We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Exquisite!”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #79 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This was our second Christmas visit to the Andaz 5th Avenue and all I can say is that this hotel is just perfect in every way. This time we were upgraded to a suite with a large living room and bedroom, of course, the beautiful signature bathroom, which was very much appreciated. The only downside was that the room was on the Library Avenue side of the building, but absolutely no complaint about the accomodations. Usually, when we're in NYC we always seek out the best restaurants, but the weather was horrible while we were there this trip so we decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant and that was even good. We followed it up the next morning with breakfast and that was even better. Hats off to Michael Kim, the General Manager, for assembling a first rate staff and top quality customer service! We'll definitely be back next Christmas!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank romadaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,329 - 1,335 of 2,553 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

This was my first experience with the Andaz brand, and I have to say that my wife and I were very thoroughly pleased with our four night stay. The Andaz 5th Avenue is located in a great location right across from the NY Public library / Bryant Park. Grand Central Terminal was very close by, and Rockefeller Center was fine for a walk even in the rain. With easy walking access to many sites and to the subways, we were able to cover a lot of ground yet were always within close enough proximity to return to the hotel to drop things off, take a rest, or change before heading out in the evenings for dinner. This was key for us to make the most of our trip!

Service at the hotel was very professional, and the hosts downstairs were always willing to assist with anything when asked. Drinks were offered at check in and wine was available in the area adjoining the lobby in the early evenings. Housekeeping was very attentive and the rooms were kept very clean and well stocked. There are snacks in the room (chips, chocolate, an energy bar) and non-alcoholic drinks in the fridge are free, which I enjoy having available. I believe Andaz tries to use local/regional products and the C.O. Bigelow bathroom products were first rate.

Housekeeping checked in a few evenings while I was in the room, and it was convenient to be able to request a few extra towels, etc. when needed. If I wasn't in the room and I didn't leave a do not disturb sign on the door, the bed would be turned down in the evenings. I usually travel with a tube of toothpaste that has been mostly used to reduce some bulk and I will often throw it away so I don't have to bother bringing it home. The housekeeping staff noticed that my toothpaste was low and left a new tube of Aquafresh for me which was a nice touch.

In summary, the hard product is great and the location is reason enough to stay at the Andaz 5th Avenue. The hotel is well run and the people definitely care about your experience during your stay. We would return here again for our next stay in New York!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xHypex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My wife & I stayed here for an overnight in December. Great mid-town location with keen staff who anticipate your needs. Room was loft style and very contemporary. Flexible checkout time for Hyatt Rewards guests. Car valet very facile to use. Restaurant fare was good but service was a bit disjointed. We would return to this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Vjnitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My husband and I took our 11 year old grand-daughter to New York for a long weekend. We stayed at the Andaz and were very pleased with the hotel. The beds, pillows, and linens were fabulous. We were upgraded to a suite when we arrived, which was very spacious. The bathrooms were beautiful and spotless. Our grand-daughter loved the complimentary snacks and beverages. The only disappointment was the lighting, especially in the bathroom. The location was great. We were away from the crowds in Times Square but a short walk took us nearly anyplace we wanted to go in mid-town. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was right across from the elevator and we didn't hear a thing. If you have a family, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug1142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on his first trip to NYC. Such a great location to get a great trip of lower and middle Manhattan! Rooms were modern and comfortable. The bed linen was crisp and clean. The shower was sweet with the waterfall shower head. The front desk even greeted us with a glass of wine. A great place to stay if you want to be in the middle of it all!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank laurakgomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I'm very torn on my review of this hotel. We absolutely loved some of the aspects of this hotel, and we hated others. First, the good news. This hotel has, in my opinion, the perfect location. It's in a very accessible spot in Midtown, and it has a great view of the NY Library- if you get a room with that view. You are close enough to Rockefeller and Times Square for an easy walk, but situated far enough away that you are not kept up all night by the noise. The check-in process was painless, and they even let us check in early on a busy day.

The room was beautiful, modern yet classy, and very clean. The complimentary wifi, soft drinks, and snacks in the mini bar are one of those little inexpensive touches that mean a lot when you've just arrived and want a quick snack to hold you over. The food we ordered from room service was excellent, and was a nice way to spend breakfast in bed the first morning.

Now, the bad news. The check-in time is 400PM, and the check-out time is 1100AM. That is an hour or two later for check-in, and an hour or two earlier for check-out than some other comparable NYC hotels. The room, while large, modern, and clean, was oddly designed. I'd seen pictures of it online, but our room did not have sliding doors that closed on the bathroom area. If we weren't a very close couple, this might have been awkward (father/daughter, friends, etc.). This means that you have literally zero privacy in your sink/shower area and anyone sitting in any other part of the room can see you do your business. The rainfall shower was amazing, but there is no shower door, so you are showering in a wind tunnel which can be chilly. The bed, while it was supposed to be a King, could not have been more than a Queen as we sleep on a King every night, and it's much, much larger. The room service was excellent, we especially enjoyed the Ess-a-Bagel and Lemon Poppyseed Pancake, but for these two items and a pot of coffee it was $80 with tip. Even considering NYC, even considering room service up-charges, that's still exorbitant.

With all things considered, while we enjoyed many aspects of this hotel, we would probably not return, especially at $600 per night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnDratel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear JohnDratel,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Great to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and liked the convenience of our location! It is unfortunate that you did not thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at ratna.steden@andaz.com to discuss your experience further.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Regards,
Ratna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed at the Andaz 5th Ave over Thanksgiving. This is a trip that we make every year and we usually stay at either the Waldorf or the New York Palace. This year we decided to try something new - and we were so glad that we did. The hotel is perfectly situated, our room was a good size - and the quietest we have ever had in the city and the staff were amazing. We truly felt welcome, the staff remembered our names (a first!) and the hotel had a really friendly vibe.

Michael was especially brilliant and looked after us so well - he was a real sweetheart and so helpful. He really deserves some credit for making our stay especially memorable. The Andaz is our new favourite hotel in New York.

Room Tip: Our room faced 42ns street and was especially quiet for NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Langham
The Langham
#18 of 470 in New York City
2,314 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,781 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#128 of 470 in New York City
3,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#68 of 470 in New York City
6,656 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 470 in New York City
2,957 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 470 in New York City
4,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#67 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £211 - £686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing