every staff member we came in contact with. If you get a chance, stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Howard B.,

Thank you so much for your great comments!
I am glad you enjoyed your stay! I will pass on your fantastic feedback to Ramon & the team! Great to hear that you felt well taken care of, especially for this special occasion! Happy Anniversary and Happy belated Birthday!

Warmest Regards,
Ratna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed for a night at Andaz 5th Avenue and I really enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer. The staff was very friendly and helpful, while the decor was modern and had quite the edge to it. I would recommend this property to anyone.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank r3imagined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The Andaz 5th Ave offers an exceptional NY hotel experience. The rooms are extremely well designed with incredibly large showers and thoughtful details like an exquisite black ceramic bowl to soak tired feet. The staff made us feel completely at home and and anticipated our needs often before we thought to ask (a bed, bowls and treats were waiting to welcome our dog)! The Shop restaurant continues to impress with their innovative menu of locally sourced organic food.

Room Tip: Splurge on a Splash Suite for an unforgettable experience and more closet space than most NY apartme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelia S, General Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear John S,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm delighted to hear that you and your dog felt welcome and at home. Our new Chef, Chad Minton, has recently revamped the lunch and dinner menu in The Shop to reflect the Fall/Winter Season. What was your favorite dish?
We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to NYC!

Wishing you a wonderful Holiday Season!
Cornelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Wow, I was suprised to enjoy a Hyatt this much! We used points to upgrade to a suite and lucked out with a huge two bedroom unit. Still not cheap, but lots of extras make it a good value.
What really sets this hotel apart is the staff. Everyone really went out of their way to help and greet guests. Andaz trains the staff to multi-task, so the person who checks you in also gets your cab or books your dinner reservations. Everyone worked very hard, but seem to really enjoy the guests and their jobs. It was so nice to be greeted in the elevator by different staff members and they actually want to know if you are enjoying your stay (which we were!).
It was terrific having free coffee in the morning, snacks in you room and wine in the evening. Guests were all hanging out in the lobby areas checking e-mail or reading the paper, a very comfortable place to be.
The location was good, as you could walk to Union Square or the theater district, even Central Park. Plus the huge park behind the library is beautiful with lots of snack options. There were not too many great dining options close by enjoyed the bar at Aureole and lots of light meals at Le Pain Quotidien. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant, which was good and convenient, but not killer (amazing bread though).
Will definitely stay here again and recommend Andaz to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelia S, General Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Sparky22,

Thanks for your review! Our guests are often surprised of how residential & comfortable our hotel feels in the hustle & bustle of midtown manhattan. Glad to hear that you'll be back & we look forward to taking care of you and your friends.

My very best,
Cornelia Samara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Nice rooms (biggest room we have ever had in New York that wasn't a suite, helpful staff and centrally located in midtown. Really enjoyed this hotel for a few days of sight seeing, bed was really comfy and bathroom (shower especially) very nice!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jerome D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,699 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Langham Place, New York
Langham Place, New York
#18 of 469 in New York City
2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 469 in New York City
4,143 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,069 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#63 of 469 in New York City
6,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#68 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £236 - £612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing